Dragonfly Fairy

Dragonfly

Dragonfly Fairy © Joan A. Elliott photo © Cross Stitch Collection

One of my favorite delights of summer is seeing the dragonflies come out along the brook in the early evening here in Vermont. There are so many and in so many amazing colors. In the most wonderful jewel tones, their gossamer wings flutter and swirl all about in a joyful dance to close the day. My Dragonfly Fairy in the latest issue of Cross Stitch Collection (Issue 214) captures the magical mood. Stitched on 28 count ‘serenade’ Jobelan from Polstitches Designs she is sparkling with Mill Hill beads and wonderful Kreinik threads. Supply lists are now upon the Project Floss & Embellishments page for both the Dragonfly and the Sweet Pea Fairy.

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 16:33:39

    She’s too cute!! Any chance of getting a Firefly fairy? =)

    Reply

    • Heidi
      Aug 03, 2012 @ 18:11:00

      Oooh, Firefly Fairy! Vanessa’s always full of great ideas!! 😀 I second it!

      Reply

    • joanelliott
      Aug 03, 2012 @ 19:25:04

      HMMMMMM…. I would love that. I have always been fascinated by fireflies. Sweet memories from childhood summers catching them in jars and putting them on the nightstand to watch as we fell asleep. Oh this would be a most unusual one to design. Definitely need a night fabric, can you hear me Jo? In early summer if you stand on our porch it is one of the most incredibly magical things to see. I swear there are fairies out there in the dark looking in on us and all those flashing little lights coming and going everywhere. Now you really have me going Vanessa, LOL! I need to stop taking commissions and get onto these things I really want to do 🙂

      Reply

      • Vanessa
        Aug 03, 2012 @ 22:47:23

        Always happy to give ideas……. So, should we be suggesting these ideas to the magazines?? If they liked the idea, then it might help get a commission and something you want to work on all rolled into one! 😉

      • joanelliott
        Aug 04, 2012 @ 00:59:12

        I’d rather keep this idea for myself as a chartpack 🙂

      • Shannon
        Aug 07, 2012 @ 22:24:24

        Just a thought I am going to throw out there for the firefly fairy idea, maybe use some of the glow in the dark Krieniks for them so they will glow a bit after in the dark 🙂

        But as for the Dragonfly fairy I LOVE her. Might have to add it to a list of projects I want to do for my nan.

  2. bealings48
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 16:52:28

    Just so lovely – when is she out?

    Reply

  3. Heidi
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 18:09:29

    She’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!! I love the colors on this one, and the dragonflies (of course)! 🙂 Great job, Joan! So thankful for your beautiful designs!

    Reply

  4. Valerie
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 18:32:32

    GORGEOUS!!!! Can’t wait to get my mag.

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  5. kirstyross85
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 20:07:04

    as always she is gorgeous, would love to see a firefly one as well xxxx

    Reply

  6. Dusty Spencer
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 20:37:26

    Oh, she is lovely Joan !! Can’t wait to start stitching.

    Reply

  7. Diane
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 21:20:42

    this will be another one to my collection i am loving these fairies think im addicted to them xxxxx thank u joan xxxx

    Reply

  8. Karen Book McEwan
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 22:51:42

    Oh, Joan, they just keep getting better and better! Between Sweet Pea and Dragonfly, I’m swooning!!

    Reply

  9. Zeusgirl
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 23:01:18

    That’s gorgeous!!! I love dragonflies, and ever since you announced you were doing the garden fairies series, I had my fingers crossed for a dragonfly fairy. And she is everything I hoped for and more!

    Off to the newsagent to reserve a copy, I think!

    Reply

  10. TeresaStitcher
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 23:55:56

    She’s beautiful!

    Reply

  11. Jane
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 09:36:40

    Oh i love this new fairy, and all the rest of the designs, please, please can someone let me know where to buy extra stitching time from at a reasonable price,lol
    Jane xx

    Reply

  12. Alison
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 14:25:00

    wow, she is so beautifull and i just love the colours. Im now in such a tizz i cant decide which one i want to do next and so frustrated as i still have to wait another month for the sweat pea, so another 3 months for this one. But thank you again and well done!

    Reply

  13. jayne
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 18:57:11

    When is the mag out in the shops

    Reply

  14. Marcia Loisel
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 22:54:37

    Beautiful!!

    Reply

  15. Laura Latino
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 16:08:02

    Stunning!! Love the colours, they are so subtle. I love the idea of a firefly fairy….actually when I read your comment Joan, I could not believe you can really spot fireflies in your own garden at night….I just thought fireflies were fantasy creatures but they really exist then LOL!!! I’m looking forwars the last fairy in the series now :O)

    Reply

    • Vanessa
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 23:35:05

      Laura – you must live in a place that doesn’t have them. There weren’t any FireFlies (or Lightning Bugs as my uncle calls them) in Washington state either. That was one of the nice things I discovered when I moved to Kansas. If you had them in your garden, you’d definitely be able to spot them. I can see them all the way across my nearly 1 full acre lot. When I first got here, I caught one and set it loose in my bathroom thinking the cat would have fun chasing after it. They just don’t flash often enough to keep the cat’s attention…….. hahahahaha!

      Reply

  16. Laura
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 17:48:52

    Thanks Vanessa!!! Mum says there used to be fireflies in the Northern Italy countryside where she grew up as a child and just laughed at me when I told her I thought they did not exist IRL. I was born and raised in Rome, which is a big city with no sign of such creatures. Yeah, they’re really ugly….:)

    Reply

  17. gail doylr
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:56:16

    Love it

    Reply

  18. gail doyle
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:57:32

    I love it

    Reply

  19. caitlin
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 06:26:00

    Wow you continue to stun me it is gorgeous

    Reply

  20. Danu
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 07:11:04

    Very gently! Like the air colours and summer mood

    Reply

  21. nicky
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 22:47:28

    Gorgeous,she is my new favourite!! would love to see a firefly fairy too!!!! x

    Reply

  22. albastitcher
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:10:03

    Beautiful – something else to add to my list of ‘things to do!’

    Reply

  23. Máire Skogstjärna
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 12:25:42

    LOVE it!!!

    Reply

  24. Valerie
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 17:01:03

    Oh, my copy is now on it’s way!!!

    Valerie in Germany

    Reply

  25. Rosemarie Pierce
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 23:39:16

    Joan, you are blowin’ them out of the water!!! I can’t get near an issue with your work in it at the Barnes & N., near us! Three stores are all 20 mi. away in different directions, forget it, all the issues are gone! I can’t subscribe right now, so I order them singly from England. It’s saving me on gas! So I will not be without your Dragonfly fairy! No disappointment walking into the bookstore, either. Now, I have to get my hands on YOUR beautiful Christmas Angel!!
    Am I surprised by all this, not a chance!!! (I’m predicting the “sweet pea” issue, will be sold out next!) They are all gorgeous! OUR Queen of Cross Stitch!!! Thanks forever, and ever…..’cos we’ll be stitching forever and ever! Sending love, Rosemarie

    Reply

  26. Michelle
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 07:51:13

    Currently stitching dragonfly fairy 🙂 love dragonflies

    Reply

  27. Pamela
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 23:58:38

    I am currently making this fairy, what a great series, I love your designs and have stitched the other four in the series so far. I am the only cross stitcher in my family and no one can believe how I can do this. Any news yet what issue the sixth pattern will be in? Our local bookstore in New York State just got issue #215 and it didn’t show it in the back for issue #216. Am anxiously awaiting to see what it will be!! Pamela

    Reply

  28. Linda Clouatre or brat_tara@hotmail.com
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 02:59:21

    I have loved dragonflies always and just recentrly got my first tattoo of a dragonflie on my calve area. I have been looking for months for the cross stich magazine to get the patern and materials needed to get started on this beautiful cross stitch. can any one sell me or forward me the patern or a copy of it before christmas. I am willing to purchase it I just want to be able to get started soon
    Thank you

    Reply

  29. narita
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 16:13:07

    Shes beautiful, looks amazingly like Taylor Swift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

