Christmas Stocking …and the winners are…

Announcing a Winner

And the Winner Is... © Joan A. Elliott

Thanks to everyone for the fabulous design suggestions for this year’s Christmas  stocking. It was a hard decision as I also had to consider commissions that will be coming out in the UK magazines that may have covered some of the ideas you sent in. I’ve decided to go with a Fairy/Dragon theme. What I would like to do is show you the progress of the design so I will be posting some pics starting with my sketch and finishing with the final stocking. I will be starting work on it in July.

Last night I printed out all of your names and threw them into a bowl to choose the three winners of the new Christmas Stocking chartpack and so…tah-dah… here they are:

Felice Krycia, Laura Latino, and Barb Briggs. Please email me  jelliottdesign@earthlink.net  with your mailing details so that when the design is completed I can get the chartpacks out to you. Thanks.

With fondest wishes-

Joan

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 11:48:03

    Congratulations to the winners and I am sure it will be superb, like all your other designs.

    Reply

  2. Angela L Lamb
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 13:29:50

    Fantastic news really looking forward to the stockings. Congrates to the winners

    Reply

  3. Sally
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 15:10:36

    Fantastic! But reading between the lines does this mean that there will be no Fairy/Dragon designs for the rest of the year in UK magazines? I’m just greedy for your fairies and dragons, your designs are amazing.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 15:17:05

      Oh no, just not necessarily for Christmas in this particular combination. Am I being vague enough? 😉

      Reply

  4. Mel
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 17:09:29

    Congratulations to the winners. Can’t wait to see the design as with all of your designs Joan it will be totally awesome. Wishing You & Yours a truly fabulous weekend ahead. Take Care.

    Reply

  5. Cindy Hill
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 19:43:58

    well the winners and will we be able to get the christmas stocking chart in the Uk

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 19:54:24

      Absolutely. Once I get the chartpack made up you can order from me or any of the shops I have listed. In the UK that would be Polstitches.

      Reply

  6. Andrea Shears
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 19:48:06

    Great!!! Can’t wait to get ahold of that wonderful chart when you’ve finished it Joan!!! Will you by any chance be designing any ornaments on Plastic Canvas (Darice 14ct) this year for any of the mags? Ohhhhhh boy I sure hope so am always hoping for some Cats and Penguins. Will keep watching your progress on the stocking, thanks for all your wonderful Designs.

    Reply

  7. joanelliott
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 20:03:08

    Hi Andrea-
    You may have seen these already, but I did some cats for Herrschner’s last year. Did you see them? Here’s the link:
    http://www.herrschners.com/zoomimage.aspx?pid=99614
    I also did a set of Penguins and a set of cats for Design Works Crafts a while back.

    Joan

    Reply

  8. Charmaine
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 21:29:27

    Hi Joan, can’t wait to see the sketch. I hope to see new designs on CSC very soon as I kind of got used to have one of your fabulous designs each month! I just received Bewitching Cross Stitch in the mail yesterday and can’t seem to get it out of my hands. I especially love “Wizard’s View” and can’t wait to do it but must be strict on myself as I just started the set of Medieval Ladies and wish to do several of the Flower Fairies as well.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 10, 2011 @ 21:39:31

      Hi Charmaine-

      I am so glad you like ‘Bewitching. That book was such a joy to work on! Sounds like you have a lot of stitching to keep you busy 🙂

      Joan

      Reply

  9. Heidi
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 22:55:33

    Congrats to the winners!!! Can’t wait to see your stocking progress!!

    Reply

  10. Pnut
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 04:34:08

    Congrats to the winners!!. Love the fairy and dragon idea. And I think it’s a gr8 idea to let us see the design in progress!!, I have always been fasinated with how you go about the design process and can’t wait to see the first sketch!!!!

    Pnut

    Reply

  11. Lindsay
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 06:39:04

    Looking forward to seeing design sketch (which is a treat in itself) and the finished design. As a subscriber to CSC, CSCrazy and WOCS I have been really pleased to see so many of your designs lately. I also have all your books too and really enjoyed chatting with you at the show in Olympia a few years back. Wishing you and your familly all best wishes.

    Reply

  12. Valerie
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 17:22:57

    Congrats to the winners and it sounds like a winning design!!!

    Looking forward to seeing the work in progress.

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  13. Alison Marie
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 16:33:58

    congratulations to the winners!
    cant wait to see the design.

    Reply

  14. Felice Krycia
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 18:18:34

    I was so excited to see that my name was pulled, along with the other two winners.

    I can’t wait to see the sketches and of course the finished product.

    Thanks everyone for the congratulations!

    Reply

  15. roar80
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 18:15:15

    Congratulations to the lucky winners, but after all i think we are all winners cause we all gave our bit of fantasy and thoughts to Joan !! Looking forward to see the sketches Joan … Good Luck !

    Reply

  16. Paula Sink
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 22:17:00

    How long does it take to do these designs? I’ve been working on the Celtial Dragon now for nearly a month. Ive worked almost constantly (my house is a mess) trying to get it done so I can work on other things for christmas (yes I know it is only june but at the rate Im getting these done it will take along time and they may not get it this christmas) I would love to do nearly all your designs Joan as I think they are beautiful and know many who would enjoy them. but I dont know how to schedule my time. am I really slow or what.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 00:00:50

      Hi Paula-
      Everyone stitches at their own pace. I am slow as molasses which is part of the reason I hire stitchers for doing my models. Sometimes it’s a good idea to switch off to another project so you don’t feel frustrated by your lack of progress. Maybe put the dragon aside for a bit and get into some smaller Christmas projects you have waiting. Have a look at some of the stitching BBs. I’m sure you will get plenty of feedback on this topic.

      Joan

      Reply

  17. Stephanie
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 03:35:51

    Oh, wonderful! I love your fantasy designs, I can’t wait to see what this new theme will look like.

    Of course, if my hands fall off from all this stitching I will be doing, I completely blame you. 😀

    Reply

  18. Julie Rose
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 15:54:01

    Hi Joan,
    I hope you are well and your computer is well too!
    How is the stocking design going…just about to start the angel stocking from last year..christmas stitching starts in August!!!!
    Julie

    Reply

  19. Janie
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 15:35:12

    Just wondering if you have any idea when this chart pack will be ready for selling. Would love to start this one as I love the idea of dragons and fairies together.!
    Also want to purchase the new book of fairies so saving my pennies!!!!!!!
    Janie

    Reply

  20. Janet Priebe
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 03:53:20

    Is the stocking still happening? I love the sound of the design, so curious 🙂

    Thanks!
    Jay

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 13:33:58

      Hi Jay-
      Yes. I am sorry for the months that have gone by without doing this design. Life has been getting in the way of work too often this year. I have the stocking started and it looks like it will be ready in a few weeks. So for those of you that haven’t given up on it… it will be here soon, more of a Christmas present than an early summer surprise as I had originally planned. thanks all for your kind patience!
      X Joan

      Reply

      • Janet Priebe
        Nov 21, 2011 @ 06:24:21

        I totally hear ya! Life just keeps rolling and we are always trying to catch up 🙂 Looking forward to seeing it, I am just starting last year’s pattern of the Angel for myself as the kids have had theirs for some time and both Hubby and I need ours 😉 Thanks a bunch

  21. Janet Priebe
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 18:17:52

    Still in progress? Sorry, just excited 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

