Autumn Goddess

Autumn Goddess

Autumn Goddess © Joan A. Elliott
photo © Cross Stitch Collection

It is already August. Can you believe it? Nights are getting chilly up here in Vermont and it brings to mind the beautiful cool days of Autumn. I’ll still savor the rest of the summer but the next season is getting closer. In the October Issue # 227 of Cross Stitch Collection you will see my Autumn Goddess. She was designed remembering those October days when the trees flame orange and red and the last of the sunflowers raise their faces to to morning sky. The soft violet greys of fading hydrangea, the rich mauves and oranges of blooming chrysanthemums and the earthy tone of a pheasant feather found on a country walk make for a beautiful palette to celebrate the season. There are lots of sparkling Mill Hill beads and Kreinik threads as always. Our model is stitched on 28HPI evenweave, off white Zweigart Brittney (Ref 3270/101). She will be up in Polstitches convenient fabric viewer soon so you can chose the perfect hand dyed fabric to set her off beautifully.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 14:58:28

    I can’t say enough how much I love this one! I can’t wait to put my hands on her, and sit down and stitch on a cool October afternoon.

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 17:02:19

    She’s beautiful. I love the warm, Autumny colours!! I’ve done the Rose Goddess, The Green Goddess and the Spring Goddess…..a few more and I’ll have the whole set!!

    Reply

  3. Zeb A.
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 23:47:15

    Lovely. Love the colours🙂 it’s funny, it’s actually getting warmer here in New Zealand as we roll into Spring!

    Reply

  4. Ilona Žilinskaitė
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 03:43:49

    I love this goddess, I could sad that this one is my favourite. As fast as I will finish my Mother Moon this one will be one of my to do list top.
    Love colours, love her look, love everything.

    Reply

  5. Heidi
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 18:35:36

    Gorgeous!!! Love the feathers!😀

    Reply

  6. Rosemarie Pierce
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 00:21:51

    Joan, Joan, how do you do it? I thought to myself a week ago, that a FALL GODDESS could be coming down the pike, but, oh Joan, I never visualized this beauty!! She is perfect. When I show the Winter Goddess to friends, etc, they cannot believe her face, and the flowers. Her beauty can easily be stitched, just take the time, your patterns are the BEST!

    Reply

  7. Marcia L.
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 19:47:07

    Autumn colors are my favorite to stitch. She’s beautiful!!

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 19:40:14

    I love this one as my mom always planted sunflowers with my children when they were young so I shall stitch this in her memory. Do we have to wait for the mag to come out to get the thread and bead list?

    Reply

  9. Rosemarie Pierce
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 16:15:49

    I received my sub. issue yesterday and got the chills looking at this goddess! Years ago I was enthralled by your ‘Moon Goddess’, never dreaming all these others would follow! I will be doing all the seasons for sure, one down, 3 to go! (then, not to mention the beautiful, “ROSE GODDESS!!”)…with every issue, I wonder what is around the corner from you. THANK YOU!

    Reply

  10. Rosemarie Pierce
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 16:31:13

    P.S. Joan , please suggest a Polstitch dyed fabric for this goddess, I can’t decide! Thanks in advance.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 15, 2013 @ 21:37:54

      Hmmmm….I just went through Jo’s fabric viewer. I like Spun Gold, Fallen leaves, or peaches & cream.

      Reply

  11. Rosemarie Pierce
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 02:41:05

    I can now sleep tonight, thank you Joan, for your help!

    Reply

  12. summerscrossstitch
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 02:59:54

    Wonderful cross stitch picture!

    Reply

  13. Rosemarie Pierce
    Jan 03, 2014 @ 23:49:08

    Just doing about 30 min. of back stitching and then, the glorious beads and she is done! I’m sorry but, I sometimes stitch for 8 hours straight, and every evening …I NEVER tire of looking at her. Especially now, she is truly coming to life! She is magnificent! Thank God for cross stitch, and thank God for Joan!!!!!
    The Winter Goddess is hanging in the dining room, near the bears…’Grandkids are the best gifts of all’, AND your glorious ’12 days of Christmas’ is hanging in the living room! (In July, little Addison kept asking when the ‘grandkids’ one, was going to be framed!!!)
    Don’t ask me what’s next on the ‘Joan docket’ for me, it changes daily, especially if I shuffle through past issues!
    Oh, Annabelle’s (2) beautiful bear stocking is still hanging 12 mi. away from her mantle for the 1st time this year! XX

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 09, 2014 @ 14:24:32

      Rosemarie- Thanks for the smile you’ve just put on my face! Sounds like my designs have found the perfect place to be🙂

      Reply

  14. Rosemarie Pierce
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 02:24:31

    Thank you Joan, for your very sweet reply here, and elsewhere . I hope your ears are ringing all the time, I am singing your praises to all at Michael’s and JoAnn fabrics, and , of course elsewhere! I have even been known to go to some very nice restaurants here to meet friends, and have unrolled my latest stitching. I’ve taken many, sometimes, even framed ones. The waitress even wants me to show her!
    The joy you have brought to me and countless others, helps us to find ourselves in ‘perfect place.’ You are such a gift to us. XX Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

