March News from the Studio

 

Hi Everyone!

Sorry I’ve been so absent lately. Work has been beyond hectic, thank goodness, and family matters have been a priority this past month so there wasn’t much time for posting. I have a moment and wanted to let you know about a couple of design updates. Firstly, thank you all so much for the wonderful response to the Spring Fairy in Cross Stitch Collection! How lovely to hear from so many of you. This is such a fulfilling part of my work and it means the world to me. I’ve just completed the Autumn Fairy design, although she is still under wraps I’m afraid. Look for her to be published towards the end of summer. I see that my Summer Fairy is now on the preview pages of the current issue of Collection so it’s time for me to post her picture here. 

Before we get to that though, I want you to see my Golden Buddha design,  now in issue 169 of Cross Stitch Collection on sale in the UK. I hope I’ve captured the  peace and  serenity that this revered figure represents to millions of people around the world. The background motifs are stitched in half cross stitch and the Buddha figure is highlighted with glistening golden beads and delicate Kreinik metallic threads and the design is worked on Polstitches 28 count hand dyed ‘Shades of Narcissus’ Jobelan.

Golden Buddha ©Joan A. Elliott

Golden Buddha ©Joan A. Elliott

Now to the Summer Fairy…  close your eyes and picture gentle waves on the  azure sea and  the feeling of the warm summer sand beneath your feet. These lovely images filled my thoughts when I created the Summer Fairy for Issue 170 of Collection. The magazine will be on the stands in the UK come April 14th.  This gentle spirit is stitched on Polstitches fabulous hand dyed 28 count Jobelan fabric . I have her pictured  here on ‘Neptune” and in the magazine you will see her stitched on ‘Heavens Above’. She is resplendent with shimmering beads and Kreinik metallic threads suggesting  tiny bits of sunshine glinting on the shore. I hope you will all add her to your own collection of magical cross stitch.

Summer fairy © Joan A. Elliott

Summer fairy © Joan A. Elliott

As always, all of us outside the UK have to wait a bit for the UK magazines to hit the stands but I hope you think it will be worth the wait. I’ll be adding to this post over the weekend. I have some new rubber stamps coming out if a few days that I want to show you, more upcoming designs in cross stitch, and some news about ordering individual charts. So until then, I wish the very best to everyone!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary E
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 22:06:26

    Joan,

    I have recently discovered your work and I am in LOVE!!! I am having trouble finding the UK magazines in my area but I have found someone online that is getting them for me and mailing them to me. What a wonderful find she is!!! Are any of your charts available outside of the magazines and books? I also love the Woodland Goddess and Sea Goddess. Keep up the good work and I will keep buying when I can find them!!!

    Thanks for sharing your amazing talents with us

    Mary E

    Reply

  2. Zeb
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 06:11:17

    Beautiful work as always. Yet another international here, New Zealand to be specific, and yes, I too find it difficult to get some of the UK cross stitch mags here. Thankfully my lns has seen a spike of interest in Cross Stitch Collection (I wonder why!) so they have started getting in regular shipments! Now all I need to do is get your Bewitching Cross Stitch book… NZ$70, ouch! But oh so worth it I am sure! 🙂
    Keep it up!

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 07:09:19

    Hello Joan! I love, love, LOVE this new fairy and am on pins and needles to start her when she is available stateside. Are you able to tell us the fabric used, so we can order it from Jo? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Carien
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 13:24:20

    Th summer fairy is gorgeous! If the autumn and winter fairies are just as beautiful I might have to stitch the complete set. Better try to finish the spring fairy.

    Reply

  5. Lorraine
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 13:50:13

    Another fabulous design! I love your fairies and goddesses.

    Reply

  6. Deidre
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 04:31:29

    Your designs are so beautiful – I want to stitch them all! But the best thing lately is the bewitching cross stitch book with the wonderful dragon. My daughter loves dragons and I have been looking for a cross stitch pattern that was not too scary and not too babyish and yours is PERFECT! My younger daughter has asked for a unicorn, so if you ever create one to match the dragon I will make that too! Thankyou so much for your fantastic creations. I can’t wait for the summer fairy and golden buddha in the next few cross stitch collection mags.
    Best regards and much appreciation
    from sunny QLD Australia

    Reply

  7. joanelliott
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 15:13:38

    Hi Deidre-

    Yes, yes, yes! to the unicorn. I have it on my list already and plan on working on it towards the end of May. Lots more goodies to come!

    Joan

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 19:18:12

    Just adding my comments about your Spring and Summer Fairies. LOVE THEM!!! I am completely obsessed. I won’t get my mag for a while here in Canada either so I’m hoping to have Spring done by then. Supplies are on the way for Summer though!! Fall is my favorite season and I just can’t wait. Spring is a joy to stitch, I haven’t been able to stitch something this passionately for a while.

    Oh, also love your new Bewitching Cross Stitch too!

    Reply

  9. Charmaine
    May 09, 2009 @ 16:47:46

    Hi,

    just am a new subscriber to Cross Stitch Collection and regrettably missed the Spring Fairy in issue 167. I would be very much happy if I can buy the chart, as back issues are no longer on offer.

    Please do help me as the fairies are a real beauty.

    Reply

  10. Kathryn
    May 26, 2009 @ 23:55:51

    Another absolutely beautiful one! I saw the cover of the magazine and I knew I’d be walking out of the store with another pattern! Just as well I have to wait to finish my current project, have to order the fabric and krenik threads.

    Reply

  11. Kathleen Ambrose
    Jun 20, 2009 @ 13:34:46

    My daughter contacted you end of April as we were trying to obtain the spring fairy in issue 167 and to buy the chart etc and the packs as unfortunately the back issues are no longer available. Please could you help me as I have the summer fairy but would require to have the full set (I know the winter and autumn is not out yet). Many thanks and please could you help me.

    Reply

  12. Kathryn
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:36:00

    Well, I finally got the fabric I wanted, Hopefully I’ll have a pic to share soon. A friend and I are working in tandem, her on spring fae, me on summer.

    Reply

  13. joanelliott
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 20:44:10

    Hi Kathryn-

    How lovely that you and your friend are stitching these two fairies together.

    As hard as it is sometimes, it’s always worth waiting to get just the right materials isn’t it? Now you are ready to really enjoy your project. It will be exciting to see a pic when you have one ready.

    Joan

    Reply

  14. Lee Godfrey
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 10:23:12

    Hi again Joan, I am have a terrible problem, I am unable to get the pattern for the Summer Fairy as It has sold out and over here in Australia, we are months behind so our town never got issue 170. Is there any other way to get your patterns. Please.

    Regards, Lee

    Reply

  15. Sarah Greiner
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 19:14:36

    Love her! I so want her!

    Reply

  16. Corrie Jelier
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 04:54:39

    I’m working on the summer faerie now and she’s just beautiful. Love all the detail work involved! Long ways to go yet but enjoying every minute. The autumn faerie will be next. Joan, you have many amazing patterns, keep up the good work!

    Reply

  17. deborah allen
    May 24, 2011 @ 13:44:51

    I was at joann store and come across your ultimate book.I would love to sticth the golden buddha very much. do i have to but the whole book for one patton?. I hope to hear from you.

    Reply

  18. Betsy F
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 03:51:44

    Just wanted you to know that some of your browns seem to be out of sinc, and mixed up with some of the olives on the body of your “Golden Buddha” chart from the cross stitch collection mag. I tihnk I have it figured out but you might want to put a correction out there for others. You do beautiful work!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 21, 2011 @ 11:30:22

      Collection must have made errors on the key. They posted a corrected key on their facebook page and i’ve just put that up on my facebook page. I’ll get it up on my chart corrections page too. Thanks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

