Happy Autumn!

Hello! I hope that  the last days of summer brought bright sunny days for everyone. It was glorious here in New York and we took full advantage with visits to the Brooklyn Botanic Garden and Prospect Park. In the cross stitch world all attention will now turn to Christmas so we all have time enough to make up a few cards or ornaments, and maybe even a stocking for  a special loved one.

Before we get to that I want to show you a brand new Geisha I’ve done for Design Works Crafts. You’ll find this kit in the new Stitchery catalog coming out this fall.

Blue Geisha © Joan A. Elliott

Blue Geisha © Joan A. Elliott

There will be new holiday designs coming  out in all the magazines and catalogs. I am delighted that The Stitchery has chosen my Twelve Days of Christmas for their holiday catalog cover. Many thanks to Design Works Crafts for making up  the kit so beautifully. There are many wonderful designs from all your favorite designers inside too!

Twelve Days of Christmas © Joan A. Elliott  Photo courtesy of The Stitchery

Twelve Days of Christmas © Joan A. Elliott Photo courtesy of The Stitchery

Now on the news stands in the UK (and soon to arrive here in the States) is issue 156 of World of Cross Stitching where you’ll find my  cheerful Christmas Welcome Banner for  mounting your favorite photo. Hang it  near the doorway to  welcome all your guests during the holiday season.

Christmas Welcome Banner ©Joan A. Elliott

Christmas Welcome Banner ©Joan A. Elliott

In Issues 218 and 219 of the UK Cross Stitcher you’ll see my North Pole Alphabet. Wouldn’t it be fun to make up gift tags  or personalized cards with these happy little characters? Quick and easy to stitch they would be perfect for  a set of personalized Christmas Stockings using pre-finished stockings like those offered by Charles Craft.

North Pole Alphabet © Joan A. Elliott

North Pole Alphabet © Joan A. Elliott

I’m happy to be working with the team at Cross Stitch Card Shop too. In their Issue 68 are a set of six Nativity Cards that will bring the true spirit of Christmas to the season. Joined together in a long row these designs would also make a beautiful banner to hang over  an entryway  at Christmas time.

Nativity Cards ©Joan A. Elliott

Nativity Cards ©Joan A. Elliott

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Henderica
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 07:16:05

    Oooh Joan these are pretty 🙂

    Should be on the lookout for those English magazines 😉

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 11:10:29

    Beautiful! You have been very busy!!

    Reply

  3. Gina
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 11:17:43

    The Blue Geisha is beautiful. I shall certainly be on the lookout for that kit even though I will have to substitute evenweave for the aida.

    Reply

  4. Sally
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 10:00:17

    I have received my copy of Cross Stitch Card Shop and the Nativity designs are just beautiful – I will definitely be stitching some of them for cards this Christmas!

    Reply

  5. Sarah Greiner
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 19:04:31

    I saw her in The Stitchery catalogue when I got it and the first thing I said was “OMG! I want her!” lol I am going to be very good and have decided I need to finish several projects before I pick any up . . . but I might ask for her for Christmas. I love the color combination you chose for her and she will go well with my geisha collection. Ok so most of them are still in kit form, but they’ll eventually get done. *crosses fingers*

    Reply

  6. Meari
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:59:09

    Do you know when the Blue Geisha will be available for purchase?

    Reply

  7. Rita Agius
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 12:58:07

    Love the blue Geisha will order it as a chartpack as I have so many on my to do list so i can afford to wait lol

    Reply

  8. LauraNorthernCA
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 18:45:06

    Any chance the 6 Nativity cards might ever be available in the U.S.? I love them! (I realize there is a similar Design Works chart/kit with 3 Nativity “windows,” but I would really prefer the smaller 6 cards). Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

