March News

Hi Everyone-

Fellow stitcher Maureen wrote me a couple of weeks ago to request the chart for my Celtic Angels design. This design was made into a kit by Design Works Crafts and the original version is still available for those of you that prefer complete kits including the chart, white 14 count Aida, floss, beads and sparkling metallic thread. You can email  them at customerservice@designworkscrafts.com to find out how to purchase the kit.

I now have this chart available as a chartpack too. It was fun to revisit this design and do a few little updates to soften the faces and clarify details. There are lots of lovely beads and metallic thread throughout. Ordering information for the chartpack only with either a color or black & white chart is on my Order Chartpacks page at right. I have the angels pictured here on Polstitches beautiful English Rose  28-count hand dyed Jobelan.

Celtic Fairies

Celtic Fairies Chartpack copyright Joan A. Elliott

In The World of Cross stitching Issue 162, now out in shops, you’ll find my Teddy Bear Alphabet. As many of you may know, I love teddies and I had great fun designing these playful little fellows. I think they would make up into a lovely children’s afghan working each letter into an individual square. What do you think? As they suggest in the magazine, you could change the color of the lettering to suit  either a boy or girl.

Teddy Alphabet

Teddy Alphabet copyright Joan A. Elliott

Coming in next month’s Cross Stitch Collection issue 182, and just in time for spring, is my Iris Cushion design. These classic flowers come to you straight from my garden in Vermont. Last year they put on an incredible display that was truly inspiring. This new cushion makes a charming companion to the previously released Magnolia Blossoms.

Spring Irises

Spring Irises copyright Joan A. Elliott

While you will see my previously previewed Majestic Peacock this month in Issue 73 of Cross Stitch Gold, keep an eye out for next month’s issue 74 where you will find my May Day Merriment design. Five pretty maidens dance gracefully around a traditional  maypole decorated with colorful streamers to celebrate the coming of spring. This is one of those delightful traditions that dates back to ancient times and has been incorporated into many different cultures around the world. You can almost imagine the soft dew on the  green grass beneath their feet. I show these lithe ladies on a hand dyed 28 count Jobelan called ‘Spring’ from Polstitches.

May Day Merriment

May Day Merriment copyright Joan A. Elliott

So dear friends, I guess this means that springtime cannot be far away. My fingers are getting itchy to start digging in the dirt and dive into the garden. Unfortunately my garden is in Vermont and there are four foot high snow banks covering it at the moment. It’s fun to dream though isn’t it?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ali
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 16:30:46

    All of the above are beautifull! I’d never seen the celtic angels but it’s a lovely design. As always, I look forward to your next projects.

    Reply

  2. Laura Latino
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 17:42:22

    All is lovelybut I’m really looking foward to your iris cushion as purple is ma fav colour. And the maypole is just stunning!!! can’t wait!!!

    Reply

  3. Cindy Hill
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 08:20:05

    I love this design

    Reply

  4. Lisa Bergin
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 09:42:52

    Love the new designs, I already have the Celtic Angels in kit form, but it does look nice on the Hand-dyed so when I get around to it, it might be worth changing the fabric. As always your design are just great. Loving the flower cushions. Are there any more in the pipeline?

    Reply

  5. Melanie Rowe
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 02:49:38

    Hi Joan, I must be seeing things, as I can see five pretty maidens around the Maypole! ;D I love your new designs, but am anxiously awaiting your Fire Goddess. Looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful designs.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 02:59:18

      Thanks Melanie!
      OOPS! I stand corrected so I’ve made the change above. Too many long hours in the studio 😉 Joan

      Reply

  6. Becky
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 09:47:10

    If you’re going to start revisiting older designs, I’d reeeeeeeally like to see the Design Works #9886 chart called Astrology(?). I’d have forgotten the number if it wasn’t a palindrome! I had the kit at one point, but it went missing in the process of moving abroad. I had no idea who you were at the time and ended up buying the kit because I had the same brown mane of hair!

    Reply

  7. Moyrah
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 10:38:48

    I ordered the Celtic Angels from Jo together with the beautiful fabric that is recommended… just waiting for it to come from the UK to me here in Sweden…

    Reply

  8. Heidi
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 21:25:00

    Beautiful design!! Your work is so magical! Congrats!! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Victoria Smith
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 09:53:57

    Its gorgeous.I received my kit from Polstitches the other day but it will be wait until I have finished a few other things.

    Reply

  10. julie rose
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 17:35:03

    I am in the stages of buying the materials for this design but don’t know what size evenweave fabric to buy, or what colour.
    Can anyone advise?
    Thanks
    Julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

