Some Early Holiday Fun

The Night Before Christmas © Joan A. Elliott

The Night Before Christmas
© Joan A. Elliott

If you are busy getting your Holiday stitching  started there are a few new designs I have out in the magazines just for the season. The Night Before Christmas, in issue 196 of Cross Stitch Crazy, brings the beloved tale of Santa’s  journey to life. As he soars above the rooftops, all is well at home where “not a creature was stirring” and the stockings were hung with care, waiting to be filled with Christmas treats for the children. Worked on 14 count Aida or 28 count even weave with a stitch count of 109w x 140h stitches, the finished design will measure 8w x 10h inches.

Holiday Victorian

2014 Victorian Lady
© Joan A. Elliott

In Issue 197 of Cross Stitch Crazy you’ll see the Festive Charm of my newest Victorian Lady ready for Christmas. We see her wrapping and gathering presents before her Christmas Eve guests arrive. Pretty beads embellish the sweep of her red skirts and her fur trimmed robe will keep her cozy and warm  on this special evening.

Desk Calendar

WOCS 2015 Desktop Calendar
© Joan A. Elliott

Finally, I was so pleased when Ruth asked me to work on the 2015 Calendar for the World of Cross Stitching. Rather than a Diary this year, the team at the magazine has come up with this delightful idea for a desk calendar. There is a chart and illustration for each month in a whimsical animal theme. The colors are all bright and cheery and I hope that each design will bring a smile to every day. The calendar format allows for easier handling of the charts making them quite nice to stitch from. Look for this as your free gift with issue 224, on sale December 4, 2014.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kay
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 22:08:39

    Love the night before Xmas! This was my favorite book as a child, so now all these years later I might just have to stitch it for myself!! Even the colours are similar!
    Just Beautiful!
    Thank you yet again Joan for producing these beautiful designs of yours that touch So many people!

    Reply

  2. Rosemarie Pierce
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 14:35:16

    Joan, I couldn’t think of what you could give us this Christmas, but wonders never cease!
    I’ve seem and heard the phrase, “friends are the best presents,” but, for us, you are our present!

    I have to get those issues and have to stitch them. The day planner looks so whimsical and fun! Love, Rosemarie

    Reply

  3. Linda Teets
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 14:51:57

    Hello Joan, I absolutely love your designs. I get so excited whenever I see your new designs come out. I love the new Night Before Christmas. My mother and I would read this together every Christmas and it created the magic of Christmas. I would love to buy this pattern, but I cannot find cross stitch crazy here in U.S. I tried on line but the UK seemed to be the only place I could get it. My mom has now passed on and this design would help keep that magic we created alive. Thank you for any assistance you can give. You have a magical talent that touches many people. Linda Teets from Florida

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Nov 20, 2014 @ 13:38:45

      Hi Linda- This chart will be released as a chart pack next year. I have to wait six months after publication to do this so it should be available next May, 2015.

      All the best-
      Joan

      Reply

  4. chrispontocruzgarcia
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 11:43:00

    Joan, The Night before Christmas is wonderful. It’s lovely ❤
    I greatly appreciate your work. Hugs from Brazil!

    Reply

  5. Vanessa
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 03:40:12

    Joan, I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! =)

    Reply

  6. joanelliott
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 12:13:55

    Hi Vanessa- Yes we had dinner here. It was lovely, even though I don’t eat turkey, LOL! Hope you had a good holiday too! X Joan

    Reply

  7. joanelliott
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 01:13:08

    LOL! Kindred spirits 🙂

    Reply

  8. luovataito
    Dec 08, 2014 @ 12:04:15

    I have always loved your designs. How do you do them? At first there is a drawing…and then? Do you download the drawing to the software or draw it by software? Do you have a special cross stitch software made to you?
    Your designs look so different and more beautiful than others, so I had to ask.

    Reply

  9. Laura Street
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 13:41:09

    Hi Joan! I loved the whimsy animal theme and thought it would be so cute to stitch it into a quilt. In the U.S., the claendar with all 12 animals did not come with the magazine. When I picked up the magazine twice, it had a chart of two of the animals labeled as “Cross Stitch Cuties.” So I have the Feb., March, April, and May animal. There were no charts in the recent issue Of The World of cross Stitching Magazine that I picked up yesterday. Will the complete set of charts be coming out during this year? I was so eagerly awaiting another chart. I love them! They are so bright and vibrant! Please let me know at your convenience! Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

  10. Laura Street
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 13:56:59

    Hi again Joan! I just checked my animal cutie charts and I have “Poodle Love”, “Nautical Duck,” “Easter Bunny”, and “Piggy Blooms”. So I hope they will come with the complete set sometime this year!

    Reply

  11. Laura Street
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 13:25:39

    Hi Joan! Thank you for replying! I will look forward to the May issue. Meanwhile, I love your spring time designs in The World of Cross Stitching magazine issue #225. All of them are so cute especially the girl riding the bicycle with the basket of flowers! Reminds me of my love for bike riding- that’s me!! 🙂 The cheerful designs are so uplifting especially here in the east coast where we are experiencing quite a snowy winter! Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a comment