Lady Bird Variations

Lady Bird Variations © Joan A. Elliott

I think that the new Fairy Series coming in Cross Stitch Collection in 2012 would be lovely to stitch on hand dyed fabrics too. I adore the hand dyes from Polstitches Designs. They always seem the perfect match for my designs. Here are some variations for the Lady Bird Fairy for you. Each fabric lends a special mood to the design. I especially love the way she looks on Galaxy. I have posted the supply list on the project Floss & Embellishments page.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire Skogstjärna
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 12:57:37

    wow! Now I just have to get back to Jo and order fabric again!!!

    Reply

  2. Ilona Žilinskaitė
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 13:01:39

    I like all fabric, will be difficult to choose 🙂 Maybe second one 🙂

    Reply

  3. Heidi
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 19:17:17

    Can never have enough Polstitches in your stash! 😉 The variations are all gorgeous, it will be hard to decide!

    Reply

  4. Charmaine
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 14:51:28

    Dear Joan, they are all lovely. Difficult to choose.

    Reply

  5. MARILYN
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 15:31:42

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Laura Latino
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 18:52:10

    I just wondered why no hand dyeds were advised for this design, though I much rather prefer plain white for this one so to make the red and green really stand out. I keep on trying with Earthlink to sort out my @ issues towards your address but still to no avail. Stressing!!! 😦

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 02, 2012 @ 00:38:09

      Hi Laura- I will try to fix the email again this week. I can’t imagine what is wrong! It’s very annoying!!!

      Reply

  7. Laura Latino
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 18:56:52

    OOOPS! You said you were interested in my humble ideas, so here you go(hoping other stitchers may also like them)
    1) I’m big fashion lover, not truly a fashionista even though I’d like to be like that. Wouldn’t it be nice to improve with what you did in “A woman’s world” with the first chapter and the fashion city ladies? for example a sampler showing all things fashion (shoes, smart outfits, make up, bags…) or nice sayings or figurines. I know whatever you do in your characteristic style would be a hit.
    2) Have you ever thought of turning to fairytales? Lately I thought about a sweet and innocent looking Alice in Wonderland compared to a very sexy looking Queen of Hearts. That must be cool!!!
    Thanks for letting me express them 🙂

    Reply

  8. Stephanie
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 19:43:27

    I think she just pops on the Big Bang!

    Reply

  9. Alison
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 07:55:48

    wow, she looks so beautifull on them all, its is difficult to choose but i think i would go for the first or the last one.

    Reply

  10. Lesley R.
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 04:32:57

    I think I like the Fireworks the best, but they’re all great!

    Reply

  11. Janie
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 19:40:09

    I just did a floss toss with SW Spring Garden opalescent and the colours look awesome on it!! Now for my subscription to get here!!!!!! But I promised myself I would finsih JE Sea Goddess first-she is amazing!! I am doing her on SW Oceantide
    Janie

    Reply

  12. albastitcher
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 21:41:29

    Gorgeous design. Can’t wait to do this one. It looks amazing on both Fireworks and Galaxy.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: Yiotas XStitch « Albastitcher
  14. Gowri
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 07:00:06

    I want to stitch it on Awakening or Silversage.I like the 4th picture too.Can you please tell me which one is that.Thankyou!

    Reply

  15. Gowri
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 04:09:20

    Joane,
    I have decided to stitch her on EW.There are so many varieties of EW.Which one do you think will be good.Is the size of the material 18×27 is ok.Will place the order after your reply.Thank you!

    Reply

  16. Michelle
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 04:06:02

    I have missed this and the Butterfly fairy from the cross stitch collection mags, are you able to confirm when these patterns will be available on the making spot?
    thank you
    currently doing your dragonfly fairy but would love to do these two as well. I have the ipad version of cross stitch collection but the email version to print for myself isnt very clear.

    Michelle

    Reply

  17. Rosemarie Pierce
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 16:25:13

    Oh gosh, did I miss something? Oh well, I just finished “the Ladybird Fairy”, and found a mistake! I always try and make a copy of the pattern I am working on and I affix it to poster board with tape. It is soo easy to work this way. After a month or so, when I get to the metallic, I’m so into it and want to finish! I didn’t realize that CROSS STITCH COLLECTION must have switched out the symbols for the ‘pearl’, and the ‘citron’ metallic! I finally re-connected with my intact magazine and realized I did the wing’s outlines and dandelions flying around with the wrong colors. I am usually a perfectionist, especially with my cross stitch, but what is done is done. I guess starting with the outline on the wings I thought it was a ‘transparency’ effect. Only you and I know what mistakes(?) I’ve made, and don’t forget…”Only God is perfect!” She still is wondrous, I love her! Rosemarie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

