Lavender Fairy


Styled lavender Fairy

Lavender Fairy © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Cross Stitch Collection

Back to some good news now. Here is a preview of the Lavender Fairy coming in Issue 208 of Cross Stitch Collection. I love growing lavender beneath my roses. What a treat  it is to be amidst the beautiful purple spikes with their feathery blue green leaves as they send out their gorgeous scent in the early morning. I tried to capture some of that beauty in this thoughtful fairy and her soothing, relaxed pose. She is stitched on Polstitches beautiful ‘snowstorm’ 28 count Jobelan. I have posted the supplies  on the project floss page at right but I am waiting to hear from Collection as to which of Jo’s fabric they stitched the model on. Lots of pretty Mill Hill beads and Kreinik metallics, as always. I’ll be posting some alternate fabric choices too. Enjoy!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire Skogstjärna
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 15:31:27

    wow! love it!!!

    Reply

  2. Cindyhill
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 15:34:56

    I will go though my stash and find what I have and I am going to light effect thread. I also got load of beads which my auntie gave me

    Reply

  3. Viv
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 15:45:01

    What a lovely fairy you have created, she looks so sweet! A must stitch for me 🙂
    Thanks for another wonderful design 🙂

    Reply

  4. Stephanie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 16:14:23

    Oh, I love her, she has my favorite colors! This new series is just wonderful, I can’t wait to get the magazine so I can ogle her better. 😀

    Reply

  5. Susan Curiel
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:16:21

    You can almost smell the lavender. Beautiful colors!

    Reply

  6. Alison
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:38:47

    wow, she is beautifull, i just love the colours! wow on another beautifull design Joan. You are really very talented.

    Reply

  7. Melanie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 19:43:28

    Beautiful, but then all your designs are 🙂

    Reply

  8. Sue Borg
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 20:12:05

    She is gorgeous Joan. And another one to add to my list!! Can’t wait to see the next edition of this series.

    Reply

  9. Lisa Bergin
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 07:28:44

    Simply divine, Lavender is one of my favourite flowers, colours and scents and you have captured ‘calmness’ in this design if that is possible another attribute of Lavender. Love it,love it, love it 🙂

    Reply

  10. Zeusgirl
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:59:51

    She’s gorgeous!!

    I can imagine her on some hand-dyed from my favourite Aussie company, Stitches and Spice.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Lavender Fairy from Joan Elliot · Cross-Stitch | CraftGossip.com
  12. Heidi
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 22:04:05

    Beautiful! 😀

    Reply

  13. Heidi
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 05:14:56

    Just noticed the “dragonfly” style wings!! Fantastic!!

    Reply

  14. Joanne P
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 00:00:37

    I like the look of her necklace, there’s an idea – Joan’s Jewellery! Actual jewellery based on the necklaces your designs often wear.

    Reply

  15. joanelliott
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 00:15:10

    What an interesting thought Joanne. You have set the wheels in my head turning 🙂

    Reply

  16. Valerie
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 07:33:04

    I should be in England when this mag comes out. I’m visiting my Mum and going to the Craft Show in London. I’ll pick this one up then! Oh my…I discovered your wonderful designs rather late and I have so many I want to do. This year will be a Joan Elliott year…hehe!! I’ve done the lovely Madonna. The fairy sitting on the dragon which is on the wall in my son’s room. He loves it! Now I’m doing a mermaid. I found some printed material on ebay that has an underwater scene on it and that mermaid already looks fab…it’s half done!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  17. Eva
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 17:39:59

    Is she ever beautiful…I luv the colours…

    Reply

  18. charlie
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 18:07:35

    Lovely, as usual, Joan!

    Reply

  19. Susan
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 20:58:43

    She’s beautiful Joan, naturally! x

    Reply

  20. Billie
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 07:00:16

    I love her!!! This will get stitched very soon!!!!

    Reply

  21. Alison
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 16:39:45

    Dear Joan
    my daughters both love fairy’s it runs in the family and today she was saying she would like to be a cloud fairy or a rain fairy, She turns 6 on the 15th. then it got me thinking what your design might look like if you designed something like that. I really love your designs and just wish i had enough time to stitch them all. Thank you again for creating such beautifull fairy’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

