Being A Good Patient

Penguins

On the Mend

Hi Everyone. Sorry to have taken so long to get to this, but I am only now able to type a bit more on the computer.

As most of you already know, I was involved in a serious car accident on June 19th when a landscaping trailer unhitched from an oncoming truck and hit me head on.  I suffered a fractured vertebrae, sternum, ribs and collar bone. Amazingly, thanks to all the people that stopped on the road I was able to walk out of the car. A small miracle! I was taken to Grace Cottage Hospital in Vermont and then sent to the trauma facility at Dartmouth-Hitchcock in New Hampshire. After  5 days I returned home to our place in Vermont to recuperate. With help from my wonderful sister and husband I am coming along nicely and my check up last week showed that I am healing. I have a neck brace for about another month and am hoping I will be that much better by then.

As far as work is concerned, today I am trying to get a bit organized. If you have placed an order and haven’t heard from me about it or have yet to receive a Paypal request, you will hear from me soon. I am very limited to the time I can spend on the computer since I can not move my head, but we are doing our best to catch up. The ‘get well police’ are keeping an eye on me so I don’t over do anything.

Mostly I have been sleeping and watching the birds outside, and sleeping more, not to mention watching the weeds grow. Each day gets a little better and once I find myself being able to concentrate properly, I have a pile of books to get through. New designs are all on hold for a while but by the fall I hope to get back to things.

While I am here I want to to thank all of the people that took care of me on that traumatic day: all the kind strangers that came to help at the scene, the emergency workers from Londonderry Rescue, the nurses and doctors at Grace Cottage, the amazing team  at Dartmouth-Hitchcock whose tender and marvelous care made my stay so safe and comforting, and to the Visiting Nurse Service of Vermont and New Hampshire. Thanks to our dear friends who were here to help us with our appointments and travel to New Hampshire, and to my beloved sister and husband. I know I am blessed to have so much love and support around me. I have received so many wonderful messages and cards with your thoughts and prayers . I want you to know how all this has bolstered me these past weeks.

With my love and thanks- Joan

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chibelah
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 15:18:05

    OMG! No, I knew nothing about your accident and I am so delighted to know that you are on the recuperating list instead of a worse one. May each day get just a little bit better until you are back to your normal self! I send you good wishes and good energy for rapid, wonderful healing.
    Mary Davidson

    Reply

  2. Patti Tyler
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:45:24

    Oh my gosh Joan, I didn’t know this happened! glad to see you are getting better. Thank God you are alright. I am sending you wishes for a speedy recovery!

    Reply

  3. Rosa Tordoya.
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:51:38

    sorry what happened to you, you must feel very bad. but thank God we do not step worse. I hope that day, better and can go back to your normal life. Beware much, be strong.
    Kisses.
    Rochy.

    Reply

  4. Vickiebee
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 18:31:22

    I was so sad to hear of your car accident! God must have had many more things for you to do… I am putting you in my prayers! May you heal quickly and perfectly !

    Reply

  5. Theresa
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 19:34:09

    So glad to hear that you are on the mend. Wishing you a speedy recovery and prayers for a healing. Theresa

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 22:40:36

    So glad to hear you are recuperating! Keep taking it slow, nothing is worth overdoing it and hurting yourself again!

    Reply

  7. Alice
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 23:39:16

    So sorry to hear of your accident. Sending prayers for a speedy recovery.you are always stronger than you think. Keep up the great work you are missed.
    Alice

    Reply

  8. Yekaterina Timmons
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 23:39:51

    Good to hear you are on the mend. Take care of yourself, Joan!

    Reply

  9. Linda Jones
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 23:50:21

    Hi there Joan it sounds like you are lucky to be here! wishing you a speedy recovery and all my love and best wishes! take your time with my order for sure! love Linda Jones in Australia

    Reply

  10. Vanessa
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 03:42:14

    I’m sorry to hear about the accident. >>HUGS<>MORE HUGS<<

    Reply

  11. Rosemarie Pierce
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 05:32:35

    Oh Joan, I am so sorry to what you’ve been through. I didn’t know. We send good wishes and prayers your way. Please know care a lot about you, and send our love. Love, Rosemarie

    Reply

  12. Peter
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 07:28:50

    wow sooo sorry to hear of your unfortunate accident & glad you are on the end, it is always a slow & painfulrecovery, but glad to hear you are almost there, how do i get your X-stitch design ” On The Mend” Please as i am in England ??
    wishing you a speedy recovery
    Peter

    Reply

  13. Joey Phang
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 09:13:26

    Oh Dear! Sad to know this, but also glad to know that you are getting fine now! No worry that everyone will understand you situation. Please rest more and wish you get well soon! Love, Joey

    Reply

  14. zippy1982
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 18:54:54

    Glad your on the mend Joan . Gets lots of rest while you can . Very very very gentle hugs xxxx

    Reply

  15. Janne Clare
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 00:20:46

    Joan its wonderful to hear that at the time of the accident people did stop, faith in humanity can be stretched at times but you are such a wonderful soul, I’m not surprised you have had the help that you needed and still need. Take care and hear from you soon.

    Reply

  16. Annie
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 21:40:01

    Dear Joan!
    I am soo glad to hear that you are slowly feeling better and on the way to recovery! What a terrible thing to have happened and how lucky you (and all of us xstitch fans who adore your designs) were!!!
    At the moment I am stitching your Christmas Fairy and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! Now that I have learned to stitch with Kreinik and beads I am falling in love with all your designs all over again! I just love them and have many of them in my WIP pile!
    Hope you’ll be back to designing more wonderful charts soon!
    Lots of love,
    Annie from Sweden

    Reply

  17. Stephanie
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 03:20:00

    I’m so sorry to hear about your accident and very glad that you are on the mend! Best wishes and prayers for your healing and recovery, but please take your time and relax as much as possible. We will wait patiently for your next brilliant design!

    Reply

  18. Truus
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 18:50:36

    Surely there was an angel watching over you when you had that awfull accident.That’s the reason why I missed you at Create&Craft.
    Get wel soon
    Truus

    Reply

  19. Emilse
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 22:34:12

    Querida joan espero que con la ayuda de dios puedas salir adelante… Mucha fuerza!! Saludos

    Reply

  20. Barbara Savoie
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 23:02:07

    Hi Joan, I am so sorry to hear about your accident. Please keep your spirits up!

    I hope this question is not a bother. I was wondering about your 2014 SAL of faces. Is it too late to join?

    Thank you

    Reply

  21. Judy salinas
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 13:57:53

    i would like to know where I can get your Faces of Josn Elliott pattern, I saw it on floss tube.

    Reply

  22. Meg Brooks
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 17:58:47

    I knew nothing of your accident ’til last week, my thoughts and good wishes I’m sending to you and hope that your recovery continues well. Carolling Kittens stitcching is finished will piece it together later in the year. Much love Meg xx

    Reply

  23. Laura Latino
    Jul 25, 2015 @ 15:57:50

    Joan, I was upset when I learnt of your car crash! Definitely your guardian angel protected you! I’m happy to learn you are recuperating and feeling better, but take your time. Health is the most precious thing we have. Sending a whole lotta hugs across the Atlantic!😉
    Get well soon!!
    Laura🙂

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 26, 2015 @ 12:16:19

      Hi Laura-
      Thanks you for your kind thoughts. I am doing better and am hoping that by September things will be more ‘back to normal’

      Hugs right back to you!

      XOX Joan

      Reply

      • Laura Latino
        Jul 26, 2015 @ 16:01:52

        I forgot to tell you I emailed you with some pics you asked for and that you’ll love to see, it was just before your accident.🙂
        Hugs
        Laura🙂

    • joanelliott
      Aug 26, 2015 @ 13:33:01

      Thank you Laura. I am doing much better now. I am slowly finishing my Rome lady🙂

      Reply

  24. Janie Holmes
    Jul 29, 2015 @ 19:09:57

    Please take care of yourself Joan!! It sounds like you were a very lucky lady!!! Heal well, and know that there are so many people out here with you in our thoughts ad prayers.❤

    Reply

  25. Stitching Noni
    Aug 03, 2015 @ 03:11:58

    Joan, so wonderful to hear from you…. unfortunately the body takes it’s own time to heal when something major happens…. lots of sleep and rest and watching the birds sounds like the perfect cure! Computers have a habit of drawing us in but they are not always the best way to cure yourself…. :o)
    Take care, hugs xx

    Reply

  26. Ann. Pearce
    Aug 07, 2015 @ 12:52:48

    Just hear about your accident. Am pleased to hear you are getting better.take care and don’t try to do too much to soon. Writing this on behalf of my sewing group who all love your designs love ann

    Reply

  27. Beverly Maugans
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 20:45:54

    I’m sorry to hear about your accident. I pray you have a speedy recovery. I’m doing one of your counted cross stitch Dreamcathers and I put a little twist on it. I found metallic blending thread and I’m using it in the webbing of the Dreamcathers and it makes it looks like dew has fallen on it. I thought you might like to know. Take care.
    Bev.

    Reply

  28. Dr. Fiona M Clements-Russell
    Sep 17, 2015 @ 10:38:06

    Dearest Joan,
    I was so shocked and upset to learn about your accident – and of course I can’t begin to tell you how VERY glad I am to hear that you are now recovering. As someone who has survived a near-fatal car accident myself (2001, left me in a wheelchair for life with lots of plates and screws putting me back together, but I am still here and still stitching!!) I can certainly understand how everything else has to go on ‘hold’ until you are up to carrying on. The most important thing is for you to take your time, and hopefully your wonderful creative talents will be an aid to your recovery – sometimes the distraction of stitching is very helpful!!😉

    I truly hope and pray that you now will have more good days than the not so good ones, and please know that you will be in my prayers. I also hope that you can gain strength from all the love and support that your many many fans around the world will be sending you. Everything you do for us is so appreciated, and I am sure that you give so many of us a reason to keep smiling, as we stitch your exquisite designs. Your gifts enrich so many lives, please know that you are loved.

    Here’s to your continued recovery, with love and admiration as always🙂
    Fiona (Scotland, UK)
    xXx

    Reply

  29. Debra Langdon
    Sep 25, 2015 @ 01:34:05

    I’m so sorry to hear about your accident! How awful! Glad to hear that you are mending nicely! Take care of yourself😊

    Reply

  30. Rosemarie Pierce
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 23:29:08

    Dearest Joan, I just received my Cross-Stitch & Needlework magazine, and realized the ornament patterns on page 52 were yours! They are darling, and boy, DO WE MISS YOU! Please get well soon. We still have tons of your charts to get to, but we love seeing what’s new to thrill us. Stay close to God, our prayers are with you everyday.
    Love, Rosemarie

    Reply

  31. Rosemarie Pierce
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 00:11:22

    Dearest Joan, I’m happy to hear you are getting better, thank you for letting us know.

    I want to thank you for the great designs in the little booklet included from Cross Stitch Crazy!! I had to get my hands on one. He put them out at B&N just before i got there. I even thanked him! We never know when they are coming from England! I truly felt I got the ‘golden ticket’!! I won’t make cards, but I have great plans for them! Can’t wait. Thank you again, Rosemarie

    Reply

  32. Dianne Griffith
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 14:12:49

    Just by luck I opened this website to see what’s up. So sorry to hear of your accident but so glad you are improving. Prayers lifted to heal even faster and thank you for such wonderful works of art you share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

