June Notes

As we look forward to  the  warmer weather our thoughts turn to  the pleasant times we can now spend outside. What a delight it would be to stroll down a quiet country lane with some friends. Now out in the latest issue of the World of Cross Stitching (#166), my country girl and her gaggle of geese seem just right to lead the way.

Country Girl

Girl with Geese copyright Joan A. Elliott

Also with this issue you will receive a booklet  containing a selection of  35 designs gathered from all of my books. They come to you with compliments of David and Charles, The World of Cross Stitching, and myself!

WOCX Chart Book

©Photo courtesy of Origin Publishing, Ltd.

In Cross Stitch Gold issue 76 you will see my Tree of Life. As many of you know, I love nature, watching birds, and seeing deer, fox, and raccoons (not to mention a bear feasting on a fallen limb of ripening apples and  a moose eating my azaleas!) when we spend time in Vermont. The tree of life encompasses all those experiences and more. These days, I think it’s especially important  to recognize the dignity of all living creatures and celebrate their existence.

Tree of Life

Tree of Life © Joan A. Elliott

Cross Stitch Collection issue #185 has my Swirling Peacock design. Inspired by the beautiful movement of the designs from the Art Nouveau era, this jeweled creature  takes us on a delightful flight of fancy.

Peacock

Swirling Peacock © Joan A. Elliott

Coming next week…

I will be releasing the chartpack of  the Unicorn & Maiden towards the end of next week. Shipping will start on June 26th.

Unicorn & Maiden

Unicorn & Maiden ©Joan A. Elliott JE015

I love this time of year when I scramble to find time to putter in the garden. All the veggies are finally planted and foxglove, poppies, and iris are in bloom. What a delight to see the world burst into the lavish colors of early summer!

Here’s a pick from last week’s visit to Vermont. I am convinced there must be fairies in there somewhere. Perhaps hiding in all the weeds!

My Garden

June Delight © Joan A. Elliott

To all of my friends ‘downunder’ and elsewhere in the Southern Hemisphere that are now in  the winter season, I send you warm thoughts and hope all this talk of gardening will ward off some of the winter chill.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ordinarybutinteresting
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 02:17:00

    Miss Joan your Tree of Life and Swirling Peacock designs are SPECTACULAR!

    Enjoy your summer with your fingers in the dirt (but please clean them off before you boot up the computer)!

    Judy

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 02:41:10

      Thank you, dear! I’m ready for my two months of dirty summer fingernails. Have a great weekend!
      X Joan

      Reply

      • ordinarybutinteresting
        Jun 18, 2010 @ 02:46:41

        You too! Saturday I’m attending a garden workshop…Sunday I’ll be breaking nails and creating sore muscles while I spend hours doing yardwork (finish final path mebbe?) and morning glory vine untangling and weaving.

        Ahh…happiness to the max!

  2. Lisa Bergin
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 07:32:00

    Love the gaggle of geese picture, it reminds me of childrens book illustrations which I am very fond of. Looking forward to the Tree of life design in the next Cross Stitch Gold, as always the designs are fab.

    Reply

  3. Laura Latino
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 15:20:20

    I love everything but I especially envy your garden as I’m experiencing some troubles with my roses for the first time ever. It would be great to have a lovely garden and some time to work on it.
    Love
    Laura

    Reply

  4. Missy
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:44:24

    I am greatly looking forward to both magazines! Your designs are gorgeous! Thank you very much for all the beautiful charts that you create.

    Reply

  5. Kathy
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:33:01

    Hi Joan! I have the peacock design since I get the CSCollection mag, but I just fell in love with the Tree of Life! Checking the mag site, it was listed as the June issue #76 as you said, however when I checked ebay I found the issue and it was listed as number 20 for October 2010! I checked my magazines and I had the #76 CS Gold for June, but it was a different issue with your Elegant Peacock (diff.from Swirling). I think we must get different numbering in the US is the only thing I can figure….I bid on the one on ebay because it had the tree on the cover and hopefully I’ll get it!

    Enjoy your time in Vermont, the pictures could be right off my aunts yard near Rutland! Lots of flowers gone wild, a pond with frogs and a great blue heron, blueberry bushes and tall pines, plus her kitchen garden. She is my Mom’s twin and we usually travel up to VT to visit in the summer (and get away from NC heat!).

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 19:47:51

      Hi Kathy-
      I’m not sure how they number the magazines that are sent here to the US. I do have fingers crossed that you get the Tree of Life chart! Good luck!
      I am glad that you too have been able to enjoy the incredible beauty of a Vermont summer. It’s a relief and a blessing to be able to leave the city and come up to this little bit of heaven!

      Reply

  6. diah
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 15:10:59

    Dear Joan,
    I really like your swirling peacock, n I want to have the chart (if possible the kit would be better). How can I get it? I’ve tried looking the cross stitch collection issue #185, but it is difficult to find. Just for information, I’m living outside europe or america, I live in indonesia-one of south east asia country. And I will be happy if I could get your design by buying it online/via email. Thank you..

    Reply

  7. Trackback: introducing THE ALPHABET CLUB | the grey tail

Leave a Reply

