A Quick Update

 

 

Hi Everyone-
I’m just beginning catch up with everything in the studio. We’ve had some good news about my brother’s illness. His surgery went well this week and  he is now recovering nicely. When the doctor told us he is, at the moment, cancer free, you can imagine  how happy we were. To stay that way, he will begin treatments as soon as he is strong enough.  From my heart, thank you everyone, for your wonderful healing thoughts and prayers through all of this. They have been a tremendous help to all of us!

Now I’d like to introduce you to another Fairy coming out in World of Cross Stitching. Here she is, a gentle fairy mother and her darling little cherub. This design was done for making up as a birth sampler but if you prefer to use it  as a picture, try filling in the area where the names appear with some of the pretty little posies at her feet.

Fairy Mother & child form World of Cross stitching #153 © Joan A. Elliott

Fairy Mother & child form World of Cross Stitching #153 © Joan A. Elliott

 Also, In Issue 152 of World of Cross Stitching, you may have already seen my  Fairy Tale Alphabet. I did this design with little ones in mind. Use the letters to make up pretty name plates, door hangers, a  sweet personalized pillow or whatever strikes your fancy. It might be fun to try your hand at using 14 count waste canvas to  stitch a name on a sweatshirt or book bag too!

 

Fair Tale Alphabet World of Cross Stitching #152 © Joan A. Elliott

Fair Tale Alphabet World of Cross Stitching #152 © Joan A. Elliott

 

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Bergin
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 16:06:18

    Hi Joan, Pleased to here that your brother is cancer free and hope that he continues to remain well. Love the new design in the World of Cross Stitching, your fairies are fab. I have just got Spring Fairy back from the framers and am halfway through stitching the Summer one that are in Cross Stitch Collection. Your designs keep getting better, and I always look forward to getting my needlework magazines when I know one of your designs is going to be in it. Lisa

    Reply

  2. Laura Latino
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 08:49:26

    Hi Joan, I’m happy to learn your brother is recovering well now. I do hope the treatments are getting fine results. Having dealt with my father cancer over the last 8 years, I know how tense and worried you may have been and what a relief it must’ve been to hear everything was all right.

    your fairies are great as usual!!! I’m so eager to see the Autumn fairy in the next issues :O)

    Wishing all the best
    Laura

    Reply

  3. joanelliott
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 02:02:46

    Thank you!

    X Joan

    Reply

  4. Hilda
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 15:44:17

    Dear Joan,
    what a lovely new Fairy and I can not await to get the issue of WOCS where it is in – I love all your designs but I only finished some of the little ones up to now.
    Thank you for doing this great work and all the best to you and your family

    Hilda

    Reply

  5. Arianna
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 12:38:52

    dear Joan, I’m an italian cross stitcher really in love of your fairy and ladies…
    The problemi is reach them in Italy! i’ve done the subscrition to U.K. magazine, but non always they reach me…
    Have you a specific internet shop where buy your fantastic design? Please, I’ve just missed the spring fairy, and I really don’t want miss others of you…
    Wishing you all the best also for your brother!
    hugs!
    Arianna

    Reply

  6. Antoinette
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 20:09:39

    Such a gorgeous alphabet set and once again a beautiful design which will just ahve to go on my to-do list once I’m done with the Spring Fairy…..heehee

    Reply

  7. Charmaine
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 13:46:20

    Hi,

    I just discovered you Joan, altough I have been stitching for more than 15 years. I am currently stitching the summer fairy and am impatiently waiting for the autumn fairy. I would like to buy your charts especially the Renaissance ladies. From where can I obtain them ?

    Reply

  8. Phyllis Dobbs
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 15:13:50

    Joan, I love both your fairy and fairy alphabet. I’m also delighted to know that your brother’s surgery went so well and he is cancer free. I know that saying that is a relief would be a giant understatement. BTW, saw a full page ad in a recent Needlework Retailer that had your “Magic Dragon” for Charles Craft. It is gorgeous!

    Reply

  9. Diane Sutherland
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 18:37:47

    Hi, I would like copies of your renaissance ladies that I found recently in my cross stitch collection magazine. I am eagerly awaiting your Autumn fairy from this magazine. I am glad to see that your brother is recovering well.

    Reply

  10. Sally
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 21:33:08

    Hi! I’m so glad to hear that things are going well and that your brother is cancer free – I hope that the treatments go well for him.

    I have only recently discovered your designs, although I have been stitching for a long time. I love the variety that you produce and always look forward to seeing new designs from you. The fairy mother and child design above is just wonderful.

    As with other people, I too am looking for your Renaissance Lady charts (the music, book and rose ladies) and wonder whether it’s possible to get hold of them somewhere – I am in the UK.

    Best wishes,
    Sally

    Reply

  11. Aj Brokaw
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 17:53:24

    I would love to stitch your fairy mother and child but I can’t find the magazine. Help?!

    Reply

  12. craftgirl78
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 14:59:47

    I am stitching this at the moment and loving every stitch – you really are a genius, and definitely my favourite cross stitch designer!!

    http://craftgirl78.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/fairy-mother-a…-birth-sampler/

    Reply

  13. joanelliott
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 15:15:54

    Hi All-

    Thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments. I now have the Fairy Mother and Child chart ready for sale. Anyone that was unable to get the magazine can write me at jelliottdesign@earthlink.net to place an order for the chart pack.

    With all best wishes-
    Joan

    Reply

    • Daniela Garcia
      Feb 10, 2016 @ 20:29:42

      Hello Joan, I wonder what is included with the chart pack?. I’m not English speaker so I don’t now what you mean with it. I mean, It’s only the graphic or also comes wiht the floss or threads? Let me know. Thank you very much. I love your work. I will like to do the Fairy mother and child for my first niece. thank you

      Reply

      • joanelliott
        Feb 10, 2016 @ 20:38:15

        Hi Daniela-
        The chartpack does not contain the threads or fabric. It is the chart, a picture of the stitched piece, color key, and supply list only.

        Joan

  14. craftgirl78
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 17:07:26

    I finished stitching this beautiful piece last month and loved every stitch! I dyed my own fabric and can honestly say I have never used so much metallic thread in one project before!

    You really are an inspiration to stitchers!

    http://craftgirl78.wordpress.com/my-story/my-cross-stitch-story/cross-stitch-wips-and-queue/fairy-mother-and-child-progress/

    Reply

  15. joanelliott
    Feb 13, 2010 @ 17:15:06

    Thanks so much for your lovely words. As you can see, I love working with metallics and beads. They add so much dimension to a design. Knowing that you enjoyed the piece is a true inspiration for me!

    Reply

  16. Andrea
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 23:20:31

    Thank you so much for the adorable alphabet sampler. Your designs are gorgeous! I picked up cross stitching while waiting in the hospital during my aunt’s chemo therapy a few years ago and I can’t tell you how happy I am that your brother’s cancer is in remission.
    I hope you also found stitchery as healing as I did.
    All the best

    Reply

  17. joan elliott
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 09:58:14

    Hi Andrea-

    Thanks for your comment. yes, I know that stitchng brings comfort to a lot of folks during difficult times. I dio think itr has a meditative quality to it that helps ease the mind when we are over-stressed.

    My brother is on his fourth chemo treatment at the moment and managing fairly well for now. The remission did not last long, but so it goes with this disease. As always, we still hope for a miracle and at times it feels like we already have had one because he is still here with us.

    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

