Back Home Again

 

I’ve just returned home from Vermont and I have lots to show you now that I am back to my high speed connection. It was a wonderful summer filled with peace and quiet, many visits from family and friends and delicious bounty from our garden. I picked the last of the blueberries before I left so I can still squeeze out a batch of morning muffins. Of course we also brought home a countless number of cucumbers and zucchini so there will be lots of cucumber and yogurt salad, curried zucchini soup and zucchini bread to be made. Our land is blessed with a number of very old apple trees that we have been restoring and pruning back slowly and, as promised, they have produced a huge crop of apples this year. Although they are gnarly and spotted and we share most of them with the wildlife, I made a nice apple pie to serve to our guests over the weekend. Next year I hope to be able to identify just what type they are. I suspect there may be some antique varieties in the bunch since the  original farm was started nearly 200 years ago. This beautiful earth has so much to offer!

So, now back to  the city. It’s a quiet day here in Brooklyn and perfect for catching up telling you all about what I’ve been working on these past two months.

I’m delighted to be a contributor to a new Christmas book from David & Charles titled A Cross Stitcher’s Countdown to Christmas. I’ve joined seven other designers to create 25 chapters filled with Christmas cross stitch ideas. My designs include a Nativity picture, an heirloom Advent Calendar, and a cheerful Santa post bag to store all your holiday greetings. In fact, you will find the Advent calendar featured in the latest issue (#204) of the UK CrossStitcher magazine.

Countdown to Christmas

Countdown to Christmas ©David & Charles, Ltd

   Countdown To Christmas is ©David & Charles, Ltd 2008 

 

photo ©CrossStitcher

photo ©CrossStitcher

 

Keeping with the Christmas theme, look for the new ad from Charles Craft featuring my Nutcracker Suite designs. You can purchase a copy of the chart from Charles Craft. Please see the link  to Charles Craft on my Supplies and Resources page.

©Joan A. Elliott ©Charles Craft, Inc

©Joan A. Elliott ©Charles Craft, Inc

 

On the cover of Cross Stitch Collection (Issue 161) this month you will find a new geisha figure I’ve designed. Summer flowers in pretty pastel colors are the theme in this issue and I was happy to contribute along with all the other talented designers you’ll see inside.

Geisha design ©Joan A. Elliott

Geisha design ©Joan A. Elliott

                                      cover ©Cross Stitch Collection

And now for another new adventure… I had great fun working on some rubber stamp designs over the summer for a Norwegian company named ladybugandfriends. The folks there are a such delight to work with and I am excited to be a part of this growing enterprise as they expand into the international market. So far I have designed stamps for both Christmas and Autumn with more themes in the works. Please go to my Supplies and Resources page to link to their website and see their beautiful collections of stamps and papers.

©Joan A. Elliott © ladybugandfriends

©Joan A. Elliott © ladybugandfriends

 

ladyybugandfriends Autumn Stamps ©Joan A. Elliott ©ladybugandfriends

©Joan A. Elliott ©ladybugandfriends

 So, it was a busy summer. In the next update I’ll be showing you many of the upcoming Christmas designs  from the magazines.

Until then, all the best to everyone!

Joan

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CharlieDK
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 12:34:32

    I just KNEW I had seen your work before when I saw these stamps but didn’t “join the dots” and make the connection till now.

    I have been a very keen crossstitcher before but started scrapbooking and card making a few years ago and got totally addicted. I have made a couple of your designs and always loved to see new ones in the magazines. They are cute and put a smile on my face.

    Thanks for entering my new world of crafting with your rubberstamps – on my wishlist they will go for sure.

    Best wishes Charlotte from Denmark
    http://www.hjemmehoscharlie.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. krisb
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 20:38:35

    I am looking for a stamped cross stitch kit by Joan Elliot called “Baby’s Garden Quilt”. It is no longer available through Janlynn. can you tell me where I could obtain one?

    Reply

  3. joanelliott
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 21:08:13

    Hi –
    I’m afraid that once Janlynn discontinued the Baby’s Garden Quilt,
    that was the end of it. Because it is stamped and I do not have the
    facilities to pre-print quilt fabric here I’m afraid I don’t have it
    available. I did find one on ebay for you but I see the auction has
    ended.

    Your best bet is to continue to look on ebay and see if another kit
    turns up. I’m sorry I couldn’t be of more help

    With all best wishes-
    Joan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

