A Magical Winter’s Ride

 


Frost Cherub

Frost Cherub © Joan A. Elliott

Oh my it’s cold outside! It was 0º when I woke this morning here in Vermont. The sky portends some snow on the way, streams are frozen and the chickadees are busy gobbling up all the seeds they can from the feeder. I still think there is a particular beauty to the winter landscape when we discover things that were previously hidden behind the lush greens of summer and flaming colors of autumn. As a celebration of this time of year and  for the new year  soon to come I’ve  designed a joyful cherub on his frosty ride through the winter sky, just out in issue 172 of The World of Cross Stitching. Stitch this design on Polstitches ‘daybreak’ hand dyed 28HPI Jobelan to add a special dreamy touch to your finished work. There are lots of sparkling threads and beads for wintry accents too. He rides on  a magical white deer resplendent with magnificent silver antlers and twinkling stars all around.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 16:42:21

    Its a really lovely design Joan. Looking forward to all your new designs in 2011.

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 18:02:58

    This is gorgeous and I’ve already ordered the fabric and threads for it so I can stitch it over the christmas period. You are so talented!

    Reply

  3. Barb Briggs
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 19:06:28

    Love the new design! It will be great for the new year.

    Reply

  4. Vanessa
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 01:31:11

    I just LOVE that deer!!!

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 11:03:33

    So sweet Adorable

    Reply

  6. Laura Latino
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 17:37:28

    It’s lovely, Joan. Definitely a must stitch :O)

    Reply

  7. mel
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 15:14:10

    It’s so Beautiful, Joan. A must stitch over the holidays!

    Reply

  8. Valerie
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:13:01

    It’s gorgeous.

    I live in Germany but my Mum, who is in England gets me the magazines when your designs are in them. I am a big fan of your work and I’ve just re-discovered my love of cross stitch and will, over Christmas and into the New Year start stitching some of your wonderful designs.

    Keep up the good work, all the best and loads of success for the New Year!

    Valerie

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:26:04

      Thanks to everyone! I agree that this seems just the right size for a nice little project for over the holidays. It’s hard to believe that 2011 is so close at hand. I am completing a few magazine commissions over the next two weeks that will start appearing in spring. I loved working on this joyful design and just wanted to let you all know that I will have lots of new things for you in the new year.

      With warmest wishes-
      Joan

      Reply

      • Lisa Bergin
        Dec 15, 2010 @ 10:18:08

        Hi Joan , On the note of new designs I see in the back of the current issue of Cross Stitch Gold there is a preview of your 1930’s lady is this a start of a series? I do hope so 🙂

  9. joanelliott
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 12:18:30

    Yes, I’ll post a picture of this first lady soon. I’m working on the next one in the series right now!
    🙂

    Reply

    • Charmaine
      Dec 19, 2010 @ 09:37:50

      Hi Joan,
      can’t wait for the new series in collection. Meanwhile will the new series in Cross Stitch Gold be a consecutive one or do we have to wait for each issue ?I wish you and your family a festive season and all the best of health for 2011.

      Reply

      • joanelliott
        Dec 19, 2010 @ 14:46:31

        Hi Charmaine-
        As far as I know, the new series in Cross Stitch Gold will not be consecutive but spaced throughout the year. I’ll double check with them and let you know if they have changed plans for the release dates. I will be finishing up the last of the three ladies over the holidays.

        Best of everything for a most Joyous Holiday Season!
        Joan

  10. Laura Latino
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 07:23:38

    and another series is announced to be starting soon on Cross stitch Collection. any hints? ;O)

    Reply

  11. joanelliott
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 10:58:22

    I’m afraid the magazine has to let the cat out of the bag before I do…
    🙂

    Reply

    • Vanessa
      Dec 16, 2010 @ 18:43:32

      While we’re talking about new stuff – any plans for a new book in the not too distant future???

      Reply

      • joanelliott
        Dec 18, 2010 @ 00:17:36

        I’m not quite sure what happened over at David & Charles but they don’t do as many cross stitch books as they used to. I have another publisher I am working with but can’t reveal anything just yet. Aside from that, I plan on concentrating on new designs for chartpacks and kits in 2011. I have a long ‘to do’ list thanks to all the wonderful suggestions from all of you and now that life is beginning to return to normal here at home I am looking forward to developing lots of new ideas!

  12. Laura Latino
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:04:28

    WOW!! That sounds exciting :O)

    Reply

  13. Melanie Rowe
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 14:16:28

    There’s a preview pic of what looks like a daylily fairy in the latest Cross Stitch Collection; is she part of a new series, flower fairies maybe? 🙂

    Reply

  14. joanelliott
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 23:28:17

    Hi Melanie-
    I don’t have the magazine yet but I think it must be my Jonquil Fairy that you’ve seen. Yes, she’s the first in the new series for Collection. I’ll be posting a photo soon.

    Reply

  15. Jane Parkes
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 14:36:33

    Hi Joan
    thank you so much for the lovely design of Christmas Angel.
    It was absolutely gorgeous, look forward to the next christmas designs
    Wishing you and your family a wonderful Christmas and a
    Very Happy New Year
    Love Jane xx

    Reply

  16. Lisa Bergin
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 17:22:25

    Hi Joan,

    Just got my new copy of Cross Stitch Collection and seen the preview of what they are calling the Daffodil Fairy, it is truly stunning and yet another design I will have to add to my ever growing stitching list. If the remainder of this series are as good as this first one, I think it might be your best series yet. Hope you have a great Christmas and New Year 🙂

    Reply

  17. Carolyn Coffey
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 16:03:23

    I am just now seeing this cherub chart. I see it was out in 2010. I don’t seem to be able to find where I might purchase this chart., I would very much like to stitch this for this Christmas 2013, Can you tell me of a supplier or where could purchase this chart. Thanks for all the help.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 14, 2013 @ 16:06:44

      This is available as a chart pack through me and the online shops I distribute to. If you have an LNS tell them to contact me if you would rather order through them.

      Reply

  18. Meg
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 16:00:29

    Love this design Joan.Hope all’s well with you and yours.

    Reply

  19. Shelli
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 15:24:16

    Dear Ms. Joan,

    I’ve just discovered the world of cross-stitch and found your blog through a Google search. You can be sure I bookmarked it for future reference! My favorite so far is this delightful image of a cherub and white deer.

    I’m more a fan of stitching fantasy animals than human figures, to be honest. I do so love how you designed this deer with his long flowing antlers and the slim athletic shape of his body and the stars all around him. I might try to order this issue of the magazine and attempt the design without the cherub. If that is okay with you, the designer. 🙂

    Or could I perhaps ask for a future design with just the deer? He looks so magical and elegant, and I think he would look even more so on his own. Alternatively, I would deerly (haha!) love a similar design that looks like this but with a unicorn subject maybe instead of a deer? I am seeing more designs lately with unicorns that are sort of deer-like in body rather than horse-like. It gives them a Renaissance feeling, in my opinion, when they are drawn so slim and elegant. I would love to try to capture that in cross-stitch.

    Well thank you for listening to me jabber on. I’ll be following your blog and I look forward to your future designs!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 15, 2014 @ 22:27:24

      Hi Shelli-
      If you like i can do up a chart pack for you of just the deer. Let me know if you would be interested.

      Joan

      Reply

      • Shelli
        Jul 24, 2014 @ 23:03:09

        Oh wow! That would be so wonderful, Joan! I would really love that! 🙂 When you have time of course, there’s no rush. I’m honored that you would do the extra work just for one person’s rather random request. 🙂 Thank you!

      • Shelli
        Dec 14, 2014 @ 00:15:52

        Hi Joan,

        I’ve been so busy this year that I completely forgot about this until I was cleaning my emails today. If you are still interested in doing a chartpack of this piece without the cherub, I would still love to purchase it. 🙂 Thank you so much and happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

