Coming In January

A little Christmas Eve surprise for you. I am happy to introduce  my Daffodil Fairy, the first in a new series of six flower fairies for Cross Stitch Collection. She will be out on January 19th in Issue #193. I’ll post a supply list next week some time. Right now I’m off to take care of a few last minute Christmas chores. Enjoy!

Daffodil Fairy

Daffodil Fairy © Joan A. Elliott

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Máire Skogstjärna
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 14:38:14

    I LOVE it Joan!!!!! April child that I am DAFFs are one of my favorite flowers.
    I will have to keep an eye out for that mag when it comes to Sweden… 😀
    thanks!!!
    /Máire

    Reply

  2. Lisa Bergin
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 14:59:00

    Love it, and I think I may have the fabric it is stitched on already in my stash, so come January 19th I could be stitching this one. It is beautiful.

    Reply

    • Carol
      Jan 05, 2011 @ 15:22:37

      Hi Lisa,

      Which material do you think Joan has used for this design? it’s definitely a Polestitches fabric like fairy dreams. I am checking each day for the supply list.

      Carol.

      Reply

  3. Alison Zammit
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 17:59:55

    This is Fantastic Joan Thank you so much she is the first gift i recieved and I love her !! I’m still stitching your Christmas Angel but this Daffodil Fairy will be in my to do list of course !! … Oh i will be waiting eagerly for Cross stitch collection to arrive here in Malta ! Happy Christmas and Thank you once more for the preview and the lovely design !!!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cindy Hill
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 19:59:05

    I love this one as its my birth fairy for march with the daffodils

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 01:35:08

    Oh yes, just what I needed, another lovely design to covet and try to work into my stitching schedule! 😀

    I just started the seasonal fairies, so you know I’m going to have to get these too…just to round out the fairy collection of course. It is too beautiful. You have such creativity, and I have fallen in love with your designs. I’m a huge fan of the fantasy type cross stitch patterns, and you are feeding my addiction.

    Reply

  6. Alison
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 09:49:05

    wow, i absolutly love it, cant wait to get my issue!

    Reply

  7. Stella
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 22:45:18

    this is very lovely joan ! i love it and look forward for the magazine to come out … , thank you !

    Reply

  8. Sharon
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 04:00:46

    She’s superb!!! Thank-you Joan for creating another wonderful design! Can’t wait to start it and am looking forward to the whole collection!!!!

    Thanks again.

    Reply

  9. mel
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 20:11:09

    She is truly beautiful Joan, just stunning. Wishing You & Your Family a Very Happy New Year. All the best!

    Reply

  10. Stephanie
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 22:40:25

    Ack! I just realized my subscription starts with the March issue. LOL! Guess I’ll have to order this one individually when it is available. 🙂

    Reply

  11. babs
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 22:40:40

    Hello Joan,

    I’m really loving this one aswell. I started stitching the Summer Fairy last year and it’s finally finished and framed. Now I might have a stupid question, very stupid because one of the fairies is allready finished, I guess…

    I’m pretty new into stitching and you fairy was the first one I stitched with beads. I didn’t really found what to do with it in the magazine, so I’m asking it directly to you.

    Do you stitch the beads on the fabric, or do you put a cross stitch under it before you stitch the beads on? I work like this: do all the cross stitches, do all the normal backstitches, then the kreinik backstitches follow, afterwards beads and then the french knots.

    Thanks a lot, Babs

    btw, here can you see my progress and frame for the summer fairy, I clicked them out 😀

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 22:17:05

      Hi Babs-
      I do not put a cross stitch under the beads as I think it looks too bulky. Just stitch the beads straight on the fabric wherever they are indicated on the chart. It sounds like you are doing well with your stitching and your order of stitching is perfect, leaving the more delicate bits for the end.

      Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 02, 2011 @ 22:24:44

      Just looked at your finish of the Summer Fairy. What a perfect job you have done. Thank you!
      Joan

      Reply

  12. Asea Aranion
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 05:51:12

    Ahhh, she’s beautiful!!! So we are going to have Flower Fairies Series? It would be wonderful to see Lilies Fairy ^^

    Reply

  13. Heidi
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 21:34:25

    Beautiful!! An exciting new series to collect! Thank you for such wonderful designs! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Carol
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 10:34:13

    I just can’t wait to stitch this one the yellow colours look really great and I’ve been trying to guess which fabric you have used. I’m eager for the supply list to be posted so that I can start putting the materials together for this one. It’s exciting to think their are 5 more of these flower fairy’s to come. Your work is so inspiring!

    Reply

  15. carin
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 19:29:16

    Is there anywhere a supplies list to be found? I’m curious about what fabric you used.

    Reply

  16. joanelliott
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 19:56:48

    The supply list for The Daffodil Fairy is up on my Project Floss and Embellishments Lists

    🙂

    Reply

  17. carin
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 20:04:20

    Thanks Joan !! I’m going to order the supplies 🙂
    Can’t wait to see the 5 others, hope there is going to be a rose or lavender fairy.

    Reply

  18. Cindy Hill
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 07:54:59

    I have have way through this design and can’t wait for the iris fairy.

    Reply

  19. Barbara
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 23:11:09

    I’m new to your blog due to the Bernina Software Sampler coming up next week. I work at my Bernina dealer and am in awe of your designs. What magazine are you referring to issue #193? I think the Flower Fairies are the most beautiful designs I’ve seen.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 09, 2011 @ 23:16:48

      Hi Barbara-
      Welcome! I am so glad you’ve found me through the Bernina Sampler. I work with a lot of the British cross stitch magazines and my flower fairies are in one called Cross Stitch Collection.

      Reply

  20. Barbara
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 23:16:42

    Will we be able to buy the Flower Fairy patterns anywhere here in the US? I attended the Bernina Software lesson, have purchased your card book and am working through Amanda’s software lesson using one of your beautiful flower designs. I would love to buy the Flower Fairy patterns, but do not have a subscription to Cross Stitch Collection.
    Fingers crossed and hoping!

    Barbara

    Reply

    • Lynn H
      Feb 27, 2011 @ 08:05:26

      Hi, You can find CrossStitch Collection here in the States at places like “Barnes and Nobles” and “Books a Million”. I just picked up Issue 192 with the Daffodil Fairy and I am definitely in love with this series. The preview of the Iris Fairy is just gorgeous and The Poppy fairy has such rish colors.
      Joan thank you so much for all your hard work. You are quickly becoming an obsession with me as your designs are just what I love.

      Reply

      • Barbara
        Feb 27, 2011 @ 23:06:44

        Thank you, Lynn! I did try our “rinky dink” BOM in Ft. Walton and they didn’t have it.
        I will go to Destin and try the big BOM and Barnes and Noble. Wish me luck….I’m so excited.

        Barbara

  21. Lynn H
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 00:24:26

    Barbara, Good Luck, You might want to ask the magazine person at your local Books a Million if they can start getting CrossStitch Collections They are pretty good about trying though it might take them some time. It’s probably my favorite cross stitch magazine….Lynn

    Reply

  22. Erica
    May 02, 2011 @ 06:54:57

    Thanks for this great design, I love it.
    I stitched it in 3 months, and it’s finished now.
    It’s waiting for hang on the wall now 🙂

    I collect all the great designs from Cross Stitch
    Collection, which I buy every month.

    Now I’m working on the second one, and I
    love to do it, superrr.

    Great designs, love them !

    Hugs from Holland, in Europe.
    Erica

    Reply

Leave a Reply

