Christmas in May and a Fun Contest!

Westport California

Heavenly California Coast © Joan A. Elliott

Greetings everyone. Now that I am refreshed from a wonderful week in California (just look at that natural beauty!), thoughts are turning towards designs for Christmas 2011. As you know, the US Cross Stitcher magazine has merged into Crafts & Things and I will no longer be submitting an annual stocking to them. I do want to continue with this idea though and will be getting a new design in the works shortly. To make it more fun and to have a bit of collaboration with all of you, I thought I would open this up and ask you all what you would like to see for this year’s stocking theme. Remember, I did a Christmas angel last year so I would not repeat that particular theme. Santas, Snowmen, Fairies, Winter Scenes, Children, Whimsical, Religious, and so many more choices! Once I get all of your feedback here I will  choose a  winning idea on May 30th and then put all of your names into a pool and choose three winners to receive a free chartpack of the new design. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

71 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrsblocko
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:02:50

    A fairy stocking! That would be brilliant!

    Reply

  2. Dee Weaver
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:07:13

    Oh what a lovely idea!
    Ho hum… what would I like to see…? A fireplace, I think. Burning Yule log, stockings hung up, holly garlands, a tree with baubles and candles, snow piling up oustide the window, and a big squishy armchair just waiting for Santa Claus to sit down while he eats his mince pie. And I’d love to see the fairy off the top of the tree sipping the glass of sherry the children have left out for him.

    Reply

  3. Debbie
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:15:32

    Santa, maybe in workshop, or with large bag of toys placing them under tree.

    Reply

  4. carin
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:18:53

    I would like to see something with gingerbreads !!

    Reply

  5. Bernice
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:47:23

    my wish for aChristmas stocking is fairies

    Reply

  6. Charmaine Borg
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:58:58

    I would love to see Christmas Nativity scene as for me that is the real meaning of Christmas. Well I would content with any design by Joan !

    Reply

  7. Katie
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 17:55:10

    Fairies would be beautiful or a whole fantasy stocking with a dragon too. Some fairies playing around the dragon. I’m sure any idea you come up with will be great though!

    Reply

  8. Stella
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 18:40:01

    For a christmas stocking i would like to see a nutcraker stocking, the very tipical one.
    with the wonderful color palette you work with im sure will look fantastic !

    Reply

  9. Barb Briggs
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 18:51:54

    I would love to see a Christmas Dragon. I think you could do a great looking one!

    Reply

  10. Alison Zammit
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:21:48

    I would love to see baby Jesus, i really would like to see how you imagine him Joan……..In my mind i can already see the finished piece. Happy stitching to all ! X X X

    Reply

  11. Mel
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:29:23

    Joan, glad to hear that you had a great holiday in California. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photo of the coastline.
    The contest is a really wonderful and thanks for asking for our ideas. I would like to see a stocking with children playing in the first snowfall of the season and building a snowman. This is a typical winter scene in Manitoba.
    Wishing you & yours a fabulous week ahead. Take Care!

    Reply

  12. Hev
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:48:21

    Glad you had fun in CA.

    As for the contest, I honestly would like a snow scene stocking. With snowflakes falling. Maybe on blue fabric?

    Reply

  13. Lisa Bergin
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:22:10

    It would be nice to have a stocking either with the little elf like fairies that you did for the UK mags or alternatively the lovely Victorian Christmas style you did for WOXS a couple of years ago that they featured in the centre pages design collection.

    Reply

  14. Sue
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:59:22

    Glad you are refreshed and rested now Joan…what a lovely picture!

    Lots of suggestions for stockings. I suggest maybe a pretty decorated tree, fire in the fireplace and kids looking at it, would be nice. The snow/kids theme sounds great, and the baby Jesus scene would be nice too. Not enough of the true meaning of Christmas is out there to influence our little ones. The Nutcracker or Clara sounds nice. Something for a man would be nice to go with our angels. Not enough guy stockings around.

    Reply

  15. Mary Jane
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 22:34:43

    I’m not a fan of the Santa looking into the manger idea, but would love to see a snowman and some pretty birds, maybe a bunny, around the manger. Or maybe no snowman, but lots of animals worshiping the Baby Jesus. This was fun; thanks for letting us offer ideas!

    Reply

  16. joanelliott
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:03:42

    So many great ideas being offered! My head is now swimming with images… fantastic! Keep them coming 🙂

    Reply

  17. Karen J Patton
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:26:13

    I would love to see the “Snow Queen” on a stocking- all silvery & white with icles made od beads and metallics……….Karen

    Reply

  18. Heidi
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:37:37

    What a beautiful California coast picture!!! Welcome back!

    I LOVE the idea someone suggested of a holiday dragon!! I’m sure anything you come up with will be fabulous though!!

    Reply

  19. pnut
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 01:29:01

    Hi Joan,

    Glad you had a great holiday and love the pic!!!.
    I am from N.Z and we have Xmas in the summertime so to me the ideal xmas scene would be all the family playing on the beach on a beautiful sunny day with flowering pohutukawa trees in the background!!. I know this doesn’t suit everyone who has winter xmas’ so I really like the idea someone else had of the animals gathered around the manger. I stitched your lovely animal birth sampler for my son so could picture what it would look like already!!
    Pnut

    Reply

  20. Sandy T.
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 02:54:04

    I would also love to see anything with fairies. Would also enjoy a family scene (church or home). Whatever you decide to do would be lovely.

    Reply

  21. Ana Norcini
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 03:40:19

    Great idea! fairies would be great. Another suggestion, my daughter would love something with puppies. She loves them.

    Reply

  22. Corrie Jelier
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 05:12:18

    I think it would be wonderful to see a snowy, winter themed woodland fairy surrounded by animals, perhaps on a stocking.

    Reply

  23. Florence B.
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 12:17:05

    )I like too see some Santa’s elves (boys and girls) putting the star on the top of the christmas tree and decorate it with balls and tinsels.
    (hope you can understand my poor english

    Reply

  24. Janie
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 12:55:08

    I would love to see a Christmas Fairy-maybe a pixie maybe decorating her Christmas tree with pixie dust -sparkling around her

    Reply

  25. Sari
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 14:31:17

    I would like it to be fairy themed, kind of Snow Queen in magical forest.

    Reply

  26. Eveline Perdomo
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 15:20:54

    I would love to see a Christmas theme of winter fairys, I have not seen many of them in charts anywhere, I love everything whimsical …..

    Reply

  27. alison
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 17:57:49

    i was also thinking of a christmas fairy queen putting a big shinning sparkly star on the top of a christmas tree with all other little fairy’s decorating the rest of the christmas tree with all woodland animals around the bottom with snow flakes falling all around.
    welcome back Joan, and such a beautifull picture of the coast. it makes me wish i was there as its so cold here in SA.

    Reply

  28. Hesztia
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 19:42:16

    Hi Joan,

    Glad to hear you had a great holiday!

    Lots of ideas to suggest for stockings. Lets see:

    1) A winter forest scenery with trees, snow, lots of snow, snowfall – and Santa with all his wildlife friends – let them enjoy X-mas too as well.

    2) Mr & Mrs Santa in their cozy home with packing all the stuffs for all the naught & nice 🙂 Santa’s stuff optionally 🙂

    3) A cozy room with armchair & X-mas tree, lots of presets below it – one side an opening door with cute little children & dog – on the other side Santa leaving the scene – a glimpse of his presence – a boot in the chimney and a few snowflakes falling through it.

    4) Winter Queen decorating its forest with shiny ice & fluffy snowpatches. Not necessarily on a stocking.

    Reply

  29. Julie Rose
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 20:11:28

    What beautiful scenery, i am so jealous.

    I would love to see a Father Christmas stocking with him giving a present to a couple of children, not the Coca Cola version of Santa but a very traditional Father Christmas, a touch of Victoriana or 50’s styling
    The styling in the UK is very 50’s at the moment which is very fashionable.
    I believe the religious depiction of Christmas would make a beautiful tapestrey.
    I have yet to start the Christmas Angel stocking.
    I am sure whatever you design will be beautiful
    Julie

    Reply

  30. Christy
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 20:55:38

    I think ‘snow’ or ‘frost’ fairies would be beautiful! All shimmering and Winter-Wonderland like. I think the idea of them decorating their tree
    is a very cute one.

    The other idea I like is to make the miracle of Christmas… Jesus… the
    focal point. Maybe an elegant angel to watch over the baby.

    Reply

  31. Joan Robertson
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 02:10:32

    How about a family in front of the tree with the children giving gifts to their moms and dads? Boxes with ribbons, tags that say Mom and Dad, kittens and or puppies with colorful ribbons ,in childrens other arms. It is better to give than receive!

    Reply

  32. Tammy
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 04:12:32

    I would love to see sugar plum fairiies with candy all around them ,that would be a fun design.
    Tammy

    Reply

  33. Caron
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 06:11:16

    Glad to see you had a great holiday Joan! Why not a snow scene with a delicate lady in robes of purple (or red) and white with a forest surrounding her, under the glow of a moon with a cottage faintly seen in the background with glowing lights from the warm fire within. A few little forest creatures to keep the christmas goddess company and twinkling snowflakes with beads to help the flakes glisten? Thanks Joan, I look forward to all of your designs so either way, whatever you create will be fantastic!!

    Reply

  34. Yokasta Ovalle
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 17:04:37

    Definitively, I would like a fairy!

    Reply

  35. Valerie
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 18:06:55

    Hi Joan,

    Glad to hear you’re well rested. Sounds like an exciting project…your Christmas stocking. I’ve read all the suggestions so far and there are some really lovely ones.

    As a fantasy fan, I would go for something fairy-like. I do like the idea of the Snow Queen.

    Or a Santa waving goodbye to his Mrs as he takes off in his sleigh.

    Happy days,

    Valerie
    in Germany

    Reply

  36. Nicole
    May 01, 2011 @ 12:05:46

    I wish a poinsettia fairy !
    Thanks for all your charts Joan ;-)))
    Nicole from France

    Reply

  37. Victoria
    May 01, 2011 @ 12:46:25

    I would like to see a Christmas Fairy in a lovely christmas dress in red and green.

    Reply

  38. Kahlan
    May 01, 2011 @ 13:20:44

    Victorian Christmas scene always works for me.I love traditional red and gold colours.

    Reply

  39. Andrea Shears
    May 01, 2011 @ 14:25:04

    I’d love to see a penguin or kitty stocking that would be awesome!!!!

    Reply

  40. Laura Latino
    May 01, 2011 @ 17:40:26

    Hi Joan, welcome back!! I love the contest idea so here are my suggestions.
    Why not take inspiration from Dickens tale “A Christmas Carol” and picture some whimsical chaps singing carols under a lamplight on a frosty night? I can picture Victorian houses surrounding them.

    I can’t have enough of fairies so whether you opt for a stylish fairy or a cute pixie I would be downright happy :O)

    I know you’ve already come up with Mama Xmas baking cookies and a gingerbread house but I would also like a very colourful stocking with all the traditional sweets.

    I don’t think I’m finished, I may think about something else in the days ahead, just need some time to ponder and will come back here and let you know.

    Love
    Laura :o)))))))))))))))))))

    Reply

  41. joanelliott
    May 01, 2011 @ 17:48:16

    Goodness! ….I may have to do more than one stocking 🙂

    Reply

  42. LauraR
    May 01, 2011 @ 19:13:29

    Baby Penguins and Polar Bears decorating a huge christmas tree.

    Reply

  43. Dee Weaver
    May 01, 2011 @ 21:05:58

    I’m just popping back to say I love the idea of a poinsettia fairy 🙂

    Reply

  44. joanelliott
    May 01, 2011 @ 21:18:38

    I was thinking it would be nice to do a Poinsettia Fairy as a Christmas follow up to the Flower Fairy Series and keep it apart from the stocking. The wheels are turning 🙂

    Reply

    • Dee Weaver
      May 02, 2011 @ 05:08:19

      That’s excellent news!
      I’m collecting the Flower Fairies – we’re up to Rose here in the UK – so a Poinsettia would round off the series beautifully 🙂

      Reply

    • alison
      May 02, 2011 @ 13:04:09

      wow, that sounds like lovely idea, a pointsettia fairy for christmas.

      Reply

  45. Lynda
    May 02, 2011 @ 05:23:14

    I would love to see something whimsical…not sure what exactly – but something that would be perfect for both a child and/or those of us adults who are children at heart. Thanks for asking for our input!

    Reply

  46. Mary E
    May 02, 2011 @ 13:36:57

    I would love to see a Christmas fairy with a santa outfit and a Christmas tree with snow flakes. But I agree whatever Joan comes up with will be fantastic!

    Mary E

    Reply

  47. aflyingneedle
    May 02, 2011 @ 16:31:45

    Hi,

    Like pnut said, I am a Southern hemisphere girl… Australia though…I rarely stitch anything for Christmas that has snow in it..

    I would love a Santa stocking after he gets the six white boomers on board (white male kangaroos a la the Rolf Harris song – http://youtu.be/gosGBYU5vIE ) racing in front on Uluru (Ayers Rock). I know it is very regional but it would be fun… or more fun for me than reindeer.

    Anything is good though!

    Reply

  48. Rike
    May 03, 2011 @ 06:53:46

    Hi Joan,

    thanks to let us be a part of your creativity.

    I would like to see some forest animals (rabbits, dears, owls, …) gathered around in the glittering snow with the Star that guides the Three Wise Men above the Trees and somewhere in the background a barn with light comming out of it.

    I’m looking forward what you come up with.

    Greetings from Germany
    Rike

    Reply

  49. Cindy Hill
    May 04, 2011 @ 06:52:32

    Fairies and santa decorating a pine tree in a forest with the animals

    Reply

  50. Marcia L
    May 04, 2011 @ 12:14:23

    I would like to see the Three Wise Men travelling toward the Star. Also, I liked the suggestion from someone else about the Victorian/Dickens Christmas with carollers.

    Reply

  51. Linda Nougher
    May 05, 2011 @ 00:31:12

    Hi Joan
    I love Green Lady and Rose Lady! How about the Spirit of Christmas done in the same way? -St Nicholas with the winter solstice through to modern Christmas around him? Here’s hoping! Linda

    Reply

  52. Felice E. Krycia
    May 05, 2011 @ 12:56:29

    I would also love to see a Christmas fairy, maybe with Christmas roses or a poinsettia?

    Reply

  53. Stitchy Mc Floss
    May 05, 2011 @ 16:54:10

    I love the “Three Wise Men travelling toward the Star (Marcia L)” idea. Maybe on a dark blue fabric to show the mid-night sky, stars, camels, In the back ground Bethlehem, palm tress….the the light from the bright star leading the way to the Christ child.

    I know what ever you create will be awesome, as all your designs always are. I am so glad you will continue the stocking series. I have almost every single one of your stockings. 🙂

    Reply

  54. Mary Joan
    May 06, 2011 @ 20:03:28

    Hi Joan

    1) I would love you to do a Nativity Scene, showing the shepherds and kings with angels above the stable. And of course the animals, donkey, oxen, sheep and rabbits looking on. In soft shades or strong colours. I know you would choose the right colours for the occasion.

    2) Winter animals playing in the snow. Penguins, Polar Bears, Foxes, Snow Hares, Rabbits and Snowy Owl. Any of these or all together, cute or real. Sledging/tobogganing/snowballs flying/snowmen, just let your imagination go wild.

    What ever you choose to do will be wonderful.

    Reply

  55. Lindsay
    May 10, 2011 @ 17:25:36

    Victorian Christmas Tree (as it is said Albert bought the tradition of a decorated tree from Germany to Britain) with loads of traditional wooden ornaments, candles and garlands. Lots of presents under the tree and children peeping round the door with their faces alight with the magic of Christmas would do it for me. Whatever you design will be brilliant though I am sure.

    Reply

  56. Patti Tyler
    May 11, 2011 @ 01:09:03

    Hello Joan,
    How about a theme of “The Nutcracker” with the Sugar Plum Fairy showing her in a pose from the ballet, with snowflakes made of krenik threads and also krenik threads sewn through the design of the sugar plum fairy so she would sparkle.

    Reply

  57. Nikki
    May 13, 2011 @ 04:49:07

    That’s a gorgeous picture Joan! It looks like it was really nice there.

    I am echoing the sentiment of stocking with a Faery on it. But for something different, why not a Baby’s First Christmas stocking? With traditional baby motifs, pastel or soft colors, etc? Baby could even be an elf to bring it back to the whimsical side.

    I also think a family of gingerbread people decorating a tree would be cute.

    However, whatever you chose is sure to be fantastic =)

    Reply

  58. Sue
    May 15, 2011 @ 00:54:41

    Hello Joan
    I would really like to see a snow/ice faery or angel in the forest or with the Aurora Borialis reflecting the beautiful colours on the snow.
    I am sure whatever you create will be lovely and I am looking forward to it.

    Reply

  59. Dawn
    May 17, 2011 @ 17:28:32

    I would love to see a stained glass window with Celtic symbols surrounding a winter version of the Green Man.

    Reply

  60. Connie Flechler
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:59:03

    I love old time winter scenes and snowman

    Reply

  61. Anemone
    May 21, 2011 @ 17:19:54

    How about a stocking that combines a LOT of those things? What about a whimsical winter scene that includes children & snowmen, with the religious included by maybe a church in the background or on a snowy hill?

    Reply

  62. Maria Kellner
    May 22, 2011 @ 00:18:28

    Hello Ms Elliot,
    I am glad you had a wonderful vacation in California, yes, indeed, we have
    gorgeous beaches . One upon a time,On our 25th Wedding Anniversary; My husband and I spent the most wonderful time in a Bed and Breakfast place in our favorite area, … Monterrey, California .. courtesy of our two grown up children.
    Now, I have an idea for the Xmas Stocking .. simple.. but again .. beautiful ..
    The Nutcracker !! One of my favorite Ballets . Any scene from it or .. the possibilities are enormous . and with your imagination .. It can be just magnificently gorgeous and happy. I can see in my mind .. Clara and her Prince, The backgrounds. just great .. I love the idea.
    Well, let’s have a good life and enjoy it !!
    Love and good health
    Maria

    Reply

  63. Pepper
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:06:45

    A close up of a young child in a crib in front of a moonlight window maybe snow on the windowsills outside etc… with a couple of glittering sparkly fairies sneaking gifts into a large stocking hanging from the crib in the foreground.

    Reply

  64. chiara
    May 27, 2011 @ 12:08:21

    Hi Joan! I love reindeer, why don’t create a very beautiful Santa reindeer? Maybe with glittering bridles and bells, and “shimmering” kreinik snow everywhere!
    with love
    Chiara

    Reply

  65. Denise
    May 29, 2011 @ 03:45:50

    I would love to see a Christmas Carosel Horse!! you can do alot with that. the saddle could have christmas ornaments on it ie tree, candy cane. but on the horses rump perhaps a special snowflake? I can picture a white horse with greens and redd for the mail and tail. oh I hope this gives your some ideas!

    Reply

  66. Denise
    May 29, 2011 @ 03:50:24

    another thought. a Dragon blowing fire to roast chestnuts. of coars with snowflakes. I don’t know why I am thinking snowflakes. I live at sea level in CA (glad you had fun in CA btw). I don’t even like snow. ah well. hope this helps with some ideas.

    Reply

  67. Debbie
    May 30, 2011 @ 21:10:21

    WOW! everyone has such wonderful ideas. I also am collecting the flower fairies and can’t wait to see a poinsettia one.

    We can never get enough of your lovely designs no matter what they are. I love the idea of a christmas fairy design. Looking forward to what you decide.

    Reply

  68. Gina Miller
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 14:56:16

    I’d like a non religious theme, but to me, there is nothing more Christmassy than a sillouette of Santa and reindeer flying against a night sky over snowy rooftopped, warm and glowing houses decorated with lights and christmas trees.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

