Pre-Christmas Sneak Peek

Lady Bird

Lady Bird Fairy © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Cross Stitch Collection

Just a quick sneak peek at the start of a new series in Cross Stitch Collection. Coming in 2012 you will be seeing six new Garden Fairies. The first of the lot is my Lady Bird Fairy now in preview in the current issue Cross Stitch Collection. She will appear in Issue # 206. I love the little lady birds that frequent my garden and keep my roses and cherry trees thriving every year. These helpful little critters always invoke a lighthearted, gay feeling and I had great fun using them for inspiration for this design. She is stitched on 28 count marbled blue vintage Cashel linen from Zweigart (Ref: 3281/5139). I think she would look beautiful on a lovely hand dyed  evenweave from Polstitches too. Embellished with beautiful Kreinik metallic threads and sparkling Mill Hill beads, I hope you’ll find this a perfect way to welcome the  delights of the garden into your home  during the winter months.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire Skogstjärna
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:56:08

    Love it! 😀 😀
    Another one to put on my long list of ‘to-dos’

    Reply

  2. Lisa Bergin
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:56:14

    Another Fabulous design Joan, I just wish there were more hours in the day to stitch them all. This one is definitely high up on my to do list. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Karen
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:24:00

    This is definitely going to be added to my stash! What a lovely design. I can’t wait to get the magazine!!

    Reply

  4. Carol
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 15:49:50

    Oh my, she is so beautiful! I have always hoped that someone would incorporate ladybugs as much as you did for this fairy!!! Thank you so much for creating all of the wonderful fairies (and other patterns as well). I am so looking forward to the coming year to see what you have come up with. Hope you and yours have a wonderful and blessed holiday!

    Reply

  5. Heidi
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:07:10

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  6. Rachel B.
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:11:33

    She is beautiful!!

    Reply

  7. Juanita Roodt
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 16:19:49

    Another stunning design. Thanks Joan. Definately on my must have list.

    Reply

  8. roar80
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 17:09:41

    OMG !!! She is stunning ! Well done Joan and Thanks for this lovely Pre-Christmas Gift !!

    Reply

  9. Janie
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 17:32:37

    I am bouncing with excitement!!!!! For this first one alone, I jsut this minute bought a subscription!!!!! She is definitely my all time favorite-the colours , everything. I am emailing back and forth to the company to ensure that this issue is for sure part of my new subscription. I am so tired of being a month behind as we don’t get it usually for a month after the issue date!!
    WoooooHooooo!!!!!!! My early Christmas present to me!
    Janie

    Reply

  10. Ulrike
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 17:40:53

    Oh Joan! My list of wishes will be longer and longer. This Fairy is beautiful and allows us to feel the next spring

    Best wishes and a beautiful Christmas
    Ulrike

    Reply

  11. Laura Latino
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 17:49:26

    She’s gorgeous and I LOVE your idea for the new series!!!! It’s going to be a favourite!!! I was just having a cup of herbal tea back from work now and flickered through the latest CSC (the one with the winter goddess in) and was just wondering what were you up to, whether it be a new series or other. I also have some ideas for new designs, do you want me to share? 😉

    Reply

  12. Cindy Hill
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:03:07

    on my to do list

    Reply

  13. joanelliott
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:33:33

    Laura-
    For the email issues…It looks like you have to do the unblocking from your side. Your server is being blocked from earthlink for some reason.

    So now, share your new design idea 🙂

    Reply

  14. Victoria
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 19:27:42

    Gorgeous

    Reply

  15. Christine E. Walley
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 20:11:06

    She is gorgeous. I love the colors. Thanks Joan! Definitely one to add to my list!

    Reply

  16. Sue Borg
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:06:18

    She is stunning Joan. Very elegant. Can’t wait to see those that follow her.

    Reply

  17. Jeanette Kilpatrick
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:23:35

    OMG and what Heidi says!

    Reply

  18. Felice
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:50:00

    Joan,

    She is lovely. I look forward to the rest of the series. Maybe our Johnny-jump-ups will make an appearance??

    Thanks so much for the early Christmas present.

    Have a wonderful and blessed Christmas!

    Reply

  19. Melissa Shawver
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 22:56:35

    Yay! My daughter loves your fairies! This one will be another must have for her room. She loves ladybugs, too so it’s win-win. I’m hoping this means that butterflies will be coming, too?! Keep up the good work I absolutely LOVE your designs!

    Reply

  20. Christine Reinbolt Wilson
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 23:32:50

    WOW! another wonderful series! Can’t wait for my magazine to arrive now!

    I think there are quite a few of us that subscribe to this fabulous magazine just for Joan’s fabulous designs!

    Christine from Hanna, Indiana
    http://www.qsnaphuggies.com

    Reply

  21. Valerie
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 07:44:06

    Beautiful!!! Looking forward to collecting these!!!!

    Last night I just put the finishing touches on the Madonna picture and framed it. Now it needs to get wrapped and put under the tree for my hubby. I can’t wait until he opens it in front of the kids….I’m sure there will be lots of WOWS!!!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  22. Ilona Zilinskaite
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 09:20:21

    New happy year for us. I think everybody are waiting for all 6 Fairies. Thank you for new joy 🙂

    Reply

  23. Maria
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 19:10:25

    I wish you and your dear ones, A Very Merry Christmas and a Wonderful 2012,.
    I admire your Art very much, and the New Series beginning in my favorite UK, magazine CSC # 206, is just a dream come true. My 2012 wish is: that, my Favorite Designer would create a new Series also of Fairy Tale Princesses ,
    as, my beloved “Cinderella” I can almost imagine the gown that you will, yes, will come up to create. just yummy !! Snow White, LRRH, you already have designed
    Sleeping Beauty, I have it, just gorgeous. Cinderella can be done also as a maiden cleaning seeds, beans etc. etc. just dreaming. Did you designed Rapunzel?
    Happy Holidays and Great Health +
    Happy Stitching to all !!!
    Maria K.

    Reply

  24. Marcia L
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 19:37:41

    Simply gorgeous! I also agree with Heidi!

    Reply

  25. Helena (Dusty) Spencer
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 04:15:42

    She is gorgeous Joan. hope you are having a great Holiday Season.

    Reply

  26. Alison
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 13:40:17

    WOW, WOW, WOW, she is really beautifull! thank you for another amazing design! i cant wait to see the rest.

    Reply

  27. Corinne
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:39:33

    very beautiful …

    Reply

Leave a comment