A New Design

Just coming out in the newest issue, #75, of Cross Stitch Gold is my Native American Maiden. Anyone that has my Native American Cross Stitch book from David & Charles already knows how I love working with this theme. When Cross Stitch Gold proposed this commission I was thrilled to revisit it. The background scene is stitched in one strand to give an ethereal quality to the landscape and the gentle figure of the maiden is embellished with metallic threads and beads in traditional Native American colors.

Indian Maiden

Indian Maiden copyright Joan A. Elliott

I have some new things to show you from World of Cross Stitching too and will post  them within the next day or so. Back to the drawing board for now…

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    May 06, 2010 @ 15:20:38

    Oh that is stunning too Joan. I now understand the lack of updates, you really have been busy. I am so pleased that the UK mags really like your designs and keep bringing them to us. Happy times.

    Reply

  2. Sue Borg
    May 06, 2010 @ 21:51:57

    Joan, she is just lovely. Just can’t wait to be able to get all your new designs. They are all just stunning…..just can’t wait!!

    Reply

  3. Cindy Hil
    May 07, 2010 @ 06:54:01

    wow love it

    Reply

  4. Barb Briggs
    May 07, 2010 @ 12:42:20

    Joan, I love love love your designs. I am so glad to see you revisiting your love of creating Native American things. This chart alone made my recent subscription to this magazine worth it’s cost.

    Reply

  5. joanelliott
    May 07, 2010 @ 12:48:58

    Thank you all for your inspiring comments. You’ve made my day!

    Joan

    Reply

  6. Victoria Smith
    May 07, 2010 @ 18:38:16

    Lovely.

    Reply

  7. Alison Zammit
    May 08, 2010 @ 12:51:51

    wow Joan this is a must stitch !!! Yesterday I have started Fire Goddess but I think that this one will have to be stitched right after her cause it’s really Beautiful …You are GGGRRREEEAAATTT X X X X X Thank you so much for your designs, You are the Best !!

    Reply

  8. Carien
    May 09, 2010 @ 14:42:53

    will this one be available as a chartpack eventually?

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      May 09, 2010 @ 14:54:40

      Yes! All of the charts you are seeing in the magazines will eventually be available as a chartpacks. There is a six month waiting period after the magazine publication date. As soon as that time period goes by I will post the new chartpacks for sale. Many Thanks to all of you who have given my latest designs such a wonderful reception.

      Happy Mother’s Day to all!
      Joan

      Reply

  9. Laura Latino
    May 09, 2010 @ 16:09:30

    Joan Your new designs are just gorgeous!!!! The Indian maiden is so sweet and would make a lovely pair to the first featured in your native american book, The Celtic fairy is great, such yummy colours to work with!!! Thanks again for all your hard work!! Happy Mother’s Day Love Laura

    Reply

  10. joanelliott
    May 09, 2010 @ 16:16:43

    Thanks Laura-

    All these lovely words are true inspiration!

    Enjoy the day-
    Joan

    Reply

  11. Barb Briggs
    May 10, 2010 @ 14:34:17

    Is it true there is a male mate to follow? I so love your designs. I am still hoping to see some sort of gypsy woman as I am sure you would do one justice, as well as a summer dragon to compliment the moon dragon in your Bewitching book.

    Barb

    Reply

  12. joanelliott
    May 10, 2010 @ 14:56:16

    Yes! There is going to be a mate for the indian Maiden. I’ll post a piccie as soon as I am able.

    By the way-
    The summer dragon and gypsy are on the ” to-do list” 🙂

    Have a great week everyone!
    Joan

    Reply

  13. Charmaine
    May 10, 2010 @ 19:14:17

    Joan you are creating faster than we can ever stitch. I just have to buy Cross Stitch Gold so as not to miss this fantastic chart !
    Do you have another foursome in mind after you finish the goddesses ? Can’t wait to have the current issue of Cross Stitch Collection in my mailbox!

    Best of luck!

    Reply

  14. Charmaine
    May 23, 2010 @ 19:50:54

    Hi Joan
    I just got Cross stitch Gold. Well I can say that the Indian Maiden looks far more fabulous that I thought !

    Reply

  15. Janie
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 00:38:40

    OK my jaw is actually dropping!!!!!!!!! This and the Indian Brave are magnificent!!! Incredible designs!!
    Janie

    Reply

  16. Deborah
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 18:04:07

    Hi, recently bought the book Native American. While I am stitching the maiden , I noticed that the pattern does not match up where it should meet in the middle, the colours don’t correspond with the finished version .

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 06, 2013 @ 22:27:02

      Hi Deborah-
      Yes, there is misprint with the center row of the design missing. I will email the corrected chart to you.
      Joan

      Reply

      • Deborah
        Jul 06, 2013 @ 23:13:12

        Hi, thanks for the fast reply. Just like to say thanks for all the great hours of cross stitch I have had over the years doing all of your beautiful charts. Best wish. Deborah x ( a massive fan).

Leave a Reply

