The Lily Fairy

Lily Fairy

The Lily Fairy © Joan A. Elliott

Now that many of you have seen the book-a-zine and know what my final flower fairy will be, I thought I would post a proper picture of her. Here is the Lily Fairy. She is stitched on Polstitches beautiful ‘spring’ 28 count Jobelan and is highlighted with  sparkling metallic threads  from Kreinik and  glistening beads from Mill Hill. One of my favorite lilies in the garden is named ‘Endless Love’, a beautifully fragrant Asiatic variety. I couldn’t resist surrounding her with these intoxicating blooms. She will be in issue 198 of Cross Stitch Collection which should be out in mid-June.

I am hoping to continue with some more flower fairies in the future and make them available as chartpacks. So many of you have written to tell me what you would like to see and it has given me much food for thought.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Hill
    May 08, 2011 @ 12:51:02

    I would love to see a Bluebell fairy

    Reply

  2. Charmaine
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:24:04

    Wow. Another amazing one Joan. This one goes great with the Iris and Rose fairies ! I can’t wait to have them all done (:
    It is great news to hear that you shall continue with the flower fairies. Are we going to see you again in Cross Stitch Collection in the coming months ? I hope so.

    Reply

  3. joanelliott
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:30:37

    Yes, I have finished two new commissions for Collection since the Flower Fairies and I am working on a third this week. Sorry I can’t reveal any more details right now but stay tuned!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:38:32

    Wonderful! I don’t know which is my favourite. Perhaps a Lily of the Valley fairy?

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    May 08, 2011 @ 13:38:52

    Soooooo beautiful! I just adore the dress on this one. I have absolutely no idea how I will find time to stitch all of these, but I’m sure going to try! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the new designs too. Very glad I got a CSC subscription this year so I won’t miss any.

    Reply

  6. Laura Latino
    May 08, 2011 @ 16:33:43

    She’s gorgeous!!!!!!! So delicate and sweet!!! I’d second Cindy for a bluebell fairy :O)
    Have a nice Sunday!
    Laura

    Reply

  7. alison
    May 08, 2011 @ 17:29:34

    wow, again, she is beautifull, love the colours!

    Reply

  8. Laurylyan
    May 08, 2011 @ 17:33:39

    She is really beautiful and I have to say that I really, REALLY like her more “round” face than the last ones.

    I’m impatiently waiting for your next series 🙂 So much creativity! 😉

    Reply

  9. Lisa Bergin
    May 08, 2011 @ 21:43:11

    This is stunning and will be the first one of the flower fairies that I will stitch. I will be stitching it in memory of my sister who used the screen name white lily.

    Reply

  10. Mel
    May 09, 2011 @ 00:06:38

    So beautiful Joan, thanks for posting. Wishing You & Yours a fabulous week ahead. Take Care!

    Reply

  11. pnut
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:31:52

    Yet another beautiful design!!! Thanks Joan!!

    Reply

  12. LB
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:52:42

    Simply beautiful, I love your last fairy and I can’t wait to get a copy of the magazine!

    Reply

  13. Joanne P
    May 09, 2011 @ 13:52:24

    Now I want to restart my sub to CSC! I love these flower fairies and wanted to stitch the six as a montage. I will be eagerly waiting to see if there are more coming. It’s gonna be a big piece of fabric!

    Reply

  14. Felice E. Krycia
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:08:30

    Wow,

    She is breathtaking. I love the shorter curly hair, she will be a great companion for my personal favorite, Earth Goddess.

    I also like the idea of Lily of the Valley and Bluebells, but how about the very shy Wood Violet or the little Johnny Jump Ups?

    By grandmother always told us stories of how the fairies loved the little flowers the most because they were small but never gave up. They persevered through difficult weather and poor soil to spread cheer to all, just like how the fairies have to surmount many difficulties and the lack of belief by the “Big Folk” to survive in an ever diminishing environment.

    Just a thought.

    Reply

  15. joanelliott
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:19:28

    I love the story from you grandmother… so beautifully magical! I was just noticing the Johnny Jump Ups in the Vermont Garden this past weekend. What a little treasure they are. It would be fun to do something with these and all the little wildflowers that seem to spring out of nowhere year after year.

    Reply

    • Felice E. Krycia
      May 09, 2011 @ 22:46:11

      My grandmother (her mother was from Germany) would tell all of us about the fairies hidden in the meadows and forests. If you were lucky you might catch a glimpse of them as you peer through the cracks of the ground into their magical homes.
      It was a great way to grow up and I have never lost that faith in fairies living in the world with us. That is why I love the designs you make. My grandmother, who was also a wonderful artist who did landscapes of the Adirondacks in oils and watercolors, would be so happy that you are continuing the interest in them too.

      Reply

  16. Laura Latino
    May 10, 2011 @ 06:19:47

    Excuse me, what are the Johnny Jump Ups?

    That fairy tale is so lovely!!!! it’s pretty much like the tales my mother told me when I was a little girl :O)

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      May 10, 2011 @ 09:56:42

      Hi Laura-
      Johnny Jump Ups are a wildflower in the violet family. They are multicolored with purple, yellow and white petals and look like miniature pansy flowers.

      Reply

      • Lisa Bergin
        May 10, 2011 @ 12:11:15

        If you do continue the flower fairies theme in your designs I would love a purple pansy one as pansies are my favourite flowers and they always look so cheerful.

  17. Charmaine
    May 10, 2011 @ 21:48:01

    Hi Joan, will we be seeing the floss and embellishments list soon ? Thanks v much.
    Hope to have another series soon (: Can’t wait.

    Reply

  18. Rachael
    May 11, 2011 @ 09:00:23

    Very Pretty

    Reply

  19. Bartie, the Netherlands
    May 11, 2011 @ 13:29:07

    Your fairies are so beautiful Joan! I love them. A snowdrop fairy would
    be lovely too.

    Reply

  20. Sue Vermeire
    May 11, 2011 @ 14:27:53

    Joan, I would love to see a Pansy Fairy in your collection!!! I love Pansies and Sunflowers.

    Reply

  21. Valerie
    May 11, 2011 @ 17:34:15

    I love this one. She’s beautiful. Looking forward to getting the magazine. She’s different….maybe it’s the short, curly hair, I really like that.

    Well, done and I look forward to more of your wonderful designs.

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  22. Asea Aranion
    May 12, 2011 @ 09:34:47

    Dear Joan,
    in the name of the members of the russian Crosstitcher’s forum, I beg you to create cavaliers for all these fabulous ladies. As it is said in many fairy-tales, spirits of nature may be males as well! I loved very much your Indian Brave, so you evidently can make lads as spectacular as ladies! ))))

    Reply

    • Alison Zammit
      May 12, 2011 @ 19:22:08

      I simply adore this fairy ! and I definately agree with Asea, Males are needed for these lovely fairies 🙂 …at least a couple pls !

      Reply

  23. Majabel
    May 13, 2011 @ 10:05:43

    Es preciosa, espectacular como siempre, felicidades, Joan

    Reply

  24. JE
    May 13, 2011 @ 17:58:23

    May I add your delicious website to my list link?

    Reply

  25. JE
    May 14, 2011 @ 06:56:53

    Thanks 🙂
    Have a nice day!

    Reply

  26. Christine Wilson
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 19:07:35

    My Cross Stitch Collection magazine arrived today with this pattern in it and it is just lovely! I think this might be my favorite of all the fairies so far! Fabulous!

    Chris from Hanna, Indiana
    See me for q-snap HUGGIES!
    http://www.qsnaphuggies.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

