Fairy Tales and Garden Walls

Behind the Garden Wall

Behind the Garden Wall copyright Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Cross Stitch Gold

It’s been such a mild winter in New York that it seems thoughts of spring are coming earlier than ever. My seed  and plant catalogs are starting to arrive and I have already flagged pages for new planting possibilities.  I love thinking about the garden and the secrets and beauty I find there. I was thrilled when Hannah at Cross Stitch Gold asked me to work on a design that showed some  of the magic of the Garden to all the readers. Here is a sweet little girl  who is delighted to find a tiny garden sprite playing  amongst the pink spikes of foxglove behind the garden wall. You’ll find her in issue #91.

Sleeping Beauty

Sleeping Beauty © Joan A. Elliott

Many of you have seen the preview of the newest design in my Fairy Tales series, Sleeping Beauty. I am having so much fun working on the three designs for Cross Stitch Gold. The magazine pictures her stitched on white evenweave. In the next day or two I will post some more overlays on Polstitches hand dyed fabrics which lend themselves beautifully to this series. Here I’ve pictured her on Jo’s ‘strawberries and cream’. There is lots of shimmer and sparkle on this delicate princess as she rests dreamily in sweet slumber and waits to be awakened by Prince Charming’s sweet kiss. You’ll find her in Issue 93 of Cross Stitch Gold, on sale in the UK 8th May, 2012.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 02:36:05

    Oh my God, they’re absolutely gorgeous. I can’t wait for Sleeping Beauty. I have bought Cross Stitch Gold 91 and I’m just waiting for it to arrive. I am in serious trouble..I also want the Lavender fairy. By the way, what chartpacks are available? I see other people ordering chartpacks that are not in your list here. Can’t wait to stitch all your designs!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Bergin
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 07:26:33

    Wow, wow ,wow. Both designs are gorgeous. I love the girls face it really is adorable and your new Sleeping Beauty is divine, I love the contrast of the overskirt with the under skirt and look forward to stitching both these design sometime in the future. Oh for more hours in a day 🙂

    Reply

  3. Felice Krycia
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 13:47:15

    I saw the girl design in the “What’s coming up next month” in Gold and wondered if it was yours, because it was so beautiful and had your flair for detail. She’s on my ever growing list of your designs I need to do!

    I like the idea of a child with a fairy, because it seems that children and animals are the ones who really get to see those sprites.

    I was so sorry to read your Feb. 17th blog. Hopefully with everyone being aware of the issue, your many fans can help police this.

    Reply

  4. Alison
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 18:05:13

    wow, Joan , im really amazed, these designs are really BEAUTIFULL! i love them both. i showed my mam the lavender fairy today and she also said wow, how beautifull it is with all the colours she likes. i have asked our local news agent to order the cross stitch gold for me and im still waiting for the lady bird fairy to arrive here in SA. Since i first saw the summer fairy i have collected every fairy since and just wish i had the time to stitch them all as they come out.

    Reply

  5. charmaine
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:13:10

    Lovely Joan! I only buy CG when your design feature in them. I have been around the bookshops today to buy Issue 91 but its not here yet ): I am sure to get it very soon. Looking forward to Sleeping Beauty as I have collected Cindirella and cant wait for Rapunzel! Obviously I collect all your fairies as well. . . The only problem is that I can’t stitch too fast to keep up with you.

    Reply

  6. Heidi
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 05:11:18

    Sleeping Beauty is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! Can’t wait to have her in my clutches, even just to drool over her! The caliber and rate at which you produce your designs is amazing!

    Reply

  7. Valerie
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 07:29:59

    Again, gorgeous designs. More to add to my growing list of ‘have to stitch’!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  8. Echo
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 09:17:17

    I am a Chinese reader and I found the design of Fairy Tales and Garden Walls really great! However, I encountered difficilites in changing the girl’s hair color as you’ve mentioned in the magazine. As you know that we are in black hair color, but I think using Anchor 2 floss will be too dark and damage the beauty of the whole work. Could you please give me some advice in hair color design? Thank you in advance.

    Btw,I am planning to stitch this project using Anchor floss.

    Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

    Reply

  9. Laurylyan
    May 11, 2012 @ 21:10:55

    Your designs are really beautiful, as always 😉

    But I still prefer your Sleeping Beauty from “Magical Cross Stitch”. Maybe because of her position…
    Well… That’s only me 🙂 I’m sure your new version is going to have a LOT of success. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

