On the Town

I have a new series of vintage ladies starting in Issue 81 of Cross Stitch Gold. There will be three different sophisticated city gals dressed to the nines and out for a stroll along the avenues and boulevards of the world’s most famous cities. Take a walk through vintage London with the first in the series. This commission was great fun to work on. I loved researching the fashions of the 20’s and 30’s and all the wonderful styles of the times not to mention how I love visiting and have such wonderful memories of London, a city  buzzing with life. Two more ladies will follow throughout this year. Can you guess what cities they will be from?

 

London Lady

London Lady © Joan A. Elliott photo courtesy of Origin Publishing, Ltd.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire Skogstjärna
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 21:04:39

    New York & Paris…. ???
    Lovely design! Might have to add this series to my list of designs to stitch.

    /Máire

    Reply

  2. Jennie
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 22:59:55

    Ooh gorgeous! I’m guessing New York and Paris.

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 23:08:30

    Paris and New York are the two I would say. I got my Cross stitch magazine yesterday with this design in, which was a lovely surprise!

    Reply

  4. Leonie
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 04:08:05

    Simply gorgeous! This is definitely on the must stitch list! Can’t wait to see the mag when it hits the shelves in Australia! My guess for the other two cities would be Rome and Paris.

    Reply

  5. Andie
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 05:08:07

    Oh gorgeous!!! Definetly adding to my wishlist 😀

    Reply

  6. Lisa Bergin
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 09:17:36

    Love it, Joan. I just need an extra pair of hands to stitch all your wonderful designs.

    Reply

  7. Louise Edwards
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 12:27:42

    I woul have to guess at Paris and possibly New York or Rome

    Reply

  8. Janie
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:52:38

    My guess would also have been New york and Paris!
    Lovely lady!
    Janie

    Reply

  9. Heidi
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:14:39

    FANTASTIC!!! Drooling all over the keyboard here! Congrats Joan! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Laura Latino
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 07:16:21

    Rome of course, since I am from Rome ;O)
    and New York or Berlin….don’t really like Paris that much

    Reply

  11. Alison
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:37:41

    lovely design, my guess would also be Paris and New York.

    Reply

  12. Pia Alexander
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 07:26:13

    I love the These Vintage designs especially the Art Deco preriod so this is right up my Street Is there any beading in this design ? The colours really standout I love the hues of Pink and Turquoise/ green

    My Guess Would be Paris and New York or Possibly Rome

    Reply

  13. heather
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 14:17:29

    I have just bought cross stitch gold today The design is beautiful On my to do list with daffodil fairy!

    Reply

  14. Jillann
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 22:38:27

    I don’t suppose one of the cities would be Minneapolis MN? Since that’s where I live…..

    Reply

  15. Andrea
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 00:14:23

    Really wish I could get the mag here. I just love the design.

    Reply

  16. Yokasta Ovalle
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 01:03:30

    Hi Joan,
    You’ve outdone yourself with these latest designs. How can you be so creative?!!! I love them both. I agree with the fellow stitcher that stated the need of an extra pair of hands to stitch (I would say an octopus would come in handy!). My best guess of the cities would be: Paris and New York (I grew up there). Until later…

    Reply

  17. Heidi
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 04:19:37

    I’ve now subscribed to CSG because of you! LOL

    Reply

  18. joanelliott
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:14:37

    The other two cities are New York and Paris but I love the idea of Rome, Berlin, and of course Minneapolis 😉

    Reply

  19. Heidi
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 18:17:07

    Any chance you’ll do more of these then?? 😉 😉 😉

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 18:42:48

      I would love to do some more, probably as new chartpacks. Maybe Rome, Berlin, Hong Kong?

      Reply

      • Heidi
        Apr 04, 2011 @ 05:45:24

        Oh gosh! That’d be AWESOME!! You must have a bazillion designs rolling around in your head! It’s inspiring how you get them down in designs!

  20. Mary Ellen McNutt
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 22:50:20

    I have completed the London and New York Ladies and . wonder. when the Paris Lady will be available? I have received the February 2012, “Cross Stitch Gold” and the Paris lady was not in it. When will it be available and is it possible to buy the pattern before publication. I would like to finish the set. They are so very beautiful.

    Mary Ellen

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 23:11:36

      Hi MaryEllen-
      The Paris Lady was in the magazine earlier in 2011. I’m afraid I can’t remember what issue but it was 80 something.
      I have this available as a chartpack if you are interested. Cost is $12 plus shipping. You’ll need to email me if you would like to order. My email is jelliottdesign@earthlink.net

      Reply

Leave a Reply

