Nursery Rhyme Sampler

Nursery Rhyme Sampler

Nursery Rhyme Sampler © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Cross Stitch Gold

I have had a few inquiries about my Nursery Rhyme Sampler and realized that I had never posted the picture properly. This  was such a delight  for me to design as it allowed me to indulge in my love of children’s book  illustration and it was wonderful to take my cherished  old books  down from  my shelves ready to inspire me. This appeared in issue 89 of Cross Stitch Gold. Please note that the magazine called for 2 strands on the backstitching but it should be 1 strand used instead. If you would like to substitute beads for the eyes it’s best use petite beads so they stay in proportion with the characters. The smallest  characters will do best with a single strand French knot wrapped once around the needle.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn H
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 18:35:09

    Joan, This is ao cute. Love the colors and it’s so whimsicle. Loved Mother Goose

    Reply

  2. Alison
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 17:06:35

    wow, that is really beautifull!

    Reply

  3. Heidi
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 00:26:11

    That’s SO cute!! I’ll be getting the mag in the mail, but will have to save it for a grandkid, my boys are already too old! LOL

    Reply

  4. heather
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 15:49:25

    Just seen the preview for the lavender fairy n Cross stitch collection . already on my to do list ! Heather

    Reply

  5. Sharilee
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 21:21:03

    Joan, Where can I get a copy of this? I love it!! And tried to order the magazine, only to be told that it is no longer available through Cross Stitch Gold. I would be happy to purchase it from whomever has it. Thanks!

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    May 08, 2012 @ 03:15:28

    I love this design and have started to stitch it my self, however ive lost one of the pages tk the design so im unable to carry on. Im tottally gutted as ive found out im expecting in december and wanted to make it for the nursery, is there anywere i can get a new copy from?

    Reply

  7. Wendy
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 20:26:03

    I have just finished this for my new granddaughter for Christmas I did use two strands to do the back stitch but it still looks fab, I wondered why I used so many skeins.

    Reply

  8. Lucy Eccles
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 19:04:09

    Hi Joan. I’ve been trying to get a kit of the nursery rhyme sampler you had in the cross stitch gold mag volume 89. I checked with polstitches but can’t see it on their website. Any other suppliers I could try? Many thanks. Lucy

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 04:05:28

    I picked this up as a kit. While I’ve enjoyed working on the pattern I was disappointed with some of the colors. They don’t seem to be identical to what is shown in the picture. The medium purple is too light and the light pink is indistinguishable from the medium pink. Also, the arrow marking the center vertically was not centered. It’s still been fun but not exactly what I expected.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Nov 10, 2016 @ 00:34:44

      Kate- Please express your concerns to the kit company Design Works Crafts. It is important for them to hear these issues as they are responsible for the quality of the kit and the chart they printed. I would be grateful if you could email them directly at help@dwcrafts.com

      Reply

  10. Trackback: Introduction – Thread 'n' Floss
  11. Sherri Medcalf
    Nov 12, 2016 @ 11:32:49

    Hello. I really like this design but would rather not purchase the kit. (I usually prefer evenweave over Aida and I have a stupidly large stash of thread.) I am more than happy to pay for the chart only, but can’t find a vendor for this. Can you help? Many thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

