Earth Goddess Preview, New Chartpacks, and a Copyright Note

Earth Goddess

Earth Goddess copyright Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Cross Stitch Collection

Greetings everyone!

Here she is, the third in the elemental Goddesses, EARTH. What a lovely job the team at Cross Stitch Collection has done in styling this photo. I think it sets the design off perfectly. I felt particularly drawn to this goddess. I suppose it’s the gardener in me that loves the feel of the earth between my fingers and the promise of new life that we feel in the early springtime. Tiny hummingbirds, fluttering butterflies, and delicate mushrooms fill her world.

She is adorned with lots of pretty Mill Hill beads and Kreinik metallic threads and is stitched on Polstitches beautiful  28 count ‘Nature’s Grace’ hand dyed Jobelan. How perfect! She will be in issue Cross Stitch Collection #188 on sale beginning in the UK on September 8th. I’ve posted a supply list on my Project Floss List.

I also have a few new chartpacks that will be available towards the end of next week. For those of you interested in kits rather than chartpacks, you can find Polliwog Place, In the Beginning, and Lady Rose as complete kits from Design Works Crafts. Here’s a preview…

new chartpacks

New Chartpacks copyright Joan A. Elliott

I wanted to post a bit about copyrights again. Every day I am notified about sites on the internet where charts from  all of your favorite designers are being pirated illegally. As most of you know this hurts us all. As the sole source of income for most designers, including myself, each time a chart is given away for free through copyright infringement or sold without permission, we all lose. I have been helped by so many of you in the past when you have emailed links to suspected infringements and I am forever grateful for your help in trying to stop this. Please continue to pass the word to fellow stitchers that copyrights do matter. Thanks!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kit
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 16:38:00

    Just like her sister Elemental Goddesses, the Goddess of Earth is lovely – and so evocative of all the rich gifts that the Earth provides. Thanks for sharing the preview! I’ve added Her to my To Be Stitched list!

    Reply

  2. Alison Zammit
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 19:28:13

    This is stunning just like her sisters, I’ve stitched them both (Water and Fire Goddess) She looks fabulous, even the colours you used are marvelous ! Congrats for the refurbished site too ! It looks more professional this way.

    Reply

  3. Lisa Bergin
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 19:58:39

    Love this one Joan, of the goddesses so far its my favourite, and now I know which fabric it is on, I can order it from Jo. I also like the preview of the other designs you are releasing shortly.

    Reply

  4. Heidi
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 21:19:01

    I think this design is my all time favorite of all you’ve done. The colors are amazing, and the design is outstanding!! Her face is lovely, and the hair is gorgeous!! As soon as I saw a preview of this goddess, I couldn’t wait to get my current project completed so I can start her. Thank you so much for the wonderful designs you keep producing for us all!! And thanks for the floss list early too! I can get all my goodies together and ready to go! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 06:30:54

    Joan you’ve outdone yourself again!!! She’s the most beautiful so far in my opinion and I feel particularly drawn to her too since I’m Taurus one of the star signs she represents. I’m eagerly waiting for the mag to get to Italy (late September I think).
    I also wish to let you know that I like your new blog template much better than the old one. I find it’s easier on the eye and you don’t need to scroll down for ages in order to find the most important sections.

    Reply

  6. Janie
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 19:56:33

    I think this is one of my favorites! Love the colours ! Can’t wait for the magazine to come out!! woohoo!
    And I have that fabbie in an opal!
    Janie

    Reply

  7. Laurylyan
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 10:23:43

    Hello Joan,

    I love your goddesses. They are all more beautiful one from the other with time passing.
    Just a question though… 😉 Do you think it possible to provide us with… The PTBs and Delicas conversions for us stitchers who son’t like/want to stitch with Kreiniks and Mill Hills ?
    As for Copyrights… Well… I do understand the bleeding it is for designers to see the copyrights infringement s and stealing of their designs. And I’m really sorry to see so many people doing that… But most of the time it’s not stitchers who do that but people who don’t know anything about stitching…
    Too bad also that they come mostly from the Big Country of Counterfeit where it’s institutionalized…
    On the other hand, I despize “Copyright” anda by far I prefer “Creative Comons”. But that’s the creative and computer science geek speaking. Even if there is more and more cross stitch designers who use “CC” instead of “Copyright”.

    And to end this “long” comment, I really like your new Look&Feel. Beautiful choice 🙂

    Reply

  8. Charmaine
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 18:40:35

    Well done again Joan! Looking forward to receive next issue of Cross stitch collection.

    Reply

  9. Maria Kellner
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 18:08:04

    Hello, I think the above JANIE, is my friend from ….
    We love your work, Ms Elliot; and this Earth Goddess is …
    Just STUNNING !!!! can’t wait till I get my mag.
    Let’s have a nice weekend
    Lol Chico
    Maria

    Reply

  10. Corrie Jelier
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 19:47:14

    Wow, this one is beautiful. I’m just starting the summer fairy, but this one is on my wish list to do! Love the earthy theme!

    Reply

  11. lavenderjack
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 09:55:41

    I love these designs but had to scour the shops for a copy of Cross Stitch Collection with Earth Goddess which I bought yesterday. It was the last one on the shelf. Really looking forward to the last one in the set now.

    Reply

  12. stitch girl
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 00:48:24

    Oh my gosh, she’s beautiful! I can’t wait to stitch her, along with her sisters. Can’t wait for the air goddess!

    Reply

  13. Linda Bauman
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 21:25:12

    I absolutley love this design but can’t seem to get the Cross Stitch book it comes in. Will it be offered directly from you?

    Reply

Leave a comment