Poppy Fairy

Poppy Fairy

Poppy Fairy © Joan A.Elliott Photo Courtesy of Cross Stitch Collection

Here is the third  design in the Flower Fairy Series for Cross Stitch Collection, the Poppy Fairy. You’ll find her in preview in the current issue 194 and the chart will be ready for you in Issue 195 in March. When we bought our first home in Vermont it was winter time and little did I know that come spring the lawn would burst into bloom with rows and rows of the most incredible red poppies. Every year I made sure to time our visits so that I wouldn’t miss the spectacular display. When we left that spot for another, I took several of the poppies with me and they now thrive in my perennial bed along the stream. Poppies are the flower of remembrance so I’ve pictured this fairy in a thoughtful, gentle pose surrounded by the brilliant velvet petals of one of my favorite flowers. She is stitched on Polstitches wonderful ‘summer breeze’ Jobelan and has lots of lovely Kreinik threads and Mill Hill beads to add to the magic.

I’ve put the supply list up on the Floss & Embellishments page, at right, so you can start to gather things early. Enjoy!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 19:55:31

    That is beautiful!
    I guess I better get sorted so I can start on this one when it comes out as well!

    Reply

  2. Carol
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 19:58:10

    Another stunning design Joan. I really hoped for a Poppy design and this really is a great one. Just waiting for the supply list to appear then I will be in my stash so fast.

    Reply

  3. Mel
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:22:32

    Another beautiful design Joan. Wishing You & Yours a fabulous week ahead!

    Reply

  4. Charlie
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:25:31

    Just Beautiful, Joan!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:29:31

      Hi Charlie!
      Thank you so much. I am glad you like her. I’m having a great time with this series combining cross stitch design and flowers… two of my favorite things!

      Reply

  5. Andrea
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:43:43

    I think this is my favorite of the flower fairies so far. They are really great and on my to do list as well. Unfortunately, I can’t do everything at once. 😉

    Reply

  6. Charmaine
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:03:14

    Another fantastic design Joan! Can’t wait to start the flower fairies.

    Reply

  7. Charmaine
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:04:08

    Another fantastic design Joan!
    Keep it up(:

    Reply

  8. cindy Hill
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 21:23:40

    Thanks I have the floss details and going to look for the tread in my stash. I can not wait to stitch her

    Reply

  9. Louise Edwards
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 22:26:24

    Oh!! She is absolutely lovely. Poppies mean a lot to my husband so this will be a lovely addition to my collection (not that I need an excuse!!)

    Reply

  10. Maryanne McDowell
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 23:15:50

    Absolutely stunning Joan! You never fail to surprise me with your wonderful designs! I’m about to start The Earth Goddess! I’m a Virgo and I have curly hair so it was a must do for me! Ps I will send you some pics of my work as you requested as soon as I have the pics as most of my work is in the UK and I’m not sure when I’m back there visiting yet. X

    Reply

  11. Heidi
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 00:08:44

    Fantabulastic! :o)))

    Reply

  12. Stephanie
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 01:36:44

    My brain just exploded trying to figure out a realistic stitching schedule so I can get all of the designs done that I want!
    I love the dress on this one, plus she had my hair. 😀 I think it’s my favorite so far. But I keep saying that…

    Reply

  13. Eveline
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 03:54:47

    OMG she is beautiful, I can’t wait till she’s out in the magazine

    Reply

  14. Laura Latino
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 07:34:08

    She’s so beautiful Joan!!! I still can’t make up what’s my favourite yet!!!

    Reply

  15. alison
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 16:46:55

    Dear Joan, thank you for these beautifull designs. She is stunning! i cant wait to see the next 3. These designs or should i say all your designs are an addiction to me, i just want to see and stitch them all and i cant wait to see what else you have in store for us. Thank you again!

    Reply

  16. Alison Zammit
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 18:24:05

    Your designs are all Stunning !! WELL DONE TO YOU !!! You are my favourite designer ever. THANK YOU 🙂 …for all these wonderful fairies, for now i will collect all six then i will choose which one to start first… it’s already hard to choose from these first set of 3…wonder how difficult it will be when all 6 will be out !
    X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X

    Reply

  17. Monika Janis
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 18:46:52

    Dear Joan
    You are giving me a lot of joy and happiness to stitch yor wonderful angels and fairies. I have had as a gift to my mother your Christmas Angel from last year on CS she was so happy.
    Now I am stitching the fairy spring from CSC…I am slowly but I am planning to stitch all your wonderful angels and fairies…
    Thanks Joan for giving us the opportunity to stitch your wonderful projects.
    My favourte is Iris fairy so beautiful colours.
    Thanks Joan!
    With love
    Monika Janis (Germany)

    Reply

  18. cindy Hill
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 15:11:43

    I have all the fabric and thread for this one. nearly done daffodil fairy and then Iris fairy is nexts

    Reply

  19. Julie (Julie's Cross Stitch)
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 16:45:35

    Hi Joan,

    I just cam across your Blog today and wanted to tell you how wonderful your stitching is!! I am a fan of the fairies series too.

    Have a wonderful day and keep up the great cross stitch!!

    -Julie

    Reply

  20. heather
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 16:53:40

    Beautiful What is the next design going to be? Can’t wait !!

    Reply

  21. Juanita Roodt
    May 30, 2011 @ 16:32:28

    I am absolutely loving stitching Poppy Fairy. You have so many beautful designs. Just thought to mention that I have noticed that 1 x 025 krenink thread is not enough for Poppy. I checked with another fellow stitcher as I thought I was doing something wrong but she also had to purchase a second spool.

    Thank you for keeping our stitching so interesting for us.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      May 30, 2011 @ 16:43:35

      Hi Juanita-

      Thanks for noting that Poppy Fairy will take 2 spools of Kreinik 025. I’ve updated the info on the Floss & Embellishments page.

      Reply

  22. Cathy Arams
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 05:14:40

    How and where can I find and purchase this pattern?
    Please email me dmbooks@shaw.ca

    Reply

Leave a Reply

