Copyrights Matter!!!

I’ve had it! I know I go on and on about copyrights but I was just looking through my blog stats and I found that people from a certain site and group have been looking through my posts and pages. This message is directed to those people and anyone else involved in copyright infringements. I now see that my copyrighted chartpack designs are being illegally scanned and made available on that site. Whoever you are, if you are so anxious to get my designs  and supposedly love them so much you should realize how much these violations hurt the designer. I can only hope that in good conscience you will take it upon yourself to stop sharing my work. What does it take for someone to understand that this is how I and other designers earn their living. I spend  many many hours trying to bring the best designs I can to all my fans and the  feedback and support that I get from the wonderful honest stitchers that enjoy and support my work is a true gift. I cherish the friendships we have nurtured together over the internet the past few years. What a terrible shame that there are others out there that are compelled to act so contrary to this good will. To all the infringers, do you really think that somehow giving my charts away for free is a good thing? Do you ever imagine how I feel when I see my work being used in this way, be it chartpacks or entire books that you have been copying? Think about it. Respect the designers and do the right thing.

79 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne P
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 19:43:59

    And they have the cheek to call it “repainting”!! One of them says “My own repaint of …” as if she actually put some artistic effort into it instead of just scanning and stealing.
    The trouble is because you are so well known they justify it by saying you won’t miss the revenue, it’s a drop in the ocean compared to what you make. It’s like people who steal from shops because “it’s built into their profit margin”.
    I don’t care, it’s still stealing!!!
    In the mean time there are plenty of us buying magazines every month purely because your designs are in there.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 19:54:03

      Thanks Joanne-
      If they that think all designers somehow have a miraculous fountain of cash raining on them continually… right, and I live in a castle in the clouds with servants at my feet. Here’s a flash for all the infringers… Last time I checked I had to work and earn a living just like everyone else. Gosh my blood is boiling!

      Reply

  2. Lynn H
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 19:48:26

    Case in point many designers have quit designing due to people infringing their tights and stealing their patterns. One being Teresa Wentzler. When you scan a pattern and give it to someone else you steal the artists way to earn a living therefor the can not eat or afford a place to live and pay their bills.

    Unfortunately you are truly hurting the designers and their families.

    Joan I feel so bad that these people ae doing this to you and others. I would so hate to see you disapear as an artist like so many of the designers I treasure, it’s almost like they are laughing in the faces of all of us that pay for our patterns. Always seems like their is someone that just has to spoil it for those of us that try and do things the right way…

    Reply

  3. Joan Elliott
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 19:57:42

    Thanks Lynn-
    Don’t worry, I am not going anywhere but it’s one of those days when I have had it up to my ears with these things.

    Reply

  4. Andrea D
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:06:19

    So sorry, Joan. It’s terrible when people do this. It just seems there are some people out there who don’t think at all. It’s been sad to lose some good designers because of this. I’m glad you’re going to keep going. Here’s hoping for a good dose of karma.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:10:11

      Thank you Andrea- it’s you and all the other wonderful stitching friends out there that inspire me!

      Reply

  5. Lorna
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:07:05

    OMG!!! I had no idea that this was happening. Can I also assure you Joan that I have never received/bought copies or copied any of your designs (only ever copied for highlighting purposes). I own an original copy of every one of your books and subscribe to every magazine that publishes your work and I have also purchased chart packs from Polstitches as I find these charts better quality than the magazine charts. I have been told, whether it is true or not, Dimensions Gold had similar issues and stopped producing for a while. It sickens me that people do this, not only for the impact it has on the artist but for the impact it has on us stitchers too. Inevitably these people who have no respect for Copyright will cause an increase in the cost of charts and kits. There should be harsher punishments for people who breech copyright.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:15:20

      Hi Lorna- Thanks for your support. I know how many good people are out there. I hesitated to write anything for fear of seeming to whiney but it’s been one of those days when I was bombarded with these things and I had just had my fill. When this kept me from wanting to start on something new today I just had to vent my feelings about it so I could get on with designing. You are correct in that it does hurt both stitchers and designers alike.

      Reply

      • Lorna
        Feb 17, 2012 @ 22:42:05

        It’s not being whiney, you’re just letting these people know how you feel about what they are doing. With a bit of luck they will see your blog and their conscience will get to them and they will stop. I personally couldn’t live with myself and a good example would be on New Years Eve we went shopping and I picked up a lovely little bag for my 3yr old daughter starting nursery. She was sitting in the trolley and I didn’t notice that she had put a pack of vests and a box of Ibuprofen in it. I found them when I got home and immediately called the store and explained the situation, which they found incredibly funny. The goods totalled £2.76 but for the few days that it took for me to get back to the store and pay for them, I was ill and I couldn’t sleep. Even the store staff said when I went in to pay for them, that most people wouldn’t have taken them back to pay for them. Where has honesty gone?

  6. Julie
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:12:22

    How sad that these people are not talented enough to do their own work so feel its alright to steal others hard work

    I am so sorry you are having these problems Joan and hope that the people who truly cherish your designs with not give these stealer’s a penny of their hard earned money

    Reply

  7. Eva
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:13:25

    way to go Joan…I have bot many, many books from u[going thru the bookstores] as well as all the British mags…I have my working copy bcause I cannot keep track of where I’m at otherwise…my mags r mine and I never, ever share…u go girl…

    Reply

  8. Joanna Phillips
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:13:36

    Like many of my friends we adore your designs and are constantly telling people about copyright. Some have said “oh the odd chart doesn’t matter” but it does, they think designers earn a fortune. It gets me sooo mad when I see people on ebay selling copies of charts as well.

    Reply

  9. Margaret Halley
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:15:33

    I don’t blame you for being extremely angry, Joan, and I am glad you are taking a stand on this. The same thing is happening in the recording industry, with bootlegged CD’s, downloads, etc. It’s sad that this is what our world has come to. Keep up the good work and please keep those beautiful designs coming. There are still many of us out her who are prepared to pay for your patterns. When you consider the amount of work you put into them, the price is very fair, especially since, lots of times they are published in magazines with many interesting articles and other patterns. Thanks for your hard work and dedication, and never, forget, “Don’t let the turkeys get you down”!!

    Reply

  10. Myranda
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:16:53

    Hi Joan,

    I think it’s a shame what some people are doing with your charts. There so great and you’re sure not asking to much for them, you have very reasonable prices for your charts.

    I think when you love designs of what designer, you must buy them…it’s a collectible also…i sure cherish them….

    Love Myranda

    Reply

  11. Val banks
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:37:39

    The thing is this people don’t really care about feelings. They just think about themselves. It’s a real shame on the artist. As you say you spend hours on these designs and people just steal your work. Shame on them

    Reply

  12. Elizabeth Deighton
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:44:11

    Agree with you so much. It is stealing just as much as robbing a bank

    Reply

  13. Janne Trinder
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:45:41

    Hi Joan
    You have my 100% support, I have had the same issues and sorry to say it goes on and on. If I can be of any help or I find your charts or packs anywhere that might not seem right, I will email you and let you know.
    I also look forward to placing my first order with you as per my email and your response last year. We hav emoved away from the earthquakes in christchurch and it has taken a wee while to get going again.
    I look forward to being of any help I can.
    Kindest regards
    Jannz
    Jannz Craft Store

    Reply

  14. Laura Stephey
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:47:30

    Sorry to hear that people are doing that to you. I like Lorna will make a couple of copies on card stock (I cut them into smaller piece for my handi hands) for my own use. I even bought some material from Charles Craft to get the dragon design that came with it. I didn’t want the fabric just the dragon. I do love your work, but would not get copies, I would rather buy it. Then it’s mine all mine (laughing hysterically)

    Reply

  15. Margaret Newey
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:48:57

    Hi Joan, I hope that your copyright folks can sue the pants off all those theives that I and your other loyal supporters bring to your attention.
    You may rest assured that all if us at the Georgetown Stitchers will always bring such theft to your attention.
    You are our favourite artist and we love everything you do.
    Hugs from Canada

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:55:27

      The internet allows these people to keep popping up no matter how many times we shut them down… but we still try. I and other designers will never give up fighting for what is right. Thanks Margaret and to the fabulous Georgetown Stitchers!

      Reply

  16. Janne Trinder
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:50:53

    A note on Copyright! do you have any idea on how to enforce this as I am signing up more artists to work with and I just know that one of these issues is going to come my way again… odds are?
    Is there somewhere maybe on facebook we can put a shame/beware of fakes and copyright infringement board and people can join this group so we all support each other which includes the designers and stitchers… oh and artists if they wish, maybe if we get enough on one company who does us wrong we can jointly fight them…just a thought

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:00:04

      I like the facebook idea Janne. Just wonder if might also encourage or lead unscrupulous people to these unscrupulous groups. For your other artists, the best way to fight it is to follow through on registering complaints of copyright infringement to the site hosts when you see an infringement. It doesn’t always work but sometimes it does and I have gotten sites shut down so it is worth the effort.

      Reply

  17. Minnie
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:03:12

    It saddens me to think that the stupidity and greed of others continue. I for one have enjoyed and purchased hundreds of your charts Joan, be they in magazines, books or directly from you, and I would definitely hate to see you stop designing.

    Reply

  18. Christine Reinbolt Wilson
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:08:47

    So sad to read that you are having trouble with this too. I have read on a few other designer’s blogs that they are getting fed up too….

    I do the same as other’s have mentioned, make a working copy on card stock, or I go to Staples for the larger patterns, only because I do give a lot of my projects away as gifts and might want to stitch them over again someday, plus I just like having the nice pristine pattern in my file cabinet!

    Please let us know if there is anyway we can help you with this matter Joan!!!

    Christine from Hanna, Indiana
    http://www.qsnaphuggies.com

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:54:09

      Yes, we are all being hit with this problem. Absolutely on the working copies… I encourage anyone who buys my charts to make working copies. It is money well spent and definitely preserves the chart.
      Thanks for your support. It is more help than you all could ever know 🙂

      Reply

  19. Sue Borg
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:13:03

    Joan, I am hearing too much of this lately. And it sickens me because it gives people like myself who do the right thing, that spend a lot of money on postage to buy the “real thing” and keep our prices down so stitchers in our own country have access to the fantastic work from International designers, a bad name. I am sure it also breaks down the trust we have built up over the years. Designers have to be worried about any new wholesale relationships they make. All the best Joan and remember you have heaps of support all around the world.

    Reply

  20. Maryanne
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:22:11

    Well said Joan! It’s so unfair that people have the nerve to do this. Why can’t people save their money to buy your charts like the rest of do? I’m working on The Earth Goddess again, it had to take a back seat whilst I did the family’s Xmas Cards and birthday cards, I’m really loving it and will send you a photo when I’ve finished it! Keep up the good work Joan with your wonderful designs for all of us that are true fans of yours! X

    Reply

  21. Steff
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:33:33

    I’m so sorry this is happening to you!! Sadly you are not alone, I know that Michele Sayetta, of Heaven and Earth Designs fame, has been hit really hard too in recent weeks by the same thing, and I think on the same website that you are referring to. I know there is a saying, something like imitation being the sincerest form of flattery, not sure that it covers being royally ripped off though! There was a huge facebook fight just yesterday on this very subject, and I have had my head bitten off, along with fellow friends, and been accused of being the copyright police, for telling people that copying & sharing charts is just not right.

    Hugs from another Canadian fan!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 21:46:23

      Thanks for going to the mat for us. People just don’t get it! If people like this didn’t do these things we wouldn’t need copyright police! Why they think everything an artist does should be for free is beyond me.

      Reply

    • kirstyross85
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 23:51:28

      It really is terrible! I heard about HAED a few weeks ago and also Margaret Sherry having the same issues… It’s not fair that people think they can share designers work illegally, do they not realise that they might as well just siphon money out of the designers bank account? It’s theft plain and simple – and the frustrating thing is, like Steff, I got into a massive argument for letting a designer know that one of their charts had been shared illegally. Why is it us that are trying to help designers the ones that get shot down? It’s silly, always do the right thing, buy the chart you want to stitch. x

      Reply

  22. margaret
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 22:42:54

    Hi Joan

    I KNOW, I KNOW!!!! It is so criminal. These people are common theives. Stealing is illegal in any form. Can you find their identity and post it? I have had a similar day trying to report criminals on e-bay.
    Just love your work keep smiling!! Mx

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 18, 2012 @ 00:31:04

      Margaret-Thank goodness for our faithful fans! I agree, about work..we must carry on doing what we love!

      Reply

  23. Eeva
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 05:49:24

    If it is one place I’m thinking about, well using copyright work is nothing new over there. Could be of course a few other places that I can think of, but the one is the most obious (sp?) for me, since I once let you know about a seller there… And only way to get the listings down is to promise hellfire and brimstone at the sellers. The “venue” won’t do a fricking thing.

    Reply

  24. heather
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 09:50:39

    I have only bought magazines with your designs in and will continue to do so even though i will not be able to make all your beautiful designs. So looking forward to the lavender design

    Reply

  25. Susan
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 10:28:54

    Dear Joan,
    So sorry that you are so upset, you know you have a loyal fan here. I am genuinely afraid that this type of thing will put you out of business which is why I always report any strange charts I see, as you know. It does seem to be getting worse so I don’t understand why there is no comeback in law, why is there a law in the first place if it can be flouted without fear of prosecution? Speaking as someone who has been conned into paying full price for a countefeit copy I can only tell you how horrible it feels when you get a counterfeit chart and realise that what should be a cherished treasure from a favourite artist is in fact a nasty underhand piece of illegal tat. Not a good feeling to be made a fool of either. Continuing support here Joan, please don’t lose heart over this! To the thieves – imagine a world without a new design from Joan (or other favourites) ever again.

    Reply

  26. Lindsay
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 10:41:09

    I will not join in the passing on of copies that seems to be going on. I only use originals and when my daughter used one of your fairy designs to make a fabric hanging for me for Christmas I marked it up as having been used so I do not stitch it. I put Margaret Sherry’s comments on copyright and its problems to designers on Cratbubble here in the UK earlier in the week and got mixed comments in reply. Some people agreed but others do not see the harm in sending a copy to someone who asks nicely. My point was that some of these so called swap and share groups are a front for people who intend to compile cd’s of copies. I would hate for you to stop doing your wonderful designs because of these people. There are too many people out there who think it is ok to reap the benefits of other peoples hard work. I thought it was worth making myself unpopular with some on the Craftbubble site to say so and will do it again on your behalf. So please keep designing and giving loads of people pleasure.

    Reply

  27. Anemone
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 17:34:49

    *sigh* I have no patience for these people who want to profit from others’ work. So sorry you & so many other designers are dealing with this right now Joan. While I’ve always made a working copy of my stitch pieces, I just cannot understand people who think it is ok to make many copies to share with others. They wouldn’t think it was ok to do with say, a novel, so why would it be ok with a pattern?
    I do hope these people can be stopped.

    Reply

  28. Toni Ball
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 19:36:02

    I feel sick seeing at first hand how much disreguard these people have for the designers work. I have been asked to copy a chart of Joan’s i bought just yesterday and i said no. I put on facebook how it would breach copyright if I did and i didn’t want to hurt Joan by doing it either and they were ok with it but it was hard luck if the wasnt , as i know Joan is having a bad time with a group of people who are copying charts and passing them on not to just one or two people but loads of People and it is not fair and not right and if i see this going on i will try and stop it. I saw the remarks Kirstyanne Ross was getting too and it wasn’t nice. Joan please let me know if i can do anymore and please dont let these theives stop you from doing what you love and what your true real fans love. xx

    Reply

  29. claire93
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 21:49:28

    I’m glad you let off steam about copyright infringement, Joan, but sad that you had to. I live in France and many French designers are having the same problem, with unscrupulous people scanning their charts and making them available on line. These people really don’t understand that in order to keep our favourite designers creating new wonderful designs for us, we need to support them and BUY their charts, not steal them.
    The internet has probably been the best thing ever for us stitchers, opening up new horizons and allowing us to discover so many designers as well as making it so much easier to buy charts and materials to continue our hobby. It’s so sad, that it has also made it easier for dishonesty.

    Reply

  30. sara
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 21:59:47

    Hi Joan,

    I’m sooooo Sorry, that some people just don’t respect your hard work :(… I can’t understand what happened to the values of society nowadays for people to think is ok to copy and spread your designs without any kind of guilt feeling 😦 …. I can just imagine how much hard work and dedication you (and any other designer) put into making a design for it to be so unique and so amazing that any stitcher will look at it and will say “I’ll have to stitch that!”, so I simply can’t understand these people… especially as a stitcher and loving to stitch such amazing pieces… and knowing the amazing feeling it is for me when I finally complete them… I know I can’t just stop thanking the designers for giving me the opportunity to stitch them… and I like to think that when people are congratulating me for the finished piece I must congratulate the designer because if he hadn’t designed it I hadn’t stitched… i did the easy part of following the chart.
    So THANK YOU SO MUCH for all your amazing designs that so many of us love and I hope that on these sad moments you can take some comfort by seeing that so many of us are here to support you and help you if there’s anything we can do to help.
    Hugs XX
    Sara

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 18, 2012 @ 22:08:47

      It is so wonderful to know you are all aware of thees issues and the love and support you so generously give means the world to me.

      Reply

  31. Jenni
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 22:31:44

    Joan, this terrifies me as a designer. I know it happens, but that doesn’t make it right. I hope you have reported the site to their provider, they should then take the site down (they may pop up somewhere else, but keep fighting it).

    I have an interesting question for you … libraries … people can get you patterns for free there by copying the pattern from a magazine or book. I know the library has bought a copy of the magazine or book, but they are then reditributing it (though not promoting it as a free copy). Can I ask what your feelings are on that?

    Reply

  32. morethomc
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 23:32:36

    Joan,

    I am so sorry to hear about this and the frustrations you have over this. One of teh facebooks group just had this brought and the person doing it had the nerve to not see anything wrong with what she was doing. I did some searchs and found some of your charts and books that were there and I reported them to the various file sharing services and had them taken down for copyright infringment. Hopefully that will limit what they are doing and letting you focus on creating more beautiful designs!!

    Reply

  33. Julie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:37:09

    Joan, As a stitcher who pays for all her project materials, I feel outraged that others do not respect your rights as a designer. Thanks for creating such great designs!

    Reply

  34. Stephanie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 16:26:01

    I can’t believe people are this cheap and dishonest, and see nothing wrong with it. It’s no different than plagiarizing a writer, or counterfeiting paintings/money and trying to pass them off as the real thing. It’s illegal, and it doesn’t say much for the character of people who do this. Would they go to the store and steal the fabric/thread needed to stitch the project? If not, then why steal the pattern, it’s no different. (If they would, then they are worse off than I thought…) I mean honestly, how many designs can a person even stitch in a year? Even at 1 per month, that’s maybe $.50 per day dedicated to buying patterns. Skip your morning Starbucks and use that instead of stealing!

    I bought my first JE designs directly from you, completely fell in love with them, and have since paid for subscriptions and stalked my bookstore for magazines that have your designs. I’ve even ordered back issues of the US CrossStitcher that is no longer in publication just so I could get your Christmas stockings. I have no problems spending a few dollars for something I know took countless hours to create. I can only hope karma will take care of those unscrupulous folks who would rather steal what they want.

    Ok, stepping off my soapbox now. 😀

    Reply

    • Toni Ball
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:47:42

      well said i agree totally and these people seem unaware of the harm they are doing and have a blatant dis-regard for the law of copyright and should really be ashamed of themselves as it’s bad enough just doing it once but doing it hundreds of times is absolutely disgusting.

      Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:37:45

      Instant Karma! 🙂

      Reply

  35. Vivienne
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 19:22:19

    I think there has to be a way to stop this from happening again and again. I love your designs and will only use the ones from magazines or your books. It makes me so cross that people still get away with it.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:39:43

      Thanks Vivienne- It really is unending but we do the best we can to get as many people shut down as is possible. It’s part of the downside of the internet.

      Reply

  36. Lorna
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 20:25:42

    Hi Joan, I know that copyright can vary depending on the product. Could you answer a few questions for me please? I just don’t want to end up doing anything wrong.

    1. I bought all of the Seasonal Fairies charts, my grandmother has seen them and has asked me to stitch them for her too. Do I buy a second set of charts for her ones?

    2. A friend of mine, who does not stitch, has seen a few of your designs and has asked me to stitch them for her, she wants to pay me for my time though. Is this okay to be done?

    3. The nursery my daughter attends is a registered charity and every so often they hold small fêtes. Can I stitch some of your smaller designs and cards for the Nursery to sell at these fêtes to help them raise money?

    Thank you ever so much for taking the time to read this and look forward to your reply.

    Lorna

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:51:10

      Hi Lorna- Thanks for taking the time to ask me about this. As far as I’m concerned, if you have bought the pattern you can stitch it as many times as you like as long as it is for friends and family and NOT for profit. That is where it becomes a violation of my copyright. To stitch something for a friend who may want to compensate you in some way is OK but if you were to do this as a business or make a profit at it, again, it would NOT be allowed. I have no objections for people stitching for charity since there is no profit to you. I’ve had other people ask me about this too but they were intending to set up shop and make a business from stitched pieces of my designs which is an absolute no no. Arrangements for profit would involve licensing agreements and paying me royalties for each sale but I would never grant anyone permission to sell like this anyway.
      Hope this clarifies things a bit 🙂
      Joan

      Reply

      • Lindsay
        Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:31:25

        Thank you for clarifying these points, it was very helpful.

      • Lorna
        Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:56:47

        Thank you for getting back to me on these points, the nursery will be so pleased to hear that I can stitch some designs to help them raise funds. Just so you know I’m honest, here is their Scottish Registered Charity Number SCO24692.

        As for even the thought of stitching as a business, I have far too many other commitments in my life and I have small children. I would however like to get into stitching sample pieces for manufacturers but I’ve not looked into it yet and I’m not sure if I would have the time or enjoy doing it. It’s fine stitching for friends and family as the pieces are normally ones I enjoy doing, but the thought of just anything landing in my lap for stitching is scary. If I didn’t like it, I would not enjoying stitching it and I would feel forced to do it, which could put a person off stitching for life.

        I just saw the preview for Sleeping Beauty, beautiful. Keep these gorgeous designs coming.

        Thanks you again,

        Lorna

  37. Elizbeth B
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:30:10

    Hi Joan!
    It´s awfull that people cannot see what is right or wrong!!! But I am wonderring: dont You have possibility to some how close their website or shop???
    I know that this shell be “free” on the internet, but You must follow some honest rules, dont You?
    I am a big fan of Your designs, and even that I dont have possibility to buy cross stitch kit, but when I buy design from You, magazines both old and new – then I can still stitch some of Your amazing designs!!! You can buy books from the honest bookstories, charts to – from honest webshops – why they do this to You? Maybe I am old fashion, but I hate when people try to lie and cheet each other, and in Your case – they dont want to pay for Your fabolous design – and this is Your work – to design this beautifull for example: Fairies and we stitchers bring them to live from Your charts, when I or we buy them from You, from Your books or all magazines…
    I hope from my heart that they realize how they hurt You to doing like that, and at the end – that they will say: I am sorry for all damage they made for You…
    And I hope that this dont make You stop from design all these fabulous designs we – all the honest stitchers wait in the future…
    It´s horrible that 1 or 2 of this people can distroyed for all of us honest stitchers…
    With love to my favorit designer!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 23:44:06

      Thank you Elizbeth. Yes, I and many other designers do as much as we can to get sites shut down. Sometimes it works, sometimes not but we keep trying. Thanks for your wonderful words of support.
      X Joan

      Reply

  38. vicci thornley
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:58:39

    I myself was duped on ebay, i thought i was buying a genuine copy of your work and when they arrived i was sad to see they weren’t, Joan informed me of this too and I told her where i bought them etc and managed to get the sellers listing removed 😦 I was gutted that this happened to me as i actually messaged this person and was told it was genuine too. I am pleased it wasn’t held against me as i adore a lot of your work and i Will one day have that dragon that says make a wish i lovve him to bits and is on my facebook album under wishlist 🙂 xx

    Reply

  39. Serinde
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 13:07:18

    Over at crossstitchforum.com the moderators and members take copyright infringements very seriously. Every now and again we have to remind newer members that copyright theft is, well, theft, and we teach that good design takes talent and time, and rip-offs are just unacceptable. There is this odd notion that everything that appears on the internet should be free, whether it’s music, craft or art. There are undoubtedly problems with copyright laws, particularly in scope, but these thieves aren’t online Robin Hoods: they are out to make an unscrupulous buck on the back of your talent and hard work. Name and shame!

    Reply

  40. Heidi
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 22:34:23

    All the best wishes for you, Joan, to get that mess sorted out. You are fast a favorite designer of a lot of us and we treasure the works you produce for us! Especially love it teamed up with Jo at Polstitches!! 😉 Glad to hear you won’t give up designing!

    Reply

  41. tiffstitch
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 01:51:56

    I think you’re right to call these criminals out, they’re stealing your hard work and profiting by it. There’s no other name for them. I have tons of friends that enjoy your designs as well and truly hope you continue designing your amazing pieces.

    Reply

  42. Angela Smith
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 18:22:54

    What slimeballs! I love your designs and the very thought of selling or buying bootleg chartpacks makes me green. I do make a photocopy to mark with my friendly neighborhood highlighter as I progress but when you clearly stated the copyright rules regarding your designs I saw no reason to circumvent it. I can get your charts legitimately from 123 Stitch and books from all over the web though I am trying not to destroy the book like I used to just rip the designs I liked out..

    Reply

  43. Kelly MacKinnon
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 23:08:27

    Joan, love your work and glad to hear you’re not going anywhere! I’ve been following the posts on a couple of the Facebook groups, and get more livid with the ones that just don’t seem to get it that this is so wrong. I’ve had people ask me for copies of charts — I direct them to where they can buy them. If it’s an old kit/chart, I try to see if I can find it anywhere out there that is legit, and if not, I just tell the individual to either try and contact the designer and/or company that made it about getting it, and to end the discussion, I’ll indicate I no longer have it myself (not true, since I keep all my original charts -….work off the copy that I make since I color in the squares as I go along). The internet has been good and bad, and as long as we have the internet, this is always going to be a problem. All we can do is keep on those that we find violating copyright. Ever since this flared up this past week again on that Facebook group, I’m now going to be more vigilant when I’m on sites, and when I do see violation, will make sure something is said and it gets reported. I love this hobby, and I’d hate to see these great designs disappear because of people who think copyright laws don’t apply to them.

    Reply

  44. Janet Priebe
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 01:36:38

    Its so sad really, people don’t get it. 😦 My husband wrote 2 books and both are being made available online by thieves! It goes across the board, movies, music, patterns etc, PAY FOR YOUR STUFF!!!

    I am sorry it happened to you too.

    also, sorry if I missed it, did the Christmas stocking pattern become available yet to purchase? 🙂

    Reply

  45. Jan S
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 07:56:17

    I’m very sorry this has happened to you, Joan. You are so loved as a designer. The majority of us are delighted to reward you for such wonderful work.

    I do however think some of the copyright infringement is due to the frustrations of poor mail services. Here in Australia, and in the US, Canada and the UK, we take it for granted that something we buy will turn up, but I have friends in other parts of the world – South America, South Africa and Europe – who are very lucky if it turns up at all. I know a friend of mine in South America only receives 1 out of every 5 of her subscription mags – the others go astray along the way!

    Chart downloads for purchase would solve a lot of that problem. It takes out any anxieties about mail turning up, or even the added cost of postage. If you knew you could find any chart you wanted and buy an immediate download at a good price, you wouldn’t bother looking for it elsewhere. I think the sooner the industry moves into the digital age proper, like Faby Reilly etc have done on creativepoppy.com, the better the situation will get for everyone.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 13:23:00

      Hi Jan- Thanks for your input. You have a point about the digital downloads although I can’t accept that the difficulty with finding charts is an excuse for stealing and just from seeing where many of the infringers are from I am sure that most people are not seeking out the illegal charts for that reason.

      As I said, the digital downloads are a point well taken. I’ve looked into this before with Patterns on Line and I will get in touch with Creative Poppy to see how they work. I am still considering it as I know other designers that work for both of these companies.

      Reply

      • Lorna
        Feb 27, 2012 @ 18:10:04

        I know that my husband uses a programme called “Steam” for purchasing and downloading his games. He raves on about it so much as he can sit down at any computer, log into Steam and play his games and they are always there regardless of hard drive crashes and reinstalls ect. I would certainly be interested in an account like this for cross stitch charts as I have gone on holiday once and forgot to take the chart with me. I’ve also recently been given an ipod and itunes is fantastic, I can purchase and download my albums but if I have to reinstall Windows I can just log into my itunes account and download them again. It’s also a fantastic for storage purposes.

  46. Hazel Green
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 18:12:26

    well Joan , if you are getting tired of your servants you can always some some my way…lol.. all kidding aside, i hate it when people steal from designers…. it is true we are getting less and less designs these days…. which is sad but because of the new internet age, it makes it easyier to steal designs…. So in return our designers are designing less or just not designing anymore. As a retailer of cross stitch supplies i notice that no longer are we getting many of those intricate designs that we all love. The supplier seems to bringing in less and less of them. Stoney creek is re-issuing some there past designs which is great for new stitchers but not for us oldies…. So thanks to designers like Joan (whom we all seem to be waiting with baited breathe for the next design…. which of course i gotta do…lol) and a few others for continuing to share their talents with us so that we can re-create their masterpieces into our own. I for one will continue to report to ebay and places like amazon any time i see copyright infringement issues, and if it is just found on the internet i will report it to their server or to the designer themself…. love your designs Joan and i hope you create many more. Not that i want to give away my age, but i have watched your designs over the years, (maybe a few…lol) and i cannot believe how they have grown into designs that everyone i meet these days must own… keep up the good work, I amoung many others will continue to buy your designs…. keep up the awesome work…. love the new fairy and unicorn…. congrats from Canada, where it is very brrrrrrrr right now… Hazel

    Reply

  47. Lydia
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 15:58:40

    Hi Joan I just wanted to tell you how much I love your designs and how sorry I am that you and other designers are going through, I remember Michele from HAED saying that 1 chart that had been uploaded onto “that” site has cost her $22,000 in lost revenue – I don’t think in all honesty these people have a conscience otherwise they wouldn’t keep uploading even though they must realise whats going on and how this affects the designers. I really hope something permanent can be done about these sites. Its just an awful situation.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 16:17:12

      Thanks for your support Lydia! Yes, the financial damage these sites do is considerable for all of us. We continue to work hard at stopping infringers it is a slow process.

      Reply

  48. Angela Smith
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 16:47:20

    I forgot to mention I prefer 1-2-3 Stitch because not only can I buy the chartpack but also all the floss,Kreinik and fabric it might need plus needles..one stop shopping!!

    Reply

  49. Vivienne
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 10:25:34

    What do these ignorant people gain from this. I love your work and long may you continue to create for all of us to use them properly.

    Name and shame……..

    Reply

  50. Shelia Huis
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 23:23:22

    Thank you for saying it so graciously and so succinctly!

    Reply

  51. Jo
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 22:14:46

    It’s not just those who copy your designs that are in the wrong but also those stitchers who download them knowing they’re copyrighted. I have many of your books and designs and have stitched a lot. You’re an amazing designer and I hope you continue to design for stitchers who not only love the craft but respect the hard work and dedication designers such as yourself put into each one.

    Reply

  52. maude56
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 05:40:35

    Well said, Joan
    I love your designs – and greatly admire your skill (and success, if I’m honest!!) – and aspire to your abilities! I’m just a simple Sampler designer, but also have Copyright problems.
    I’ve just been harshly criticised for having too dark a Copyright Mark on my images; but if you don’t, they get enlarged and copied. I sell online by pdf download, but the problem is the same as if my charts were in a magazine – once they are printed, I have no control over who gets them and how many times they are photocopied.
    It doesn’t help that certain Forums allow sharing of printed copies.
    As for stitching more than one of a design – I have been told by a copyright expert that that is still copyright theft as it is denying the designer a sale. it’s the same as a pirated DVD – you are creating a copy which has not been paid for.
    I am considering ways to make printed copies un-photocopyable, but don’t yet know how!
    Keep up the good work – and don’t let the criminals get to you. You have so many loyal fans who love your work and are happy to acquire it legally. Keep positive !

    Reply

  53. Huis Haus
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 15:00:05

    Let all us designers know when you find a way to protect digital designs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

