Summer Goddess

Summer Goddess

Summer Goddess © Joan A. Elliott photo ©Neil Goodwin Cross Stitch Collection

Coming in Issue 191 of Cross Stitch Collection, a beautiful Summer Goddess inspired by the flowers growing in my Vermont garden. What a joy to be able to once again combine  my two most loved activities, designing and gardening. I love the riot of color in the summer garden. Black-eyed-susans, cosmos, pincushion flowers and lilies abound to bring a fresh and vibrant lift to the design. Stitched on 28HPI Zweigart Brittney evenweave (off white, ref 3270/101) and embellished with glistening Mill Hill beads and pretty Kreinik metallic threads, I hope you will all find her joy to stitch. I will post some variations on Polstitches hand dyed fabric tomorrow. So many wonderful choices! Supply list will be up later today.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eva
    May 22, 2012 @ 15:39:57

    ohhh…she is pretty…glad that u decided to continue the series..will keep her in mind…

    Reply

  2. Lesley R.
    May 22, 2012 @ 17:28:50

    I cannot see t picture 😦

    Reply

  3. Alison
    May 22, 2012 @ 17:30:55

    im so disapointed i cant see the picture too.

    Reply

  4. Vanessa
    May 22, 2012 @ 18:17:19

    The pictures come up for me… but i did an experiment.. they don’t come up for me when I use Internet Explorer. Normally I use Google Chrome and they work just fine!

    Reply

  5. Anastasiya
    May 22, 2012 @ 18:18:41

    Pure perfection! Thanks for your great designs!

    Reply

  6. joanelliott
    May 22, 2012 @ 18:22:51

    WordPress is telling me some of you may need to upgrade your browsers, so yes Vanessa, Google Chrome does work. Also there may be problems getting the picture on mobile devices. I am not a tech person, just passing along what I have heard. 🙂

    Reply

    • Vanessa
      May 22, 2012 @ 21:26:51

      Well, I don’t know about everyone else… but I’m still running Windows XP. So they haven’t had an update for Internet Explorer for XP users for a long time. They’re not planning on it either. >=I

      Reply

      • Elizabeth B
        May 24, 2012 @ 10:24:31

        Hello Vanessa!
        I agree with You about Windows XP…Even I cannot see the Goddess or the Pixie Garden picture…Then after a couple of days – they pop up…So I must be patient and wait for them…
        And Thank You so much Joan for this georgeous designs You are spoiled us – I think we all love You for that!!! And wait for more designs from You…!
        Have a lovely afternoon!
        Best wishes/Elizabeth

  7. lou
    May 22, 2012 @ 18:43:59

    when does it come out again i know its june but forgot the date

    Reply

  8. Valerie
    May 22, 2012 @ 20:05:20

    Firefox is no problem either…I always see the lovely pictures here.

    Joan, are you planning any more of these ‘face’ designs. They are really gorgeous and I am going to work on all of them really soon.

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  9. joanelliott
    May 22, 2012 @ 20:41:32

    Yes Valerie…
    there will be more 🙂

    Reply

    • Lisa Bergin
      May 23, 2012 @ 11:35:11

      I am so pleased to hear that you will be doing more of the Goddesses / Face designs. Your faces are divine Joan 🙂

      Reply

  10. Lesley R.
    May 23, 2012 @ 13:54:48

    yay, more “face designs”…. I saw the picture in the Facebook group for this and the pixies, so all is not lost. Sometimes the browsers just have glitches, so meh. Eventually the picture should pop up. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Karen Magallon
    May 23, 2012 @ 17:15:42

    I have an Apple IPad and an Apple Mac Book Pro. This and the photo of Pixie Garden are showing as all black with an outline in purples and blues . I also just tried on my daughter’s lap top ( a XP) and it is the same. I can see the older photos, but not these at all.

    Reply

  12. Elizabeth
    May 25, 2012 @ 14:21:18

    Oh I love it! I’m on my 2nd one of your designs (Mother Moon from Bewitching Cross Stitch) and I love them all! I am wondering if you are planning on doing a design based off the idea of the Green Man similar to Father Sun

    Reply

  13. Laura Stephey
    May 28, 2012 @ 15:10:30

    I am working the Green Goddess right now (for the second time). I made a mistake the first time and got about 1/3 done and found it wasn’t going to be centered right and the face would have been off. DH asked if I could fix it. It was easier to start over. Got it right now. It is beautiful so far, I love the faces.

    Reply

  14. Mireille
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 14:45:15

    Hi Joan,
    I was wondering if the issue number is the right one? After a quick look, the Cross Stitch Collection 191 shown the Air Goddess pattern.

    Reply

  15. Lesley R.
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 18:26:05

    I believe the number is suppose to be #211….right after the Butterfly Fairy. That’s the info we have in a Joan Elliott Cross Stitch Facebook Group.

    Reply

  16. miamina
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 16:14:31

    This is beautiful! A really great summer project as the colours are stunning! It would be great to get this on the Polstitches fabric viewer so we can play around with fabric choices!

    Reply

  17. Mireille
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 00:57:58

    Hi Joan! I’d like to stitch this goddess on Polstitches fabric. I hesitate between «Spring» or «Potpurri»?
    What do you think?

    Reply

  18. Fransie van Zyl
    Sep 14, 2012 @ 13:07:51

    I would like to order the Summer Goddess where can I order a copy. I have the forest and rose goddess and would love to buy a copy of the Summer Goddess

    Reply

  19. jude
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 22:14:00

    dear joan i have been looking for your summer,winter,rose goddesses charts but i cant seem to find just the charts and i was wondering if u could help me please

    Reply

  20. Michelle McKee
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 23:21:45

    I’m having the same problem, however I may have found the magazine that the summer goddess was printed in. However it would be very helpful and worth the money if you had a chartpak available for sale for this.

    Reply

  21. joanelliott
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 12:51:19

    I have the summer, winter and rose goddesses available as chartpacks so far. I have not put sumer and winter up on my page because I have not had time to print a large number but I will happily do them for you. Email me if you would like to order. Thanks. My email is jelliottdesign@earthlink.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

