Something for the New Year

Welcome  to 2010! Hi everyone, here we are in a new year, many of us wrapped up against the cold ouside. A special hello to all of you making it through the unusually frigid weather in the UK! What could be better right now than the daily arrival of  seed catalogs in the mail. These cold evenings are perfect for sitting with a cup of tea and dreamimg of the spring garden to come. In keeping with that, I’ve designed a pretty Magnolia Cushion Top  coming in the next issue (#180) of Cross Sticth Collection.  Our neighborhood in Brooklyn is filled with  just about every form of this  resplendent tree and it’s lush blooms in Springtime. I just love the Oriental feel of this design and I hope you will too.

Magnolia Cushion

Magnolia Cushion copyright Joan A. Elliott

Also in this issue there will be a preview of a new design coming in issue 181 that I think you might like. My lips are sealed until the end of the week but I’ll be posting a preview on the 16th of January. I can’t wait to show you what’s next!

In Issue 73 of Cross Stitch Gold you will see my Majestic Peacock. I wanted to give this regal creature a soft Renaissance  setting. He is beautifully embellished with lots of Mill Hill beads and wonderful Kreinik threads.

Majestic Peacock

Majestic Peacock

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 21:53:51

    Lovely new designs Joan. I particularly like the Peacock, its stunning.

    Reply

  2. Ali
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 17:33:18

    I love the cushion. Very pretty!

    Reply

  3. Moyrah
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:03:55

    I just got the mag with the magnolia cushion design…
    I have a couple of floral favorites, peonies and magnolias (as well as roses of course!) so now I will have to find the time to stitch this one as well. 🙂

    Reply

  4. joanelliott
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:10:28

    Hi Moyrah-

    Those are some my favorites too. It always feels like a gift when these beautiful flowers bloom, doesn’t it?

    My magnolias at our place in Vermont were victims of a frost this year but the peonies are filled with huge buds now and I can’t wait for that glorious display!

    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

