A Sad Day

Dearest Friends-

My dear brother Bill passed away after a hard fought struggle with melanoma for almost two years. Your kind words and prayers for his recovery were so appreciated during this entire ordeal. I thank all of you from the bottom of my heart. Our family was by his side at home when he left us and he will forever live in our hearts.

We thank all of his doctors and the support staff at The Monter Cancer Center that eased him through many days of treatment. My brother expressed his wish  that everyone  become aware of the warning signs and preventative measures for melanoma. Please visit the Melanoma Research Foundation for more information.

Joan

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita Agius
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 13:13:53

    you and your family have my deepest sympathy may God be with you in this time of need

    Reply

  2. Hev
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 13:42:22

    You & your family have my deepest sympathy. All of you will be in my prayers & my thoughts during this time.

    Reply

  3. Teresa Boyer
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 15:27:44

    I am so sorry for your loss. I have also lost a sibling, and it is really tough. Hang in there – will be praying for you.

    Reply

  4. olga
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 17:48:28

    so sorry for your loss ((hugs)), you and your family are in my prays……….cancer is a terrable disease, i lost my father in january after a 7 yr battle with cancer……….(((hugs)))
    luv from olga. (uk)

    Reply

  5. Máire Skogstjärna
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:02:49

    You and your family have my deepest sympathy. May you find peace and solace in God’s arms. All of you will be in my prayers.

    Reply

  6. Lindsay
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 18:58:42

    I am so sorry to hear the news about your brother. My thoughts are with you and your family at this very sad time.

    Reply

  7. Janie
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:13:28

    How sad for you Joan. Our prayers are with you and your family. My MIL died this summer only a few weeks after her husband. She had colon cancer and because her husband died her surgery was postponed for a few weeks. But even with the surgery and maybe because of it she passed away in terrible pain. We found out that it had metastised to her spine and other areas of her body. At least we can take comfort that our loved ones are no longer in pain. But missing them never ends-there will always be a hole in our hearts. She was an amazing person.
    Take care Joan and if you believe in God , may He be by your side through this troubled time.
    Hugs
    Janie

    Reply

  8. Rebecca
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 02:06:02

    My deepest sympathy’s are with you and your family in this sad time. You are in my prayers.

    Rebecca

    Reply

  9. Joanna
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 03:05:15

    I’m so sorry.

    Reply

  10. Laura
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 06:34:08

    May God be with you and your family, Joan. I know how hard it is to see the people we love die and a brother must be heartbreaking. My father died last year after 8 years fight against cancer and lots of treatments. Your presence as he passed away must be a great consolation for you all, knowing that he was not alone. My prayers are devoted to you and his soul.
    Hugs
    Laura

    Reply

  11. Caron
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 11:15:01

    Joan it is very sad to hear that your brother, Bill, has now passed away. I’m sure he put up the best fight he could and would want you to remember the happy times and the joy you all had together throughout your lives. You have my heartfelt co-mhothachadh (sympathy) and co-chaoineadh (condolence). Warm hug and best wishes, Caron

    Reply

  12. Lisa
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 12:19:05

    So sorry to hear of the loss of your brother. My deepest sympathy’s are with you and your family at this very sad time.

    Reply

  13. Meari
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 20:31:11

    My condolences on your family’s loss. 😦

    Reply

  14. Shelleen
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 22:21:17

    I am so sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  15. Jo
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 07:27:00

    To a dearest of friends I wish my hug was’t a virtual one!

    Hugs as always
    Jo
    xx

    Reply

  16. myranda
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 11:30:08

    I’m sorry to hear what happened to your brother. Wish you all the best in this difficult time to come. Miranda

    Reply

  17. Mel
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 14:36:17

    Joan my deepest condolences to you and your family. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Take Care.

    Reply

  18. Heidi
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 02:40:33

    Oh Joan…….I’m so sorry to hear of your family’s loss. You will all be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  19. Hesztia
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 17:41:35

    You and your family have my deepest sympathy.

    Wish you strength and quite times to process all the lost after this long fight and keep all the happy memories of him now as your brother have found his final peace.

    Reply

  20. Rosanna
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 21:40:07

    I’m so sorry for your loss. My sincere condolences to you and your family

    Reply

  21. Terri Gordon
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 18:02:10

    My sincere sympathy for the loss of your dear brother. Know that he will always be with you. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this trying time.

    Reply

  22. Emma
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 14:38:06

    With deepest sympathy and thinking of you and your family at this sad time

    Reply

  23. Sandy T.
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 03:08:23

    My sincerest sympathies. May God watch over you and your family in your time of sadness.

    Reply

  24. Laura
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 12:47:51

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Joan…I was diagnosed with stage 3 melanoma last year…I know what your brother went through and it is a terrible disease…

    Reply

  25. Yokasta Ovalle
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 20:15:46

    Joan,
    I’m deeply sorry for your lost. My mother died a few years back from cancer. I know how hard an illness so severe can affect lives. My symphaties.
    Yokasta

    Reply

  26. Sofia
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 11:32:49

    Please accept my deepest condolences…

    Sofia
    Russia, Ural

    Reply

  27. Rachel
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 02:08:22

    I was very sorry to read your sad news about your brother. My heart goes out to you and your family. Hugs and best wishes, Rach xxxx

    Reply

  28. Sarah Greiner
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 02:27:20

    My condolences to you and your family during this very difficult time.

    Reply

  29. Maria Kellner
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 00:38:03

    Dear Joan,
    Loosing a beloved brother, sister, or anyone dear to our hearts, is simply devastating, I still miss my Mother, and.. ( she has been gone since I was 12 years old,) specially when one needs support during times of worries, in this modern life. I think of her and get consollation just by doing it, one also remembers their wise words and again they restore hope in our hearts. I am so sorry,
    Life is good.
    Maria

    Reply

  30. Rosemarie Pierce
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 03:37:38

    Dearest Joan, You are a very brave person. Thank you for sharing such private details about your brother and the perils of his cancer. My heart goes out to you and your family. Your brother is now whole.
    We love you very much. I have about eight “Joan Elliotts” waiting in the wings to stitch and NOW the daffodil one, oh my goodness! Continue to design in your brother’s name. God Bless YOU and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

