Casa Cenina and Italy

Stitching Fairy

The Little Stitching Fairy
© Joan A. Elliott

I am back home after a most wonderful holiday in Italy! Who wouldn’t fall in love with this beautiful country so rich in history and culture. Most of all we will cherish the kindness and generosity of everyone we met there. Our trip started with the wonderful Festa Del Ricamo 2013 at Casa Cenina. Thanks so much to Monica, Giovanni, Elena, Catarina and all the staff for their warmth and hospitality. We felt as if we were taken into a big Italian family and were treated royally. It was the perfect introduction to Italy and the beautiful Torre Santa Flora, where we stayed and where the Festa was held, was a joy thanks to our hosts Paolo and Carina. Here we are posing for a final photo:

Festa

The Casa Cenina ‘Family’

It was wonderful to introduce the stitched model of the Little Stitching Fairy at the Festa. Everyone who attended received the chart leaflet as a gift and she will be available now as a chart pack too. I will post when she is printed and ready for shipping, in a week or so. It was also lovely to finally meet so many people that I have known online. Laura and Carolina brought along  their WIPs to show too.

Meeting

With Laura (left) With the Fairy (center), With Carolina (right)

After our four nights in Subbianno, Earl and I  extended our stay in Italy, traveling along the Chianti road to San Gimignano.

San G

An evening in San Gimignano

Here we stayed in the hills just outside of the city at Agriturismo Poggiacolle. It was a beautiful place filled with vineyards and olive groves along with spectacular views of the towered city in the distance. We enjoyed a fine bottle of wine presented to us by our charming host and owner of the vineyard, Stefano.

Poggiacolle

The view from Agriturismo Poggiacolle

After seeing the sites in the area including a visit to Volterra, a city  that began in Etruscan times, we headed west to Umbria stopping in Sienna along the way:

Sienna

The Piazza, Sienna

Our next two nights were spent  in Mantignana at the exquisite Agriturismo La Posta Di Confine which was originally built as a guard post in the 16th Century. It was heavenly! Thanks so much to our gracious and caring hosts Marco and Roberta. From here we also were able to travel to Assisi and Lake Trasimeno.

La Posta Di Confine

La Posta Di Confine

After a few days we headed towards Florence staying about an hour west of the city at Borgo Della Limonaia in Pieve A Nievole.  Built in 1554 this was a truly unique place. Our hosts Raffaele and Danielle were so kind and generous and all the food and wine  was grown right there on the farm. Delicious! From here we visited Florence and the lovely town of Lucca.

Borgo

Borgo della Limonaia

So now we are back home. I am getting back to a somewhat normal work schedule with two commissions due soon. I’ve also sketched out a design for the Lady from Rome after being so inspired by beautiful Italy. Keep your eye out for The Little Stitching Fairy from the Festa along with a few more goodies you have been waiting for. Thanks again to all the people we met in our travels who helped to make our time in Italy so memorable.

Until then…CIAO!!!  XOX Joan

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 09:44:52

    What lovely pictures to share with us ladies, Thank you so much Joan. I also love Italy, first country I visited in Europe and just love the people and food and sights and flavor, everything about it. Keeping your pictures in your file to look at. Glad you had a great time.
    SE

    Reply

  2. Sandi Alba
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 13:04:11

    What a wonderful and beautiful trip!

    Reply

  3. Rhona
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 14:38:42

    Italy is such a beautiful country – glad you enjoyed your trip!

    Reply

  4. Lesley R.
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 14:46:18

    Is that stitching fairy the small version from the diary or a bigger version?? She’s lovely.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 28, 2013 @ 02:22:27

      She is more elaborate and larger than the little fairy in the diary. I used beads and metallics in the design too.

      Reply

  5. Carolina
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 15:58:09

    Dear Joan, thank you for posting our picture! it was a pleasure and an honour for me to know you. I keep my Fairy whit your words as a treasure. You are a beautiful person! Whit heart…
    Carolina

    Reply

  6. jacki cooper
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 16:05:24

    So glad you had such a wonderful holiday. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos too.

    Reply

  7. Vanessa
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 17:51:02

    Italy looks so lovely and fun… I’m so jealous! I’m glad to hear you had such a wonderful time!

    Reply

  8. Christine Reinbolt Wilson
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 20:06:30

    The photos really make your trip come alive Joan! Thanks for sharing with us!!

    Reply

  9. Elizabeth B.
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 11:03:55

    Your trip to Italy looks so Lovely…I´m very jealous that I could not be there and meet You in person…But I understan that You have had such a Lovely time to meeting all stitchers and all places on Your holiday there…
    I agree with Christine that the photos really make Your trip come alive Joan!!!
    Thank You so much for sharing these photos with us…
    When we can buy this beautifull stitching fairy us a chart??? I love her allready!
    Elizabeth from Sweden

    Reply

  10. Valerie
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 12:38:07

    Wow, thanks for sharing the pictures Joan. So glad you had a wonderful time!! I am looking forward to the stitching fairy….as soon as I get her she will soon be on my wall!! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Amanda (stitching Angel)
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 02:30:22

    hi I love your cross stitch and have done of few. I hope you don’t mind me putting your blog on my blog list. If you do please let me know on my blog crossstitchangel@blogspot.com.au Thanks for your great stitching.

    Reply

  12. Janis
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 12:53:16

    I am happy you spent a lovely time in Italy, I think the Toscana and Umbria areas ae very beautiful did you go to Siena? I think Siena it is a beautifuk city. I was in Italy a month ago. Thank you Joanne for sharing these pictures with us , it is very kind from you.

    Janis

    Reply

  13. Laura Latino
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 10:53:19

    OOOOOOOOOH!!! You DID post our pic together!!!! I’m thrilled!!!!THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ve just emailed you with some pics of the finished hanger!!! It’s lovely!!! And a lady from Rome!!!! WOW!!!! I AM from Rome!!! HAHAHAHA!!!! That’s meant for me!!! Anyway glad you had a great time here!!! Sounds like you got a lot of inspiration!!!
    CIAOOOOOOOOO!!!! :O)

    Reply

  14. Elizabeth B.
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 11:44:31

    I love this beautifull – The Little Stitching Fairy – please tell me when she come to any Magazines as Cross Stitch Collection, Cross Stitch Gold or maybe The World of Cross Stitching??? I wait so much to start stitch her, she is saying to me: I have Dream to stitch this very Quick and show You my results!!!
    And I understand that You got a lot of inspiration on Your trip! Italy is such Beautiful country…
    Now I am waiting for this Amazing The Little Stitching Fairy!
    Have a Lovely, sunny day Joan!
    Best wishes
    Elizabeth

    Reply

  15. Joan Elliott
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 11:53:29

    The chartpack for the Little Stitching Fairy will be available as of July 15th!

    Reply

    • Elizabeth B.
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 06:55:25

      Thank You so much Joan for Your fantastic help! Now I can manage a Lovely rest too…
      Have a Lovely afternoon & rest of the week!

      Best wishes
      Elizabeth

      Reply

  16. Rosemarie Pierce
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 22:56:34

    Joan, can we buy the Little Stitching Fairy from you, yet? Thanks, Rosemarie

    Reply

  17. Heidi
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 18:23:13

    Gorgeous pictures from what looks to have been a memorable trip!! Glad you had such a lovely time! 😀

    Reply

  18. Rebecca L. Oden
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 00:51:11

    how do I order the chartpacks please?

    Reply

  19. Victoria
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:02:59

    Where can I find your newest cross stitch “the little stitching fairy?”
    Thanks
    V

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 25, 2013 @ 00:39:09

      She is available as a chart pack. Try 123stitch.com, abc stitch.com, polstitchesdesigns.co.uk, or casacenina.com for black & white chart packs. For color go directly to my order chart packs page on this blog. Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

