My Annual Christmas Stocking

Angel ChristmasStocking

Heavenly Christmas © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of The Cross Stitcher (US)

I am so excited to bring you my 8th annual Christmas Stocking from The Cross Stitcher (US). I loved working on this piece and tried to capture the heavenly feeling of the Christmas Spirit. Lots of the  shimmering beads and metallics you’ve come to expect and she is stitched on a lovely hand dyed 28 count Jobelan from Polstitches called “blue moon”. You’ll find easy instructions for finishing and a full alphabet for personalization in the magazine too.

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 05:49:56

    What a beautiful stocking. Must try and get this American magazine.

    Reply

  2. Marieka
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 06:59:29

    oh Joan she looks wonderful 🙂

    Hugs,
    Marieka

    Reply

  3. Laura Latino
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:07:32

    Joan, this is great and I proud myself of owning the full Christmas stocking collection. I’m afraid this has been very hard though as I don’t like all the troubles I get in putting orders in the US.Will this be ever available as a chartpack from Polstitches, for us in Europe? I may have to wait a long time but I don’t care since it saves me a lot of effort in catching it. I’m also in love with the Easter bunny girl purse (The Cross Stitcher April 2004, I think)but still I’m prevented from ordering. Any chances about this?
    Thank you :O)
    Laura

    Reply

  4. Melanie Rowe
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 13:33:24

    I love the angel on this stocking! Is there any chance of getting her in complete form (i.e. with the bottom of the dress), for those of us who don’t make stockings?

    Reply

  5. joanelliott
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 13:40:38

    Hi Melanie-

    Yes, I absolutely can make this angel into a picture and plan to do so. I have a 1 year wait, as per my contract with this particular magazine, so you will see her next June.

    All the best-
    Joan

    Reply

  6. Moyrah
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 07:41:10

    Love it!!! Another must have!!! 🙂
    Will have to go looking for that magazine then I guess.
    /Moyrah

    Reply

  7. Janie
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 14:37:52

    Please tell me when this is due to hit the stores!!! She is amazing! I too would love her in full form!!!
    LOVELY!!!!!!!!!!
    Janie

    Reply

  8. joanelliott
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 14:57:47

    Hi Janie-

    I just received my subscription copy of the magazine. It’s the August 2010 issue. Lots of requests to have her made into picture format have come in. I am going to check to see if there is any wiggle room on my one year wait period.

    Joan

    Reply

  9. Heidi
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 16:14:48

    Wonderful news!! Congratulations again Joan! Another beautiful project!! 🙂 I’m another that will be waiting for the chart pack from you! Thank you!!!

    Reply

  10. Janie
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 16:38:35

    Wooooohoooooo! Keeping my eye out for it to come out!!
    I have sooooo many JE designs on my to-do list!
    Janie

    Reply

  11. Charmaine
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 20:41:56

    Hi Joan
    a wonderful design! Just a question. The fabric listed is 28ct white evenweave. How come the fabric appears to be christmas blue?

    Reply

    • joan elliott
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 22:07:52

      Hi All-
      Yes, it’s a misprint there on the page of the magazine. She is stitched on 28 count hand dyed ‘blue moon’ Jobelan from Polstitches. I love the way this beautiful fabric gives an ethereal feel to the design.

      Happy 4th of July weekend to all of you here in the States!
      Joan

      Reply

  12. Charmaine
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 12:20:42

    Just to let everyone know that The Stitchery Magazine can be shipped to Europe.

    Reply

  13. Janie
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 18:41:19

    I got it, I got it , I got it!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Wooohooooo!!!!!!!!
    Janie

    Reply

  14. Sarah Greiner
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 03:23:44

    I got my copy of the magazine and wow she’s stunning! I so want to get her when you revise her . . . it would be really nice to stitch her in both forms. (Ok my eyes are bigger than my plate, I suppose!) I was thinking she’d look absolutely stunning if she was done in blue & purple on say a orangey/dawn-like evenweave background. Tho the colors you picked is a lovely rich selection. Have you thought of having alternate colors for her, maybe someone would like to stitch a whole chorus of angels . . . or I might just be weird like that. (I’m re-stitching a picture of a castle just to see what the different #4 braid and hand dyed fabric look like together!) I’m glad to know that it was a typo on the fabric, I was curious too!

    Reply

  15. Alison
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 16:09:11

    This is simply Gorgeous !! I will have to ask my sister to get it from America for me cause this particular magazine is very rare to find here in Malta………..May I ask ? When are we going to see Earth Goddess’s preview ….pplleeaassee 🙂 I would really like to see her.

    Reply

    • Charmaine
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 16:12:13

      Hi Alison. I too am from Malta – actually Gozo and mad about all Joan Eliott’s designs. You can get the magazine from Amospress.com. Actually the shipping is a bit on the high side at $13 but the magazine does not come that much.
      I too am on tenterhooks to see Earth Goddess!

      Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 01:59:51

      Hi Alison-
      It’s another month or so before the Earth Goddess can be previewed. Not much longer!

      The Cross stitcher Angel Stocking is available through amospress.com
      With all best wishes-
      Joan

      Reply

  16. Jojo
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 15:59:08

    Hello,
    I discovered your work and I find them beautiful, congratulations!
    Could you tell me where I can purchase this kit or grid, I’m from Belgium because I really want to make this work!
    Thank you in advance for your reply, cordially!
    Jojo

    Reply

  17. Julie Rose
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 20:26:36

    Hi, I just had the magazine delivered and I love it.
    What does it mean on page 31 DO NOT STITCH RED OUTLINE STOCKING
    I’m not being stupid am I?

    Julie

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 26, 2011 @ 22:00:30

      Hi Julie-
      The red outline around the stocking is just a guide for the shape of your finished stocking. You can baste it in with long stitches of you like and then pull them out later after you have cut out the shape. I cut I/2″ beyond this red line which gives me a 1/2″ seam allowance all around when I am making up the finished stocking. At the top I would leave 1″ of fabric beyond the top border so you will have a 1/2 inch seam allowance plus 1/2 inch of fabric showing beyond that border as you can see in the photo. Hope that all makes sense.
      Joan

      Reply

  18. Emily Marie
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 22:22:53

    Hey Joan,

    Am I understanding properly that the pattern/stocking kit for this pattern won’t be available until next August? If so, is there any way to get it sooner/is the pattern in the magazine?

    Reply

  19. Megan Lin
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 01:57:17

    Do you have this in a needlepoint kit? I am trying to get one for my grandmother and she uses the kits with the image dawn on the canvas.

    Reply

  20. Jana Adamicová
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 17:12:09

    Hi, I would like to ask if the angel is available in complete form – with the bottom of the dress. I stitched it ones as a stocking- its beautiful!!! But I love to have it as a picture too. Thank you! Best wishes
    Jana

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 04, 2012 @ 14:22:30

      Hi Jan-
      Sorry I have not yet gotten to do the chart with the completed dress. It will be done at some point. Thanks- Joan

      Reply

      • Tammy Combs
        Feb 03, 2016 @ 07:26:38

        Dear Joan,
        My name is Tammy Combs, I was wondering about the Heavingly Christmas stocking #JE090 design, I would love to stitch this , but not as a stocking, can you possiblely redo this chart so that her beautiful dress is finished on the lower left side?. I tried to extend a pattern once my self, and well it didn’t turn out so well, Thank God, I tried it on graph paper, and didn’t stitch the project first, i would of been sick at my stomach if it didn’t turn out well.
        Please let me know what you can do with this, I know there are other stitchers out there like me, and it would be nice if you could offer both charts of The Heavenly Christmas chart…a Stocking and a Full Cart of this Angel. Thank you

        Tammy Combs, tammytom83@hotmail.com

      • joanelliott
        Feb 03, 2016 @ 18:52:12

        Hi Tammy-
        Yes, I hope I can get to this at some point. It’s on the to do list but I can’t promise when it might be done.

        Joan

Leave a Reply

