Angel of Cross Stitch

angel-of-cross-stitch.jpg cross-stitch-angels.jpg            

I receive a number of emails from stitchers searching for both the Angel of Cross Stitch chart that was featured in The Cross Stitcher (US) magazine way back in 1999, and the leaflet Counted Cross Stitch Angels (6 different designs) from the same year. Both are available as leaflets from Amos Advantage. Please go to my Supplies and Resources Page for the link. Once you are at the Amos site, click on Craft Products and then on Cross Stitch Sale Items.

74 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jammie Pennebaker
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 02:51:16

    I just wanted to say that I love the AOCS. It took me two years to find the pattern. It took me another 4 years to stitch because I didnt have all the floss needed. But she was really worth all the time and effort put in to finishing her. I gave her to my mother who loves angels.

    Reply

  2. Diane Imershein
    Jun 05, 2009 @ 15:27:37

    I love the AOCS! I stitched her on black Aida as opposed to white and took me 6 months to complete….she’s framed and hanging on my wall. I’ve been stitching for 40 years and this one I kept for myself.

    Reply

  3. Patricia Kuna
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 12:59:50

    I simply love this angel. I found her shortly after I started stitching. I was wowed by the number of colors and started buying some a little at a time until I had them all. I love the angel and the design is simoly great.

    I have been working on her off and on for I am sorry to say over ten years. I am also done. I have a little bit of stitching to do and then the backsittching and beads. She is mine. I plan on framing her and displaying her proudly.

    She is beautiful.

    I hope that someday DMC does a pattern with all 454 colors. It would be nice if you Joan did one. Perhpas another angel or a geisha. I think it would be a great pattern and a challenge for us stitchers. It would be something to see a chart with all the colors in it. Just a nice thought.

    Reply

  4. Laura Jerrell
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 02:57:12

    I love this! I just recently became acquainted with this design. I went to Amos Advantage and couldn’t find how I could order it. Could you please help me?
    Thanks.

    Reply

  5. Mairi Emberson
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 17:21:38

    I have been saving this chart since I got the magazine in 1999, now I’ve finally managed to treat myself to the full range of DMC threads, I’ve made my thread cards, in five colours, and sat for hours sorting and carding threads,now I’m stuck! Some of the threads have changed and have alternative numbers and I’m really struggling; eg- 3326 is now 732 but that is already in use in it’s own right in the ‘black’ symbols; 3773 is now 407, but that is also in use , and in the blue symbols.504 is now 3813, and that is in use in the red symbols;922 is now 971 and they are both in the orange symbols; and 732 is now 3326, but that is already in the black symbols. Please can you help? it’s such a gorgeous design and I’ve been saving it so long. Thanking you in anticipation

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 12, 2011 @ 19:59:25

      Hi Mairi-
      I need to dig this one out of the archives and I will get back to you as to how to handle the color changes. I’ll be in touch in a few days.
      Joan

      Reply

      • Mairi Emberson
        Jan 14, 2011 @ 14:37:14

        Thank you Joan,
        I appreciate that you’re busy, I look forward to your reply.
        Mairi

  6. kim analetto
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:56:20

    yikes when did these colors change? and in the left corner of the abc chart above the fruit the colors dont seem right there is a blue stitch and a very dark gray one im thinking they should be green ,,,plz help thx Kim

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:26:30

      Hi to all of you trying to manage the Angel of Cross Stitch. I know how annoying it is that over the years since The Cross Stitcher published this pattern, DMC has changed some of their color numbers.
      The colors listed below changed because the shades were so close they were almost indistinguishable from each other.
      3326 is now called 776
      3773 is now 407
      504 is now 3813
      740 is now 971
      731 is now 732
      For Kim’s question, since this chart was done back in 1999 I do not have it on a computer file. All the symbols were done by their technical editor after I handed in a hand colored chart. The best thing to do if you think a color is off is to fill in with what you think is best. I agree with you on the stitches that you’ve pointed out. Go ahead and use the green.

      In general, I say to use your judgement. This is a confusing and complex chart and my hat goes off to all of you that take on the challenge.

      Joan

      Reply

  7. joanelliott
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 20:40:33

    I just remembered that years ago a stitcher started a site for everyone working on this angel. There were some tips and corrections listed if you want to check it out:

    http://www.reocities.com/Wellesley/1912/tips.html

    Reply

  8. Stephanie
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 23:47:45

    I just had to post this. I was fortunate enough to snag a box of 25 old Cross Stitcher mags off ebay for an excellent price. It included 5 of the 6 issues from 199. Guess which one was missing? LOL! Just my luck that the Angel of Cross Stitch issue would be the one not included!
    Then again, it’s not like I don’t have anything else to stitch or anything… :D

    Reply

    • Stephanie
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 23:48:43

      I did mean 1999. I don’t think the mag was around back in 199. :P

      Reply

    • Mairi Emberson
      Mar 17, 2011 @ 10:19:16

      I’m almost a quarter done with the Angel of Cross Stitch, you can have mine when I’m done………….if you can wait for another couple or three months! It surely is a trial, but it will be lovely when I’m done…. I hope!

      Reply

  9. Karen
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 03:26:53

    Hi
    I have been after this chart for a while and would love to find a copy of the magazine. Can anyone tell me what issue it is from 1999? Thanks.

    Reply

    • Mairi Emberson
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 07:12:16

      Hi Karen, It’s the June 1999 issue 9 (vol 16 no. 2) so it says on page 4!
      I’m still plodding with it, but if you can’t find a copy, and can bear to wait, you can have mine when I’m done; I’ve done about 20% of it!

      Reply

    • Pat
      Apr 01, 2011 @ 12:00:41

      Karen, The Angel of Cross stitch was in June 1999 of The Cross Stitcher. Hope this helps.

      Pat

      Reply

  10. Karen
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 03:27:49

    Thanks so much for the info and offer Mairi and Pat! I’ll do a bit of looking to try and find one!!

    Reply

  11. Dee Weaver
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 08:28:00

    Hi everyone,
    I just heard about this design recently and now I’m obsessed with finding a copy. I tried Amos Advantage, but couldn’t find any mention of it on there. Now that I know which issue of the magazine it was in, I can keep an eye out for that on ebay, but, if anyone is finished with their copy, I would love to give it a new home here in England. Obviously I am happy to pay for it, and for shipping costs to the UK. Or perhaps I could offer a UK magazine in exchange?
    Dee

    Reply

  12. Dee Weaver
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:34:47

    Mairi, that’s brilliant!
    I have plenty to be getting on with, so I’m happy to wait. How can we get in touch without putting our email address on here..? Are you on Ravelry? I am Deeyarn on there – we could pm.
    Thank you SO much :)
    Dee

    Reply

    • Mairi Emberson
      Apr 29, 2011 @ 07:07:28

      Hi Dee,

      Oh heck…………..what is Ravelry? I’m on facebook if that’s any use, keeping up with all these things is a full time career! there must be a way to work this one out …:)
      Mairi

      Reply

  13. Dee Weaver
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 07:16:48

    Ravelry is a forum, mainly for knitting, but there’s a very lively cross stitch group – including many fans of the lovely Joan. It’s free to join and you can participate as much or as little as you like.
    I’m on facebook too, but I don’t find it easy to navigate – can you use it to send private messages?
    As you say, there must be a way round this :)
    Dee

    Reply

    • Mairi Emberson
      Apr 29, 2011 @ 13:23:18

      Hi Dee, Facebook is really easy, and you can send pm’s…..I think I’m the only Mairi Emberson on f/book, but there seems to be several ‘Dee Weaver’s’ send me a message………..
      Mairi

      Reply

  14. Dee Weaver
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 14:33:36

    Hi Mairi,
    Sorry to be so dumb – I don’t usually have a problem with this sort of thing – I’ve found you, but I can’t send a message. It just keeps removing your name and asking me to type in a recipient. I’m the Dee Weaver in Halifax, West Yorkshire – could you message me?
    Sorry again!
    Dee

    Reply

  15. Vivian Romero
    May 30, 2011 @ 02:03:12

    how could I get a copy of this book “Native America Cross Stitch “

    Reply

  16. rebecca
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 22:56:01

    How do I get the kit for your Angel of Cross stitch? The one with 391 different colors

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 23:19:30

      Hi Rebecca-
      The Angel of Cross Stitch was in Cross Stitcher magazine a number of years ago. It was never available with the 391 colors as a kit. Design Works Crafts put it out as a kit with 30 or so colors (customerservice@designworkscrafts.com). Your best bet would be to search the internet and see if anyone is selling an old issue of the magazine.

      Joan

      Reply

  17. Dorothy Savok
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 05:21:43

    I attempted to email and request Angel of Cross Stitch but Joan you have have been reluctant to give us another go at this masterpiece. Why is it so hard to resurrect the pattern and offer it again. Certainly a cross stitch that uses 391 colors the author would keep a copy it and be proud to offer it again.
    Why can’t it be offered it again?
    I never received an answer to my first request.

    Kind Regards,
    Dorothy Savok

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jan 09, 2012 @ 14:45:44

      Dorothy-
      I am sorry to have missed your first request. Not having the Angel of Cross Stitch available has nothing to do with me being reluctant to release it. This pattern was done long before I worked on a computer and was hand colored. The magazine had a chartist put in all the symbols for me and I do not have that file so you see I can not simply reprint it. Due to many requests the publisher is considering re-issuing the leaflet and offering it on the Crafts & Things website in the near future. The best I can do is keep you posted on that.

      Reply

      • Laura Jerrell
        Jan 09, 2012 @ 18:51:24

        I would very much like a copy of this or notification of when it is due to come out in print again. I love Joan Elliott designs and would love to add this to my collection.
        Thanks

  18. joanelliott
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 20:00:49

    Hi Laura-
    I will keep everyone informed about the re-release of The Angel of Cross Stitch through this blog and will post links as soon as I get them. Thanks.

    Reply

  19. Dorothy Savok
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 00:44:04

    Thank you, Joan, for your kind response to my query. I try to plan my cross stitch and how they are displayed. I have several of your patterns and I purchased th Ultimate Joan Elliott Cross Stitch Collection in the hope that the Angel of Cross Stitch would be there. But I can wait if you are going to republish ACS. There is is such a sense of joy and peace in the scene.

    Last summer, I purchased three of Van Gogh’s japanese style prints – the first I had every see of this style in his paintings – in Amsterdam. Then I found three lovely Japanese cross stitch scenes that I can put with them. When hung all together they are striking.

    In such a way I can see your three Medieval ladies placed among medieval paintings. I do enjoy the Ultimate book. Cross stitch fills me with peace and satisfaction.

    Kind Regards,
    Dorothy Savok

    Reply

    • Pat Kuna
      Jan 15, 2012 @ 15:47:17

      Dorothy, Have you check with your library? THe one library we have in Somerset had the Cross stitcher magazine and that is how I found a copy. See if your library has any cross stitch magazines. Maybe you can find it there.

      Reply

  20. Brenda Asche
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 07:32:01

    I am looking for a Cross stitch of an angel….My cousin has it framed and on her wall, she purchased it from someone; and, cannot tell me the pattern or name….All I know is the angels wings and dress are flowing to the right and the angel is facing to the left….It is a side view of the angel….and maybe about a 11 X 14 size really wider than it is tall….

    Thank YOU so much for your help in finding her or where I can find the pattern….

    May HIS Peace, Love, Light, and Blessings
    always be yours…..

    Brenda Asche

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 21:51:40

      Hi Brenda-
      I’m not sure that the piece is my design. If you could send a photo of it I might recognize the designer.
      Joan

      Reply

  21. yaris
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 03:30:06

    Hi I was wondering where i could get a list of the original dmc threads used in this project, i bought the kit on ebay but i want to do it with the original colors helpppp

    Reply

  22. Melissa
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 18:59:48

    Hi Joan,

    I have a quick question about the possible reprint of the AoCS design. I have the original version from 1999 already, but was curious if you know whether the reprint will be updated to include the color changes by DMC since the original publication?

    Thanks so much for all of your beautiful designs that keep us inspired to stitch! :)

    Melissa

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Apr 16, 2012 @ 19:14:13

      Hi Melissa-
      If I am allowed to reproduce it from the leaflet I have I would do my best to get the changes in. If the publisher decides to reproduce it I would not guarantee that the color changes would be there. I would either have to revise the key or put in a note of the changes because I can not actually redo the entire chart from scratch without losing my mind, LOL!

      Reply

      • Melissa
        Apr 16, 2012 @ 19:16:58

        Thanks, Joan! I can’t even begin to imagine trying to redo the entire chart from scratch! LOL I’ve tried to keep up with all the updates and suggestions I’ve seen over the years by others who have stitched it. One of these days I actually plan to start her. LOL

  23. b
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 14:40:52

    Can someone help this lady out, She is looking for this pattern. The line reads as The Cross stitcher Us 1999, or something similar to that

    mullin

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Apr 21, 2012 @ 15:31:03

      The Angel of Cross Stitch is pretty hard to find these days. I am trying to get reprints but so far have been unable to do so.

      Reply

  24. Christiana
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 01:56:50

    Hello Joan Elliott, I am so happy to hear that there’s a possibility of a reprint of The Angel Of Cross-Stitch. I would love to buy one please, before Christmas? I really can’t see why the publisher haven’t pull their fingers out, with such huge demand for this chart. How about just as pdf file, please? I would prefer this as I got nearly all of current DMC threads.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Aug 22, 2012 @ 02:07:53

      Hi Christiana-
      I won’t be able to get to the Angel of Cross Stitch for a while. I can not rechart it and keep my sanity at the same time, LOL!I still hope i will just be able to copy the leaflet some day.

      Joan

      Reply

      • Christiana
        Aug 22, 2012 @ 10:09:56

        Thank you for your reply, I didn’t mean re-chart, just scan and pdf like these ancient patterns, http://www.antiquepatternlibrary.org/html/warm/B-LT001.htm
        and just add a ‘Paypal’ button. Reading all these posts above expanding over the years, we just want to be able to buy the chart. Even Ebay doesn’t have any for sale! If there isn’t a huge copyright headache why not let Ravelry sell it for you, you give them your leaflet and they can put it all online. Selling it as pdf download you won’t have to worry about postage or recharting, just a footnote that the threads are old. You will make all our Christmases!

      • joanelliott
        Aug 22, 2012 @ 11:10:43

        That was the original plan, to copy the leaflet. I will not do it until they definitively say yes and I have not been able to get that yet.

  25. Christiana
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 11:48:32

    Wonderful ^_^ Will it be the 300 plus colours one? I’m sooooo excited already!

    Reply

  26. joanelliott
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 19:19:43

    No selling of copies please. Remember copyrights. Thanks- Joan

    Reply

  27. Christiana
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 16:13:58

    I can’t believe it! I entered a bidding war on Ebay for the Cross-Stitcher Magazine of the Angel and just checked my email… I loss :-( and the winning bid were $23.00 !!!

    Reply

  28. Jammie
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 19:48:39

    Joan, I completed the AoSC a few years ago. I loved it. I havent stitched much since finishing it because I just cant find anything that strikes my fancy like this one did. Do you have any plans on making any more that use as many or more colors as this one? I hope so, would be great.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Dec 30, 2012 @ 19:27:04

      if I ever get the time again it would certainly keep me busy. I’ll let you know if I ever do another.

      Reply

  29. Jammie
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 20:32:19

    LOL that should be AoCS. Sorry

    Reply

  30. Mindee
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 00:08:32

    I too would love to purchase a copy of the leaflet (or pattern) of the Angel of Cross Stitch. Please let us know if it becomes available. Thanks!

    Reply

  31. Patricia Gregory
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 13:10:56

    I found the kit on sale at a bargain and have really been struggling with it. Where it said there were 11 strands of floss, there would be 7. I’m praying I have enough floss because it says it is not DMC, just similar. Especially since I’ve made several errors I had to pick out. Also, some of the symbols are so similar to others, I’d start off using the wrong color. I want to complete this as much as anything I’ve ever stitched. Would love to find a picture of it I can post on Facebook to show friends what I’m working on.

    Reply

  32. mummalish
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 12:34:52

    Hi Joan, I have only just stumbled across this design as a friend is selling a kit of it as she doesn’t think she will ever stitch it. Since learning that the original pattern has 391 colours I am super keen to find the original pattern. Question though, is it breach of copyright to give away a copy of a chart or is only selling it a.breach? Also, should I have no luck finding an original pattern, can you verify that abcstitch.com is a legitimate seller of the kit? Thank you for all of your beautiful work, I hope to stitch Fairy Godmother for my best friend once I have reduced my WIP pile!

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Feb 15, 2013 @ 13:10:10

      Giving away or selling an unused original kit or chart is fine. A chart should never be copied and then given away or sold. You should also not make yourself a working copy and give away or sell the original while you are using the copy for yourself. Lots of twists and turns her but just remember that copying makes it an infringement of copyright.

      I am re-charting the original Angel of Cross Stitch with all the colors right now and hope to have her ready for sale in about a month.I’ll let everyone know when she is ready.

      The kit done by Design Works Crafts is legitimate on abc stitch.

      Reply

      • Christiana
        Feb 18, 2013 @ 11:17:41

        Oh, thank you very very much for this good news! Please, please, please, do let me know when it’s out. Thank you again ^_^

      • Regina Miller
        Mar 04, 2013 @ 17:09:41

        I’m so glad to hear you are recharting AOCS! I’ve thought about my lost(!) copy of the original so many times and have been unable to find one (Amos Advantage doesn’t seem to have it anymore).
        Please let us know when it is out! Thanks.

      • Rebecca L. Oden
        Mar 06, 2013 @ 01:59:06

        I have about 1/3 of my Angel to finish. I am actually considering doing her again some day. I have the pattern from the magazine I bought off E Bay and the kit I bought from ABC Stitchery.
        So many pictures to do and so little time

  33. Missy
    Jun 13, 2013 @ 02:36:18

    Any update of when the re-chart of AoCS will be available for purchase??

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Jun 26, 2013 @ 13:11:43

      She is taking forever and driving me crazy but I am still working on it.

      Reply

      • Rebecca L. Oden
        Jun 26, 2013 @ 18:18:29

        She is well worth the wait. Please let me know when she is ready. I wish to do her picture again. :)

  34. Jane Parkes
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 06:46:54

    Hi Joan, hope you and your family are well, just wondering how you are doing with re-charting the angel of cross stitch, do you think she will be out this year, take care love Jane xx

    Reply

  35. Elizabeth Creason
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:40:25

    I was wondering if we have any more news on the Angel of Cross Stitch??

    Reply

  36. Christiana
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 11:50:10

    Hello Joan, I’ve finally manage to buy my Angel Magazine from Ebay! I am so excited :) I can’t start it yet as I’m still working on your other pattern The Phoenix.
    Thank you very much for this amazing chart, it’s just Amazing! ^_^

    Reply

  37. Holly
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 12:19:57

    Hello!

    I know these are super old posts but I wanted to know if you ever completed re-charting “The Angel of Cross Stitch”? Im looking to buy it as a gift for my mum, she saw it in a magazine years ago and has never seen it since. Any update or suggestion of where I might find a copy to purchase would be much appreciated!

    Reply

  38. Janice Hill
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 19:11:37

    Where can I get this pattern? I just saw it in a back issue of The Cross Stitcher that a frien gave me and would like to make it if at all possible. Please let me know if i can get the leaflet still. I have been searching but no luck.

    Reply

    • joanelliott
      Sep 04, 2014 @ 13:19:54

      Hi Janice-
      Your best bet is to look on Ebay. I am trying to re-chart it but it is too time consuming right now and have have many other things to work on that I am afraid have a high priority.

      Joan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 504 other followers

