May News

Hi Everyone!

Spring is a season for love, love, LOVE! There are two new designs for you coming in next month’s magazines that honor and celebrate all happy couples out there. For the UK Cross Stitcher issue 214, I’ve created a sweet band sampler that can be used for anniversaries, weddings or just to celebrate  the  love of two people  that are meant for each other. I used an Assisi technique in much of this design, using the background fabric as ‘fill’. Pretty pearl beads add an extra elegant touch. This sampler  uses a limited palette and stitches up quickly.

 

Eternity Sampler © Joan A. Elliott

Eternity Sampler © Joan A. Elliott

 

The May flowers are everywhere and despite a lot of rainy weather here in the Northeast, it’s wonderful to see the lilacs, wisteria, tulips and irises starting to bloom. Such lovely images fill my mind these days. The soft pastel colors and heady scents of the season are beautiful inspiration. In Cross Stitch Collection’s June issue (171) you’ll find a new wedding sampler design created with the soft shades and romance of Spring in mind. I’ve pictured this piece on Polstitches ‘Dawn Chorus’ 28 count hand dyed Jobelan but it would also work well on white or antique white linen.

Wedding Sampler © Joan A. Elliott

Wedding Sampler © Joan A. Elliott

 I will be posting a set of skin and hair color variations on my Chart Notes & Correction page so you can customize it for the special couple in your life.

More to come soon.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie Rowe
    May 06, 2009 @ 23:27:57

    What a beautiful design! I have subscribed to CSC just to make sure I get all of the seasonal fairies, and now I will have this gorgeous pattern as well. Thank you Joan!

    Reply

  2. Carien
    May 07, 2009 @ 17:59:07

    Lovely! Can’t wait for Collection to hit the stores over here.

    Reply

  3. Charmaine
    May 13, 2009 @ 20:45:22

    I just love the fairies. However missed issue 167 and can’t locate it anywhere. Can anyone help me because I would really love to do both the spring and summer fairies. I have now subscribed to Cross Stitch collection to make sure that I will not miss the remaining two.
    Thanks to anyone willing to help me.

    Reply

  4. joanelliott
    May 13, 2009 @ 20:54:08

    Hi Charmaine-

    For everyone that missed the Spring Fairy issue of Collection, I will have the chart available from my studio at the end of June. Please email me if you would like to reserve a copy: jelliottdesign@earthlink.net

    All the best-
    Joan

    Reply

  5. Zeb
    May 17, 2009 @ 05:59:54

    Hello Joan, beautiful work yet again. I cannot wait to get my hands on the band sampler!

    Joan is it possible to some day get a list of all the designs you have done for cross stitch magazines? Recently won on a local auction site a World of Cross Stitching mag with a design you did of a gorgeous 1920’s glamour lady done up in a sumptuous gown of peacock feathers!
    I was so surprised as I had never seen that design before.

    It would be so handy to have a list of designs (with magazines they were in and images) for those of us who love your work 🙂

    Thanks!

    Reply

  6. Zeb
    May 19, 2009 @ 16:59:29

    Thanks for the update Joan, and of course family comes first! Had not been aware of this but am now and you and your loved ones have my regards and will be in my thoughts.

    Heheh speaking of charts n such, just pointed out to a fellow stitcher on a board I belong to that your Rennaisance Lady is now being sold as a kit! Ditto with a mermaid if I recall.

    Reply

  7. Charmaine
    May 20, 2009 @ 19:47:31

    Hi Joan. Well it is nice to hear that charts will soon be available. However, I could not rest until I got hold of the Feb Collection Issue. And yes, I managed to bid for it on ebay and it is now on the way in the post and should receive it shortly. I just started to stitch the Summer Fairy. The colours are so beautiful.

    Where will I be able to buy charts from ? As I like the Renaissance Lady.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

