So Lovely!

I received a most wonderful email this week. A while back Karen asked if she could use the design ‘Wisdom’, from my book Oriental Odyssey, to create a special quilt for her niece. Just this past week she sent me a photo of the finished quilt and I was so delighted with her interpretation that I wanted to share it with all of you. Most exciting is that she won ‘Best of Show’  at the county fair for her beautiful work. Congratulations and thank you Karen!

 

Wisdom

©image and Lady Wisdom Quilt by Karen Owsley / from an original design ©Joan A. Elliott

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 12:58:59

    Love this quilt you are so talented I always wanted to make one

    Reply

  2. joanelliott
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 13:16:04

    This beautiful quilt has inspired me! I am hoping to make some quilt patterns of my Asian designs available in the not too distant future.

    Reply

  3. Vanessa
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 20:15:31

    That’s simply gorgeous!!! I wish I had the talent for quilting… =)

    Reply

  4. Sonja
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 06:09:35

    Wow, thats looking great. Thanks that you have shown us this beautiful work.

    Reply

  5. mel
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 15:26:21

    Beautiful quilt. Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

    Reply

  6. Sarah Greiner
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:07:07

    Wow, Karen, that is gorgeous and you did such a lovely job on it too! I’m totally not surprised you won best in show. And I think it’s fabulous that it was inspired by Joan’s designs, which have in turn inspired her back. I think it’ll be exciting to see what is to come!

    Joan – thanks for sharing this, it’s sooo pretty! I’m pretty sure I have most of your geisha patterns . . . . ah if only I had a 72 hour day . . . but this makes me want to stitch that one too! lol

    Reply

  7. Lindsay
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 19:03:44

    Wow. This is a lovely quilt. I have also seen one of Joan’s ladies done in blackwork too. These designs are inspirational to many it seems, and quite rightly too. Lindsay (UK)

    Reply

  8. Laurylyan
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 09:52:23

    This is such a beautiful quilt! 🙂
    Congratulations to the lucky recipient of such a gift! And congratulations to you, Joan, to have your design chosen and adapted.

    Simply beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

