Happy Holidays!

 

 

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!

Greetings Everyone. It has just started snowing here in New York so I thought it was the perfect time to start on my Christmas blog update. Things in the studio are busy with many new projects going on at once. As you may already know, Bewitching Cross Stitch went on sale earlier this month. I’ve had many  wonderful responses from so many of you. Thank you for all the lovely words and enthusiasm! The January issue of Cross Stitch Collection will feature the Mother Moon chart.

Mother Moon from Bewitching Cross Stitch © Joan A. Elliott

Mother Moon from Bewitching Cross Stitch © Joan A. Elliott

Inside the book you will find a Father  Sun chart making for a beautiful pair.

There are some new Christmas  designs currently available in the UK magazines too. This year, a nostalgic Victorian theme runs through all the pieces.

Angel in White © Joan A. Elliott

Angel in White © Joan A. Elliott

 Stitched on a rich burgundy evenweave, my Angel in White brings an elegant touch to a familiar holiday image. This design has  lots of gold metallic thread and sparkling beads to give it a festive touch. You’ll see her on the cover of Cross Stitch Collection Issue 163.

Christmas Past © Joan A. Elliott

Christmas Past © Joan A. Elliott

I love the  thought of  snow falling at Christmas time while we rush around doing all our last minute chores. These  children  make the day bright as they excitedly post their letters to Santa and head home with all the holiday trimmings. Look for this happy scene in Cross Stitch Collection Issue 165.

Victorian Lady © Joan A. Elliott

Victorian Lady © Joan A. Elliott

Dressed in all  her holiday finery a windswept Victorian Lady enjoys a stroll on a wintry evening. You’ll find this  design in The World of Cross stitching Issue 144.

Nativity © Joan A. Elliott

Nativity © Joan A. Elliott

This peaceful Nativity scene was inspired by the stained glass windows of the Arts & Crafts movement in the early 20th Century. It appeared in Issue 61 of Cross Stitch Gold.

I have been receiving quite a few request for charts that have appeared in the UK magazines. I know these magazines are often not readily available here in the States so with the New Year I hope to be able to start putting these  into leaflets for you which you will be able to purchase through this blog. With some technical issues to resolve, I hope it won’t be too long. I’ll keep you posted. I have been working on a series of new fantasy designs for the magazines  so keep your eyes open for those starting in the Spring.

In rubber stamp news, I am putting the finishing touches on two new sets of stamps for ladybugandfriends. Now that they have made their stamps available online through addictedtorubbersatmps.com  you’ll be able to find these and my Autumn and Christmas stamps quite easily no matter where you are located.

For 2009 I wish you all the best for a year filled with much love and happiness, the joy of creativity and the warmth and comfort of family and friends. May it be filled with a spirit of hope that will carry us all through these challenging times.

 

Joan A. Elliott

©Joan A. Elliott

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kit
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 02:25:51

    I just discovered your blog. And am sitting here, crooning over the Mother Moon design …. It’s gorgeous!! Now all I have to decide is whether to buy the magazine or the book. Orboth. Decisions, decisions! But what a lovely dilemma! *grin*

    Thank you for your wonderful designs, Joan! They are among my favourites! I am looking forward to the possibility of purchasing some of them through your blog.

    Reply

  2. Lynne davidson
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 19:03:57

    I have just brought a piece of white opalescent aida which feels like silk to do Mother Moon. Can’t wait to start it.
    I’m also really pleased as I’ve finally purchased the bewitching Book for my birthday from Book depositorys. They were the cheapest place to buy it with there free post. $41 NZ dollars. Can’t wait to get it.
    I’m still trying to work out a way to get the Love Poem chart.

    Lynne (NZ)

    Reply

  3. Sarah Greiner
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 19:22:06

    I just recently got the Bewitching Cross Stitch book off of Amazon and when it arrived, promptly went and devoured it! I just couldn’t keep from looking at the next page to see all the gorgeous designs! It took me a while to see the rabbits in the Moon Goddess one, but I did find them. I had to lol at myself once I did. I am planning on stitching that gorgeous dragon on Enchanted Fabrics’ Dragon Mist lugana.

    Reply

  4. Fiona Drake
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 14:38:11

    I’ve stitched your Victorian Lady.. she has pride of place on the wall behind me as I type this. I stitched her on dark blue aida to make it look like she is walking at night. Everyone who sees her says she is beautiful and my Grandad got very emotional when he saw it as it made him think of my late Grandma who taught me to cross stitch when I was about 12.
    I missed the Angel in White though.. Is the chart for her still available? She would look fabulous on the wall next to the Victorian Lady.
    Thank you for such wonderful designs 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jenny
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 12:34:05

    Joan,

    I love your Mother Moon and plan one day to stich her – when we can afford it. Would you mind if I changed the bottom of the design as I am not to sure about the moons on her face.

    Kind wishes
    Jenny

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Nov 20, 2011 @ 13:50:09

      Hi Jenny-
      Thank you for asking and yes of course if you want to make changes on your stitching you can. Stitchers adjust charts to their needs all the time so that they have a nice personalized piece when the are through stitching. Enjoy!

      Reply

  6. Jenny
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 22:17:55

    Thank you Joan,

    Is it possible to send it to you to look over once I do it?

    Jenny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

