Mystical Mermaid Preview

Coming in Cross Stitch Collection’s issue #200 due out in August…my Mystical Mermaid. I’ve had so many request for more mermaids it was a joy to create this graceful siren for Collection’s anniversary issue. I’ll be posting a supply list as soon as my computer returns home (hopefully tomorrow). She is stitched on Polstitches 28 count Jobelan  called ‘The Deep’. Once again it is a perfect match. Lots and lots of beautiful Kreinik threads and Mill Hill beads add to the shimmering image. Enjoy!

Mystical Mermaid

Mystical Mermaid © Joan A. Elliott Photo courtesy and © Cross Stitch Collection

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 01:37:21

    Ok, I think I have now reordered my stitch list so that this one will come up as soon as I finish the Autumn fairy. So lovely!

    Reply

  2. Dee Weaver
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 07:16:09

    Stunning, Joan. Absolutely stunning – which is just what we’ve come to expect from you every time! Can’t wait for my copy to arrive in the post 🙂

    Reply

  3. stitchinnine
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 11:24:03

    Joan you have done it again, its absolutely amazing, another for my daughter to want me to stitch straight away lol.
    I thank god for your talent

    Reply

  4. Rike
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 12:00:45

    Absolutely breathtaking!
    One more one my list!

    Reply

  5. Alison Marie
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 15:44:05

    Wow, she is stunning well done on another beautifull design and thankyou, i was looking for a mermaid to go on my to do list.

    Reply

  6. Valerie
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 17:54:41

    She is gorgeous. Can’t wait to start!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  7. Heidi
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 17:57:39

    So beautiful!!!!

    Reply

  8. Andie
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 19:52:32

    She is fantastic! Can’t wait for her to arrive in NZ…… 😀

    Reply

  9. Paula Sink
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 21:57:37

    beautiful another design to put on the list to do. Ill never get them all done Ill just have to live forever to get them all done as my grand kids keep asking for another and another design and always one of yours not something simple always something with beading. Talking of beading. I have a problem you must have solved. what kind of frame/hoop do you use to keep the fabric taut while beading when there is beading all over the design and I dont want the beads to end up in the hoop or frame being crushed? I have the celestial dragon and it is larger than any hoop or frame that I have found Thanks is advance and keep up the good work even just looking at the designs in my stash is a joy

    Reply

    • Stephanie
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 04:14:13

      Paula, I use Q-snaps for mine. You can get them in 6, 8, 11, and 17 inches, with additional 3 inch extensions. I start with a small size at the beginning of a project, and as my stitching gets larger, adjust the length and width. Eventually, I have a larger frame (usually 14 x 17 for one of Joan’s!) with the entire design on display, and I don’t have to worry about beads or anything getting crushed by the edges. Plus, with the tension on all 4 sides, the material is kept nicely taut, and it’s easy to just loosen the fabric when you’re done stitching for the day.

      Reply

      • Paula Sink
        Jul 17, 2011 @ 20:25:33

        thanks I havent seen the q snaps in that big a size but knowing they come that big I can look them up Im looking at a scroll frame that I have another project on so if I get that done before I find the q snap Ill try;that. Joan does such wonderful designs that Ill need to live forever to get them all done my grand kids have them all marked out as to what ones they want me to make for them.and what color floss they want me to do them in.

    • Vanessa
      Jul 15, 2011 @ 22:30:06

      For beading, I just use the same scroll frame I stitched it in. I just don’t roll it up so tight when I’ve got beads on it. If you’re worried about the beads you can always put a piece of felt or a towel on your work before you roll it up (to keep the beads from getting broken).

      Reply

  10. Laura
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:48:55

    Joan she is absolutely GORGEOUS!! I’m definitely gonna add this one to my collection…thank you so much for creating such a beauty!!

    Reply

  11. Laura Latino
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 16:56:54

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love her Joan!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Tammy
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 17:07:03

    She is sooo pretty, can’t wait to get her. Will the Sea Goddess ever be released as a chart pack?

    Reply

  13. Louise Edwards
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 23:48:04

    Oh Wow Joan, she is absolutely beautiful, another must, at this rate I have enough charts to last me 100 year or more.

    Keep up the good work

    Louise

    Reply

  14. Susan Mackay
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 00:11:34

    Hi Joan,

    I’ve just recently stumbled over your cross stitches in various magazines that I read. I’m from New Zealand and have been cross stitching for about 19 years, I’m 24 now, and I have been a huge huge fan of Teresa Wentzler designs. After finding yours I’ve become a fan of your work as well! I see you and Teresa as very similar but your work is a little less difficult than hers! and Also stunning in it’s simplictiy and possibly even a little more modern…..? (I think so anyway) Both are full of magic and wonder.
    I really love this mermaid design and can’t wait to see more of these from you! Gorgeous!!
    Thanks,

    Susan

    Reply

  15. Charmaine
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 09:51:50

    Hi Joan, when are we to have a peak a the Christmas Stocking? Soon please . . . .

    Reply

  16. joanelliott
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 12:01:54

    Sorry for the delay on the stocking. I was without my computer for more than a week and it has set my schedule back a bit. Soon…

    Reply

  17. Charlotte Woolrych
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 19:54:22

    I’m not that good at cross stiching yet, being only 13, but when I am I’m going to start with your stunningly breathtaking fairies and goddess. The work on the detail is amazing.

    (I apologise for any spelling errors)

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 17:11:50

      Hi Charlotte-
      I am very impressed! Enjoy the fairies and please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.
      Joan

      Reply

  18. Janie
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 11:52:03

    Woohoo! I have just finished the Seasonals, so can start this when it arrives here!

    Also Joan, is there a chance for a partner for Crescent Moon Dragon coming-I did him for my son and want to do another for my husband. He was probably my favorite stitch!
    Janie

    Reply

  19. joanelliott
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:36:16

    Hi Janie-
    Yes, I am hoping to do a mate for the dragon soon 🙂

    Reply

  20. Sarah Greiner
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 21:37:35

    She’s fantastic! (Haven’t looked at your blog in a while so I missed her).

    oooh looking forward to the dragon’s mate!

    Reply

  21. Trackback: Here Come the Girls | Life's Apprentice

Leave a Reply

