Madonna & Child

Madonna and Child

Madonna and Child © Joan A. Elliott

As the days get shorter and autumn is in the air, I’m sure everyone is already starting on their holiday stitching. With all the fun festivities and sometimes hectic preparations for Christmas it’s a comfort to remember the peace and beauty of that first Christmas night. The tender image of the loving Madonna with baby Jesus in her arms carries with it the true meaning of Christmas. I loved working on this simple yet elegant image. She is stitched on 28 count mottled blue Cashel Linen from Zweigart. A scattering of beads and gold threads add a touch of starlight to her robes. This design is previewed now in the current issue of Cross Stitch Collection and will be out in Issue 203 .

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:10:33

    Absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  2. Jeanette Kilpatrick
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 13:53:58

    Now that I have picked my mouth up off the floor, this is gorgeous!

    Jeanette
    in Texas

    Reply

  3. Lisa Bergin
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 14:59:08

    This is really lovely Joan. I really like the colours you have chosen for this.

    Reply

  4. cowgirlfromhanna
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 15:56:25

    She is going to be absolutely beautiful! I can’t wait to get my magazine now!

    Chris from Hanna, Indiana
    http://www.qsnaphuggies.com

    Reply

  5. Alison
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 16:42:02

    Dear Joan she is absolutly beautifull! well done on another amazing design!

    Reply

  6. Charmaine
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:07:52

    Joan you have outdone it again. This is definately on my to do list and will adorn my home all year around and not just Christmas.

    Reply

  7. rhona
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 19:30:39

    Another wonderful design Joan. Congrats!

    Reply

  8. Helena (Dusty) Spencer
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 07:03:14

    She is stunning Joan. Your talent continues to amaze me. I am still waiting for the dancing gypsy though. LOL hee hee hee

    Reply

  9. Heidi
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 16:13:21

    You really are a MASTER at portraying fabric and all it’s folds!! Amazing!

    Reply

  10. Linda Klinedinst
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 16:31:28

    Joan

    I love your Patterns…I am doing Santa Baker right now and the pattern is by you. I have a start on it and you can see it on my Blog.

    I love your Blog too…I am so glad that you have a Blog.

    Take care & Happy Designing/Stitching
    Hugs 🙂 from Beautiful Northern Indiana
    Linda K, Railroad

    Reply

  11. myranda
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 04:35:57

    Hi joan,

    She’s so beautiful with dat goreous dress and little baby in her arms. Can’t wait to start with stitching her. Do you already have a sup lylist, so i can order my threads and other specials before i get my magazine?
    Hope to see a lot of your charts in the future.

    All the best

    Myranda

    Reply

  12. roar80
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 18:09:41

    wow Joan this is wonderful !! I will stitch this one for sure ! I bought the magazine this morning as it arrives a bit late here in Malta.

    Happy stitching to all X X X
    Alison

    Reply

  13. Victoria
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 13:38:25

    Gorgeous

    Reply

  14. joanelliott
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 22:19:10

    Something has come to my attention that I wanted to let you know about. As you may know, Cross Stitch Collection is now available in electronic format. Please note that the chart for the Madonna & Child in this format does not allow you to download or print out the chart. Thank you Vanessa for making me aware of this so I could let all the stitchers out there know. I hope this will help everyone in making the right choice, print version, or electronic, when they purchase the magazine.

    Reply

  15. Sarah Greiner
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 21:38:51

    Oh wow, she’s gorgeous!

    Reply

  16. Vidya
    May 02, 2012 @ 21:53:14

    Hi Joan, is this available as a counted cross stitch kit with fabric, threads, and everything? Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

