Magical Butterfly

Magical Butterfly

Magical Butterfly © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of WOCS

Another beautiful harbinger of sunny skies and warm days ahead. My Magical Butterfly is in issue  190 of  The World of Cross Stitching  due on the UK news stands April 26th. Lots of bling and sparkle here to capture the iridescent beauty of this marvelous creature. I love the way Ruth and the team at WOCS have  made up this design into a pretty pillow. Full instruction will be in the magazine. We’ve stitched this on 14 count white Aida  for the model. I think it would be quite lovely on one of Polstitches ethereal hand dyed fabrics too. Enjoy!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth B
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:32:53

    Now I can see this fabulous Butterfly picture!!! I am in love! What a beautifull colours this Butterfly have! All these blue and greens give me a picture of an magical world…!
    I have 1 wish – if You can give us some Peony Fairy? I love the Peonies and think this could be wonderfull piece to stitch with this flowers…
    It´s only a wish…
    Have lovely and sunny day Joan!

    Reply

  2. Valerie
    May 02, 2012 @ 12:13:34

    Hi Joan,

    I’ve got my copy of the mag with this lovely butterfly in it. It’s going into my collection of ‘must do’!!!!

    And I saw you have been crowned as Queen of Cross Stitch in a mag!! Congrats and well deserved!!! Do we call you ‘Your Highness’ now? Hehe!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  3. joanelliott
    May 02, 2012 @ 12:18:26

    Click on the picture to get a real look at the colors. I don’t know why it looks so bright on the post but the enlarged photo is more true to the colors

    Reply

  4. Monique
    May 03, 2012 @ 17:13:22

    Hi.
    I was wondering if you can help me. I love your designs and have a list of items to do and a few that I have started. My problem is that I don’t have access to kreinik threads, and must substitute with DMC. I found a convetsiom but it only lists a small amount. I was wondering if you might know what would be good substitutions.

    I will only list the nbrs I need now or in the very near future.

    Firstly for 015 Chartreuse I have seen that E703 is used as a sub. Is this correct?
    The other kreinik nbrs I am trying to convert to light effects is:
    3250, 3533, 028, 102, 002, 015 snd 045m
    Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you.

    Reply

  5. joanelliott
    May 03, 2012 @ 17:27:26

    Hi Monique-
    Here are the coversions to DMC:
    015 – DMC E703
    3250- DMC E135
    3533- DMC E3837
    028- DMC E3852
    102- DMC E677
    002- DMC E3821
    045- DMC E135

    You’ll see that 015 and 045 coonverttio the same color in DMC. This is because the palette is so much more limited than the Kreinik so I have picked the closest match.
    Hope that helps-
    Joan

    Reply

    • Monique
      May 04, 2012 @ 10:57:52

      Wow thank you so much for being such a big help. This will really make thing easier for me as It will prevent me worrying about whether I have chosen right. Was super excited to see that your Sleeping Beauty will be in the next CSG. Were a bit behimd in getting it, but I will be stalking our bookshop beg of June and hopefully starting it the same day. Love your new set of Fairies too.

      Reply

  6. thegreytail
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:43:36

    taking a look at the bigger picture, I can’t help but thinking “a sea butterfly!” 😀
    (after all, if anything like a sea butterfly existed, that’s how it’d look like – to me!)

    thank you Joan for the beautiful projects, have a nice day
    chiara – thegreytail.wordpress.com

    Reply

  7. Claire
    May 06, 2012 @ 12:10:44

    Hello Joan.

    I started cross stitching a couple of years ago and my first big project was your Native American Maiden which it just fabulous! I have had it framed and everyone who sees it wants me to stitch one for them! I then went on to stitch your Tree of Life as I loved all the different animals and the chart wasn’t too complex.

    This Magical Butterfly may just be my next project!

    I was also wondering what do you use (computer program?) to layout and design your charts?

    Thanks

    Reply

  8. Monique
    May 07, 2012 @ 17:00:57

    Hi Joan

    I was wondering if I can bother you one last time. I will understand if you can’t. I realised that I forgot to ask you two other numbers I need so I figure maybe I could ask you all the other nbrs in one go so that I don’t keep bugging you.

    3202, 3215, 850, 018, 025, 3260, 3228, 010HL, 622, 3240, 150V, 3232, 085, 271, 684

    Thank You
    Monique

    Reply

  9. claire93
    May 09, 2012 @ 06:15:50

    simply gorgeous
    I have just finished off “Christmas Spirit” (but with a few changes) – you can see photos here http://claire93.wordpress.com/2012/05/08/wipocalypse-may-update/

    Reply

  10. Janie Holmes
    May 17, 2012 @ 12:11:18

    I REALLY love this butterfly! And as a pillow it would make such a showpiece! Patiently waiting for it to arrive here- amonth is a long time when ou are waiting for something you want lol
    the colours are amazing!!
    Janie

    Reply

  11. electa tripp
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 09:20:29

    i cant seem to find the pattern 😦 and this would be perfect for my friends baby room… anyway i could get a pdf of the chart?

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Here Come the Girls | Life's Apprentice

Leave a Reply

