Advent Calendar Correction! and the button source

I’ve just received an email from Trevor concerning an error in the instructions for the Advent Calendar that appears in Countdown to Christmas and Cross Stitcher (UK) magazine. For all of you that have taken on this large project please note that the outline squares you will be stitching  should measure 27 X 27 stitches. The instructions read 21 X 21 stitches which would leave no gap between the motifs and the edge of each ornament! I feel terribly about this misprint as it appears in the original instructions in the book. I hope I have caught this before you’ve gotten too far into the stitching. If you’ve already started, you will have noticed this and I hope that extending the outline box won’t be too much of a headache. I know how aggravating it is to have to rip! If you know anyone else who is working on this or any blogs where you think this information will be useful please pass the word. Thanks!

It has also been brought to my attention that there are no colors listed for the Mill Hill beads  I used on the edges of each ornament. Here they are: Red- 03049    Green- 02054    Gold- 00557

The star buttons are all from Mill Hill. I used their #86290 for the three large buttons at top and #86288 for the smaller buttons. Please see my Supplies and Resources page at right to link to their website.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaine Hollis
    Oct 08, 2016 @ 20:09:57

    Hi

    In the magazine it says 21x 21 cm – not stitches.
    Could you help me work out how much material I need to buy. For instance – for putty colour, It says 13 pieces of 16.5 x 16.5 Cm. Does it mean to say cm. Thanks

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Oct 08, 2016 @ 21:45:34

      Hi Jaine-
      Each motif is 21 X 21 stitches. You will need fabric squares that are 16.5 cm square for each of them.

      Reply

  2. Jaine Hollis
    Oct 08, 2016 @ 20:22:59

    Can I also ask why you chose pale blue and putty cloth, rather than just one colour.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Oct 08, 2016 @ 21:46:15

      I chose these colors because I liked them. You can use whatever color you want when you stitch.

      Reply

      • jaz050465
        Oct 09, 2016 @ 09:04:18

        Sorry if I’m being thick. It’s the first time I’ve done something that isn’t a kit. Why does the piece need to be so big.

        Also- are there more instructions for doing the wall hanging part. The magazine just talks about the hanging tabs – unless ive missed it somewhere.
        Sorry for all the questions.

      • joanelliott
        Oct 09, 2016 @ 11:13:21

        I like to have something to hold onto when stitching so I’ve allowed extra fabric. You can make it smaller if you like. I will email you further instructions from the book this project was in were in for the final finishing.

      • jaz050465
        Oct 09, 2016 @ 11:23:47

        Thank you sooooo much

  3. Megan Parkinson
    Oct 24, 2016 @ 16:43:56

    I would really love to stitch the advent calendar but I can’t find the back issue of cross stitch gold. Do you know if it’s been in any other magazines? Or can I purchase it directly from you? Thanks so much

    Reply

Leave a Reply

