Bewitching Cross Stitch!

Bewitching Cross Stitch ©Joan A. Elliott ©David & Charles, Ltd            Bewitching Cross Stitch ©Joan A. Elliott ©David & Charles, Ltd

I am thrilled to finally be able to post a picture of the cover of my latest book! I hope you will all keep an eye out for it in a couple of months. The paperback will be available in the US and UK in February 2009. This book was such a joy to work on and it seemed that each chapter sparked my imagination for the next. You’ll find  a mysterious wizard, playful fairies, a sparkling dragon, and all sorts of magical creatures inside. As always  projects range from simple to complex so there is something that I’m sure everyone will enjoy at every skill level. More than forty designs for framed pictures, a boys treasure box, a bewitching recipe book, delightful cards, cushions, ornaments and more fill the pages, all with easy to read charts and instructions included for stitching and making up.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 18:50:09

    I can hardly wait for this book!!!!! It looks so beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Penny I
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 20:49:25

    Oh that sounds delightful. I cannot wait

    Reply

  3. Julie.C
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:38:09

    Your “Bewitching Cross Stitch has just arrived. Its beautiful lovely designs, I am finding it very hard not to start one now, but I must finish the project I am doing. Going to try anyway. Happy New Year.

    Reply

  4. Heidi
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 00:31:14

    Hello Joan!
    I just love this book, and I’m halfway done with the dragon already!! On the board where I post there’s a new fairy design by you coming out in the new Cross Stitch Collection magazine. Could you please let me know if this is an individual design or if it will be featured in another book of yours? I can hardly wait…..again! 😉

    Reply

  5. Penny I
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 17:49:51

    That is something I must get. Sounds Wonderful Joan many thanks for all the wonderful patterns that you design for us stitchers.

    Reply

  6. Patricia
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 17:55:51

    Hi Joan! This book is absolutely wonderful! The designs are truly “bewitching”, with a certain depth (as in 3D) and love of detail, missing in some other fantasy designs I have found in books. I keep flipping through the pages, looking at every detail. 🙂

    On a note: While purchasing the supplies for the Hocus Pocus projects, I found some errors in the second color chart (all DMC): #3809 = 945; #3814 = 951; #3821 = 3689. I was able to correct these colors (face, shading and cheek color) according to the first color chart for the recipe book. For #3826 (yellow), I’ll be using either #725 or #726, as I couldn’t find another reference.
    I substituted the Aida for Permin/Wichelt Aida #05 Summery Yellow, since the suggested color wasn’t available, which works quite well with the green and purple felt.

    I’m still working on the magnet motifs ATM and can’t wait to have them finished. 🙂

    And … is another fantasy book planned? I’d love to see more designs!

    Reply

  7. joanelliott
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 18:18:59

    Hi Pat-

    Thank you so much for pointing out the key errors on the small Hocus Pocus projects. Sorry for any confusion but I am glad you caught them. I’ll re-post these on my Chart Corrections page too so everyone will be sure to see it. I think 725 is a nice choice on the yellow.

    I’ve had a lot of you write and ask if there might be another fantasy book in the future. I do hope to get the chance to do another soon.

    All the best-
    Joan

    Reply

  8. Zeb
    May 13, 2009 @ 05:19:09

    Just got this book and Joan I must say, it’s gorgeous! I love all the designs in this book and only wish I had the time (and bank balance!) to stitch them all! Congrats!

    Reply

  9. Shelby Lominac
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 17:03:41

    Hello, I was just wondering if the Crescent Moon Dragon design and the Celestial Moon Dragon design from Design Works use the same bead and floss colors, or if they have been changed at all? I would like to stitch for my daughter who loves dragons but am not sure which one to buy if they are different. Thank you for any help. -Shelby

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Mar 11, 2011 @ 17:26:58

      Hi Shelby-
      I’m glad you have written with this question. When designs are put into a kit by Design Works and Imaginating there will be some changes. Most notably, they require the kits to have Aida rather than the evenweave that the original was stitched on. Design Works does not use Mill Hill beads so those colors may vary slightly although they do try to match my bead color choices as best they can. Also, They use only DMC metallics rather than my preferred Kreinik #4 braid and they are limited to two colors, silver and gold, so those changes have been made in the kit. Just to explain, the kit companies make these changes to keep the kits at a price that will be affordable to more people. They often change the name of a design to distinguish it from the original version that was in my book.
      Do let me know if you have any other questions concerning this.

      All the best-
      Joan

      Reply

  10. eva
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 06:06:50

    Kindly advise how can i get this book? i live in Jakarta, Indonesia.

    Reply

  11. Nikola
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 10:58:01

    I think this is an amazing book! I’ve done the “Believe” and “Imagine” pics and I want to do the Mother Moon picture soon. Unfortunately Charles Craft have stopped supplying the dove grey 14ct aida – does anyone know of an alternative aida I could use? Many thanks!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jul 30, 2011 @ 18:12:14

      Have a look at the Aida available on 123stitch.com
      They have some pretty grey shades from Wichelt and Zweigart.

      Reply

  12. priscila
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 21:28:47

    hi, im from spain…. this book is really beautiful.

    Reply

  13. Lisa O'T
    May 15, 2015 @ 01:56:35

    where can I purchase this book please? I cannot find a link to it? I am in Australia. Ty 🙂

    Reply

  14. Lisa Vanner
    Jan 22, 2016 @ 14:43:11

    Is there an error in the chart of celtic wheel of the year 1 of the dark green sections on the spokes does not match the others. lisa@vanner.demon.co.uk

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 24, 2016 @ 20:25:43

      Hi Lisa- I just looked at the chart and there seems to be 1 stitch where it should be 3815 rather than 561. Just do it to match the others.

      Joan

      Reply

  15. Samantha elizabeth macdonald
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 05:47:08

    Hi my name is samantha macdonald.i live in new zealand i would like to buy some of your cross stitch patterns.but no one surplys them over here.can you please help me.if you have a book let out could you send me one .my adress is 46 hinemoa street levin,horowhenua 5510.or let me no how i can buy some.thanks talk soon

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Apr 07, 2016 @ 12:48:59

      Hi Samantha-
      I do not sell my books directly so your best bet is to buy through amazon.com
      You can order my cross stitch patterns through 123stitch.com who ship internationally

      Joan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

