Spring Update

Hi Everyone! 

 I am pleased to tell you that all the stitched models, manuscript, illustrations, and photo props for the newest book are now safely in the hands of the publisher in the UK. As soon as I get the OK from them I will be able to let you know what  to expect  from this one, including the title. Publication is set for the end of this year. So for now it’s on to new ideas.

There are some new designs out in the magazines too. For UK’s Cross Stitch Collection (Issue 157) I’ve granted them  exclusive permission to print the chart for my ‘Sea Goddess’ from A Woman’s World in Cross Stitch.

Sea Goddess

The cover of issue 200 of the UK’s Cross Stitcher features my new Geisha design,’Oriental Elegance’. I’ve stitched this on a pretty pink Aida to add  a beautiful  springtime  feel to the design.

Oriental Elegance

I loved working on this Puppet Theater design for Cross Stitch Gold (Issue 57). It’s bright cheerful colors bring back wonderful childhood memories!

Puppet Theater

…and for everyone that loves their own special kitty, I have an easy to stitch wall hanging  in  The World of Cross Stitching (Issue 137)

Playful Cats

In the July issue of Cross-Stitch & Needlework magazine you’ll find a bright and happy teen angel tote (courtesy of Charles Craft) and accessories, perfect for your special princess.

Teen Angel Ensemble

 

Finally, David & Charles will release a new collaborative Christmas book in early June. The title is  Cross Stitcher’s Countdown to Christmas and I have contributed three chapters including an heirloom Advent Calendar, a Santa Post Bag, and some  sweet little Stocking Ornaments. You can find it  at amazon.com, fwbookstore.com and davidandcharles.co.uk

More things are in the works, so keep in touch  for more news soon.

With fondest wishes-

Joan

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zeb
    May 21, 2008 @ 07:37:06

    Hooray! So many things to look forward to! Must try and get a copy of the Cross Stitch Collection 157 edition, really want to stitch that Sea Goddess!

    Reply

  2. Margaret
    May 21, 2008 @ 20:01:46

    Hi Joan,

    What great things to look out for. I shall have to ask my mum to look out for the magazines in England as it takes weeks for them to get over to Canada!

    I recently taught a friend at work how to cross stitch. Her first project was born to be a princess and she wants her second is to be the queen of the sea! Now I can get her the magazine so she has the pattern.

    I hope they got that black to navy blue error correct in the magazine!

    Take care and best wishes

    Margaret

    Reply

  3. joanelliott
    May 21, 2008 @ 20:23:21

    I made sure they had the corrected version of the Sea Goddess for publication
    Enjoy!

    Joan

    Reply

  4. stella
    May 27, 2008 @ 00:06:47

    Fantastic news joan ! love to hear that a new book is comming out soon, can not wait to see it and the designs in the magazines are amazing ..thanks !
    stella.

    Reply

  5. taneya
    May 27, 2008 @ 05:06:54

    Joan,

    I’m so glad to see you have a blog! I’ve been out of the loop as far as stiching goes, but I’m starting to get back into it. I just learned of your blog, so I’m beginning to read it and I blogged about it on my newest blog for the magazine database (xsmagdb.wordpress.com). I LOVE the Sea Goddess and want to stitch it! There is really not enough time. I also love the new geishas – you know that’s where my heart lies :-). I look forward to keeping up with you through the blog!

    Taneya

    Reply

  6. joanelliott
    May 27, 2008 @ 11:50:49

    Thanks everyone. It’s great to hear from all of you!

    Joan

    Reply

  7. Emily
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 09:52:28

    Hi Joan! I love your geisha design. Will it be published in your new book? I don’t know if I can find the magazine here in the states. Thanks!
    Emily

    Reply

  8. joanelliott
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 15:16:39

    Hi Emily-

    The Geisha won’t be in the new book but I am hoping to be able to bring you this and other charts for sale soon. I have a bit to learn about how to go about it all but it is one of my summer projects. If anyone has a favorite chart they would like to see, please do let me know so I can add it to the list.

    Joan

    Reply

  9. Cindy Hill
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 21:16:27

    I have just finished sea goddess and now I am doing your yellow geisha

    Reply

  10. Cindy Hill
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 11:12:47

    I have done your geisha and she is great and now looking forward to do your budda and summer fairy

    Reply

  11. Anne Palmer
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 15:38:02

    Hi Joan..

    I am just finishing your 3rd Geisha Girl (the one dancing with the fan) and I notice from your book that the three ladies are seasons, which leads me to believe that you may have a fourth coming out. I see that the magazine printed a Geisha in Yellow, and I am wondering if this is it. If so, is there any way I can purchase the pattern, and if so how?

    I really love your cross stitch patterns…
    Anne

    Reply

  12. Josephine
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 07:09:16

    I loved you Red Christmas Quaker Tree in the Cross Stitcher UK issue 204 with freebie booklet. Do you have anymore of these designs planned for Christmas 2009. I live in Australian and where I live these books are like hens teeth to find. I love your designs and hope you do more of them.

    Reply

  13. cindy hill
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 17:33:35

    I can wait for your winter fairy

    Reply

  14. Melinda williams
    Jul 21, 2014 @ 18:12:44

    Where can I bucmy the special kitty wall hanging.issue 137

    Reply

Leave a Reply

