Back Home

Hello my dear friends. My surgery last Wednesday was a success. I am home from the hospital with lots of meds and doing well. No more spasms so far!

I don’t think I will be able to look at emails for a few more days as my vision is quite blurred but I will get there eventually. I have a lovely fat four inch scar down the left side of my head behind my ear. It will be perfect for Halloween. I can feel my hair growing back already though, so that is good.

I just wanted to express all my appreciation for the wonderful doctors and nurses at New York Presbyterian Hospital in Manhattan. I couldn’t have been taken care of at a better place. The amazing neurosurgeon Dr. Phillip Stieg did microsurgery inside my skull to lift the blood vessel that had been pressing on my facial nerve for so many years.

So for now it is rest, rest, and more rest. I am able to walk around, shower, dress and such but not allowed much else. I expect to start getting bored by next week, lol.

Thank you all again for the outpourings of prayers and healing thoughts. It’s been a long strange trip this past year for me and your love and kindness has meant more to me than I could ever express in words. I’m looking forward to getting back to normal.

with all my love

Joan

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth Fink
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 16:09:23

    So glad to hear you have had success and a good experience with Doctors and the hospital. Now onto the healing and resting…wishing you well for the rest of your recovery.

    Reply

  2. Jeanette D'Amico
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 17:01:43

    Glad to hear you are home. Speedy speedy recovery.

    Reply

  3. Louisa Sharp
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 19:54:56

    Hi Joan, This is great news… I know it’s hard but do take it easy… rest and listen to some music… Gentle (((hugs))) being sent your way…
    Louisa.. x

    Reply

  4. Jennifer R
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 20:02:02

    God be with you in your recovery. ❤

    Reply

  5. Trudy
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 21:07:33

    Get wel soon!

    Reply

  6. golden
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 21:33:11

    I am so delighted to hear how well you are doing. I just KNOW you’re happy to have that surgery behind you and that it went well.

    I send you healing energy for every day so you’ll get just a little bit better every day.

    Mary Davidson,

    Demorest, GA

    Religion is regarded by the common people as true, by the wise as false, and by the rulers as useful. Lucius Annaeus Seneca

    Reply

  7. Theresa
    Jun 27, 2016 @ 22:38:40

    Sending wishes for a speedy recovery. Theresa

    Reply

  8. OhSewCrafty
    Jun 28, 2016 @ 00:30:42

    It’s so wonderful to hear you are home safely and recovering! Best wishes for a peaceful and speedy convalescence.

    Reply

  9. Linbeth
    Jun 28, 2016 @ 17:34:38

    Wonderful to hear you are doing so well. I hope you make a full and speedy recovery soon and that the boredom doesn’t get to you too quickly. Take care x

    Reply

  10. Janie Holmes
    Jun 29, 2016 @ 13:12:17

    You are a very brave person Joan! And an inspiring positive person. Let us hope that you can now focus on healing and enjoying the gorgeous weather. Love, prayers and warm thoughts your way. ❤

    Reply

  11. Laurie J. Lahr
    Jul 01, 2016 @ 01:54:05

    How could we do anything else but pray for your safe recovery? Especially when you design such pretty things for us to stitch. Slow and steady wins the race.
    Just take care of yourself.

    Reply

  12. Andrea DeSaulniers
    Jul 01, 2016 @ 15:03:08

    I don’t know how to get in contact with you as I have a problem. I purchased Mystical Mermaid pattern from 123 stitch and there seems to be a problem with the colours. The colour key is missing a couple of the symbols and I am stumped at what to do. Hoping you can help me. Andrea

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 01, 2016 @ 15:18:31

      Andrea-
      Please send me your address and i will send you a new chart at no charge. Thanks. I am just recovering form surgery so give me a week or so to get my head on straight. Thanks!
      Joan

      Reply

  13. joanelliott
    Jul 01, 2016 @ 15:50:17

    email me at jelliottdesign.earthlink.net

    Reply

  14. Minnie Gray
    Jul 02, 2016 @ 04:06:55

    So glad your surgery was a success and you are continuing to heal. Take your time getting back to work your health is the most important thing in the world. Have a Happy and Safe 4th of July weekend.

    Reply

  15. Joyce
    Jul 02, 2016 @ 13:38:20

    Hi Joan, Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery to feel 100% quickly. Just a note to tell you that as a stitcher I never liked Angels, Fairies or other fantasy projects. I saw your fairies recently and I am obsessed..the faces speak to me. This obsession is helping me handle the grief that was overwhelming me. My sister passed suddenly 2 months ago. Thank you for your beautiful designs.. Feel better, I certainly am…

    Reply

  16. Karen
    Jul 04, 2016 @ 22:10:59

    So glad you are home praying for your quick recovery!! Will be looking forward to more of your brilliant work when you are up to it -lots of rest in the meantime!

    Reply

  17. Rosemarie Pierce
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 04:32:15

    Joan, I will keep you in my prayers as I have for more than a year. May God bless you and restore your health.

    Reply

  18. Janis
    Jul 15, 2016 @ 15:36:29

    Dearest Joan
    great to know your surgery has been a success, I wish you a speedy recovery. Take care. Get well Soon.
    My best wishes
    Janis

    Reply

  19. Patricia Tyler
    Aug 25, 2016 @ 22:12:24

    Hi Joan,
    I am happy to hear that your surgeries are behind you. I hope you are well on the road to recovery! I just had a suggestion for a possible design in the future. Have you ever thought about witches and I don’t mean the ugly ones, maybe something like fairy or in the goddess catergory. I hope you feel better soon, I so miss your designs.
    Sincerely,
    Patricia

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 01, 2016 @ 04:01:27

      Hi Patricia-
      Thanks, I am doing much better now. I have been thinking of a witch design. Hoping to get to it soon!
      X Joan

      Reply

      • Patricia Tyler
        Sep 10, 2016 @ 04:28:57

        That would be awesome! can’t wait to see the design at the end of September. Have a great trip to Wales!

  20. Rosemarie Pierce
    Aug 31, 2016 @ 16:33:02

    Joan, We miss you. We hope you are doing well. Good luck with your exciting trip, and we wish you safe travels! We can’t wait to hear how it goes. Lucky England!
    Love, Rosemarie

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 01, 2016 @ 03:59:01

      Hi Rosemarie- Iam doing well. Right now getting ready for the September Stitching retreat in Wales with Jo from Polstitches Designs.
      Hope all is well with you too. X Joan

      Reply

  21. Nishaa
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 11:40:40

    Joan, so glad you are doing better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

