Summer Is Here!

It’s that time of year everyone! For July and August I’ll be lucky enough to be heading north to Vermont to live and work. I am looking forward to those peaceful days and wonderfully cool nights!

With the hopes of finally being able to get high speed internet up the dirt road this summer, I’ll be posting all the news and new projects that will be coming up in the magazines and elsewhere in the next couple of months.

For all of you that love the US Cross Stitcher magazine you’ll find my Mrs. Claus stocking on the front cover. I am so pleased that this is my sixth cover stocking for Karen Smith and the folks at Cross Stitcher.

 Mrs. Claus Stocking

     design ©Joan A. Elliott    

photo ©Amos Craft Publications

There will be a lot more Christmas coming up in the next few months as it seems this was a continuing theme I worked on for all of  May and June. I’ll keep you posted with more pictures as soon as I get the go ahead to release them.

For now… on to summer! In the latest issue, #140, of The World of Cross Stitching, I’ve done a sweet summertime alphabet that will look great made up into  projects such as nameplates, cake bands, towel borders and such, or try them on  a bright journal cover or tote to take along on vacation. The theme is a delicious summer treat of ‘strawberries and cream’.

Strawberries & Cream   design © Joan A. Elliott    

photo © Origin Publishing, Ltd

 

Now that I’ve mentioned totes, in the same August issue of the Cross Stitcher where you’ll find my Mrs. Claus, the back cover has an ad from Charles Craft showing three designs I did especially for their wonderful Bright Ideas Shoulder Bags. These are the perfect carry anything bags. All three designs, Cool Flamingo, Summer Bouquet and Buzzing Bees, are fast to stitch and the charts come free with the purchase of  a bag. You can link directly to Charles Craft  by going to my Supplies & Resources page.

 

Bright Ideas Shoulder Bags

Designs © Joan A. Elliott     photo © Charles Craft, Inc.    

Bright Ideas is a trademark of Charles Craft, Inc.

This summer should be chock full of work, gardening and guests. I’m looking forward to it and hope you all find special ways to enjoy the days ahead. As I mentioned in my newsletter, I am interested in knowing your thoughts for new design themes. What would you like to see in the future? I’ll look forward to hearing!

To all of my readers in the flood stricken states of the Midwest, I know  these past few weeks have tested you beyond limits, please know that you are in my thoughts. I hope that life returns to some semblance of normalcy for you soon.

In love and friendship- Joan

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 00:51:25

    Hi Joan, Super news about the rubber stamps. You really are one for knowing just what I need!

    So it is a beautiful Wednesday evening in Ontario and the Georgetown Stitchers and I have spent a relaxing evening sitting stitching and bitching out on the patio in the shade.

    There’s nothing quite like the company of a lovely group of friends and cross stitchers make the best kind!

    We are all big fans of your work Joan and have quite the library of your books and magazine designs between us. Although I’m definitely in the lead for who has stitched the most of your designs! I just finished your “May all your weeds be wildflowers” design for my sister in law.

    For all you other fans of Joan’s feel free to drop into our club. The link to our website is listed on Joan’s Blogs of Interest page. Make sure you sign the guestbook, we love to hear from fellow stitchers.

    All the best from Margaret & the Georgetown Stitchers

    Reply

  2. Carien
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 10:13:09

    The designs for the shoulder bags look great. I hope I manage to get hold of one.
    as for designs I’d love to see in the future:
    cute and fun animal designs, like the dogs you did for ‘cross stitch cuties’ or the christmas bunnies you did for ‘Quick and Easy’ in 2006.
    I’d also love to see more of your ladies, maybe with a victorian theme or a new native american woman.

    Reply

  3. Phyllis Dobbs
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 04:19:27

    You are really staying busy with all this work. I really love the shoulder bags. Of course, everything is so cute!

    Reply

  4. Sandra
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 20:38:25

    Hi Joan! I’m a huge fan of your designs, love all the bears, fairies and the sayings… Every time I see one of your designs featured in a cross stitch magazine is reason enough to buy it.
    Stitching hugs!

    Reply

  5. Antoinette
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 13:34:39

    Hi Joan,

    So lovely to be able to ready blogs direct form the artists. You are my absolute favourite designer. I’ve just spent the last weekend going through ALL my xstitch magazines, tearing out all your designs to put together in one file in clear plastic sheets 🙂 I wish i had knows about you sooner as I only started buying some magazines in 2006, thus I missed those lovely puppy afghan designs as well as the angel afghan designs, WOULD looooove to get my hands on them. . .
    Have a lovely 2-month-hiatus and please write again soon.
    Kind Regards,
    Antoinette from South Africa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

